Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2013, 12:01 AM   #1
advisiontv
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 74
Default Making PROGRESSIVE footage look interlaced

I am editing a 1080i multi-camera show, and one of the cameras was left in Progressive mode (PsF) resulting in the obvious film look whenever I cut to it.

What is the best way of making this camera look as if it was set to interlace correctly in the first place.

At first I thought that it isn't possible as only 25 slices of time are captured every second, but my Samsung TV has a very annoying smooth motion simulator on it which can be turned on which makes films look like it was shot at 50P or 50i (my wife calls it the Reality TV effect!!!) and it is very convincing. Is there any way I can replicate this in Edius so the progressive footage looks interlaced? Unfortunately the camera in question is a steadicam so there is a lot of movement which really highlights the error!

I look forward in hearing any responses!

Matt
__________________
Matt, AdVision TV Ltd

Main System: Storm 3G, Intel Core i7-3930 Sandy Bridge 6-Core @ 3.2Ghz, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 Intel X79, 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram, 12TB RAID Array, GT650 1024MB GDDR5 Gfx Card

Laptop System: HP 8760w Laptop, Intel Core i7-2860 @ 2.5Ghz, 8GB RAM
advisiontv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 12:35 AM   #2
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,778
Default

You need a motion compensated frame rate interpolation.
Twixtor PlugIn for After Effects can do this for you.
Abother way is using AVISynt, but learning curve is steep.

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 06:36 AM   #3
Andy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 309
Default

The same folks who make "Twixtor" also sell "FieldsKit" which includes a the FieldsKit Reinterlacer plugin which allows you to create interlaced material from progressive material using various techniques, including producing new fields using motion estimation techniques.

It may be worth a try if you have a compatible host app.
http://www.revisionfx.com/products/fieldskit/
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:13 AM   #4
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,735
Default

one of the very very few plugins which work in Edius 7, Fieldskit is good too.

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX780Ti Decklink HD Extreme.

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:53 AM   #5
advisiontv
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 74
Default

Sorry Paul - which Plugin works in Edius?
__________________
Matt, AdVision TV Ltd

Main System: Storm 3G, Intel Core i7-3930 Sandy Bridge 6-Core @ 3.2Ghz, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 Intel X79, 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz Ram, 12TB RAID Array, GT650 1024MB GDDR5 Gfx Card

Laptop System: HP 8760w Laptop, Intel Core i7-2860 @ 2.5Ghz, 8GB RAM
advisiontv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 10:31 AM   #6
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,735
Default

ReVision Fieldskit - sorry my wording was a bit ambiguous !!

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX780Ti Decklink HD Extreme.

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 10:53 AM   #7
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,735
Default

actually - I just tested this one more time - whilst Fieldskit DeInterlacer works fine in Edius 7 the Re Interlacer does NOT - but is fine in AE of course.

I just ran a test on a panning shot - perfect, smooth and lovely, no stagger in the pan.. sorry to get your hopes up..

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX780Ti Decklink HD Extreme.

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 11:24 AM   #8
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,078
Default

Dear Paul, can you please explain what's the best way to use the Deinterlacer within Edius? I assume you open a progressive project and import an interlaced HQ and apply the effect?
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 01:22 PM   #9
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,735
Default

Until the AE bridge is fixed, you have to open an Interlaced project, apply Fieldskit de-interlacer - choose upper field, and your preferred method of deinterlace ( depending on footage) Motion estimated 1 frame per frame appears to work well, but will depend on the levels of movement in the shot. I tend to add a 20-50% sharpen in Fieldskit too, trial and error really.

Render to timeline (shiftQ) remove the plugin from the lower track and switch to progressive project - all this because Edius crashes when running progressive with the AE bridge.

I use a real glass tube HD monitor to investigate the quality/success of tests of this kind - with an interlaced project, showing the original clip, with view set to "both fields" out - and the progressive clip above, set on a shot with little movement, there should be no difference in sharpness, detail and particularly noise - noise worsens when the information from a single field is being duplicated to create a single progressive image - resulting in half resolution and increasingly noisy.

anyway - this works for me...

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX780Ti Decklink HD Extreme.

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 01:35 PM   #10
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,078
Default

Thanks! Will try it and report back.
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Progressive footage in an Interlaced Project DigitalDave Editing with EDIUS 4 11-25-2012 01:16 AM
Interlaced Progressive Question lauri Editing with EDIUS 2 06-06-2010 07:35 PM
Interlaced vs. Progressive - Newbie!! Bill Editing with EDIUS 5 04-25-2009 03:10 PM
Is it progressive or interlaced ExFool Editing with EDIUS 7 01-28-2009 05:17 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.