Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2008, 02:42 PM   #1
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default WELL this worked with Encore

Although you can't output elementary streams from FireCoder BLU- there's nothing stopping us from DEMUXING.

Downloaded tsMuxeR from the link. Used it to demux, it only took 33 seconds to demux a 1 hour m2ts file into h264 & ac3 files, but initially failed to get anywhere with Encore. Then i played a bit more with the demuxer, changed a thing or two and bingo- Encore CS3 took the bait, no transcoding and no errors when exporting (touch wood, this is the first test but it was a 1 hour project video)

So if you have a card, try this out with Encore CS3-- ALAS DVDit PRO would not pass it.
See image for settings to change with the demuxer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tsmuxer.jpg (238.5 KB, 229 views)
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 02:58 PM   #2
Crespel
Senior Member
 
Crespel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 378
Default

Mark,
great, thanks for the good work.
Regards
Joe
Crespel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 03:04 PM   #3
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

You know i love it Joe :)

Just remember, if it was a perfect solution, every program would pass the files, it might be a bumpy ride yet.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 04:08 PM   #4
Crespel
Senior Member
 
Crespel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 378
Default

That's rigth Mark,
I think, now I will go for it even if it is still bumpy.
The only thing I'm wondering is - it seems that this product is simply japanese market oriented(they seem to make a different BD Authoring in Japan).Where are the fulfilled requirements of the rest of the world ?
Thanks again for your work.
Regards
Joe
Crespel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 10:42 PM   #5
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

I'm not really surprised it's limited in features (or encoding parameters). The price is simply god sent and if it were fully speced it would cost thousands upon thousands of $.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 07:51 AM   #6
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

I did another project today with this method. A 2 hour 36 min HD HQ source (took 1 hr 16 mins to encode to AVCHD). Demuxed it, Encore'd it and it worked fine again. Happy.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 01:25 PM   #7
Imagine Video
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Default

What was the file size of the video and the audio once demuxed?

2 hr 36 min AVCHD FILE SIZE?
2 hr 36 min AC3 from the demuxed original file size and quality?

What can you get onto one bluray disc when using AVCHD?
including ac3

Cath

Great to have this feedback!!! thanks
__________________
Asus P5K64WS, Intel Core 2 Quad QX6850 Extreme CPU, Saphire HD 3850 512mb graphics, WDraptor160 OS, Highpoint Rocket raid 2310 4 x 500gig Seagate sata 2 se drives in raid 0, NXe and Edius 5.51 Imaginate 2.
Procoder 3.06 and various Prodad add-ons
Imagine Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 01:45 PM   #8
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Cath

File size at high quality was 18GB (19,381,902,968 bytes) for the AVC and 430MB for AC3. Total write to disc was 19.3GB

You could probably go to 3 hours best quality AVC on single layer BD disc. Encore CS3 doesn't do dual layer BD-, version CS4 does. Then you could do 6 hours :)

Mark
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 05:48 PM   #9
Imagine Video
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 467
Default

Apart from getting masses on one blu-ray disc what are the advantages over MPEG 2 HD if any at all?

I mean are there any quality issues?

I thought AVCHD did not fall within the blu-ray standard

Will this not mean it will only play on certain set-top BDplayers?


I have had a test disc of my showreel - on a BD-RW and as yest have not come across a player that will not play it back!

PS3
PIONEER BDH 70 - supprised at this one!
PANASONIC 30, 50, 35, 55
SONY 300, 500, 350, 550

I am looking for player compatibility, will I get this using AVCHD as the format of the video?

Sorry if these are fundamental questions! I have been MPEG2 orientated up until I have come to have more than the odd blu-ray to do! encode times are a drag, I thought I was in for a real workflow treat with the fircoder blu, but it seems its a work in progress for TGV with this one!

Pitty!

Thanks again Mark! - Cath
__________________
Asus P5K64WS, Intel Core 2 Quad QX6850 Extreme CPU, Saphire HD 3850 512mb graphics, WDraptor160 OS, Highpoint Rocket raid 2310 4 x 500gig Seagate sata 2 se drives in raid 0, NXe and Edius 5.51 Imaginate 2.
Procoder 3.06 and various Prodad add-ons
Imagine Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 09:10 PM   #10
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,572
Default

H.264 is one of three video codecs that are part of the Blu-Ray standard. MPEG2 and VC-1 are the other two.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 4.6.1 - Encore CS4 Settings Colleen ProCoder 12 01-21-2009 02:04 AM
Procoder and Encore? Tough choice Martin_Gleeson ProCoder 67 08-12-2008 09:19 PM
getting an Edius project to Encore Wheelo Editing with EDIUS 7 04-25-2008 12:02 PM
Using Edius with Adobe Encore joliverio Editing with EDIUS 3 04-22-2008 10:30 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.