Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2012, 12:24 PM   #1
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,145
Default Can't change to 50p project

I have footage that was shot 1280x720 50p but I have no such preset in Edius 6.07 only 25p. The frame rate combo box is grey and I can't change it even when I try a custom frame size. How do I make my project 1280x720 50P?

p.s. I know that DVD doesn't support 50p but does blu ray support it?
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:37 PM   #2
PaulTV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ibiza
Posts: 1,782
Default

You need to go into settings - project preset and make a 50P 720 project, you can't switch from i to P within a project - I use 720 50P for 3DBD very often.

Paul :-)
__________________
Edius Edits at: http://www.vimeo.com/user781619/videos

System 1: Edius 7.5 Asus X79 4930K 6 core @4.4GHz Water Cooled. 480GB REVO3x2 System drive, 4TB Raid 0, 4 TB E-Sata Raid 5, 32GB RAM, GTX1070Ti Decklink HD Extreme. 3X Sony AX53 Sony AX700

http://indiestereographer.blogspot.co.uk
PaulTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:40 PM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,038
Default

welcome to the world of EDIUS6 where you can no longer create presets in the startup screen like in EDIUS5 :(

1. start EDIUS
2. go to system settings, project presets
3. create your 50p preset
4. close EDIUS
5. start EDIUS and select the 50p preset
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:42 PM   #4
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,145
Default

You are right but this sucks because I already started editing with 1920x1080 25i preset (I have that one saved) thinking to myself that I'll change the project settings later. Now I opened a new project with the 50p and it won't let me import the edited project into it!
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:43 PM   #5
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,145
Default

If DVD and blu ray don't support 50p anyway, why even bother to edit in a 50p preset if you're going to have to anyway export to 25p or 25i?
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:48 PM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,038
Default

Blu-Ray supports 1280x720 50p and it is now part of EDIUS 6.5 Disk Burner

you can also choose mpeg for Blu-ray which encodes way fast, like 30min to make a BD from a 2 hour timeline, forget H264 (unless you got the right onboard video card for fast H264 encoding)

also, 1280x720 50p looks great when opened in 720x576 50i project with new lanzos3 option, then make a perfect DVD
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:51 PM   #7
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,145
Default

Ok, here's an interesting question:

I see in my 25p project that I CAN actually choose 50p in the EXPORT settings. So if my footage is 50p and I choose a 50p export, even though the project settings are 25p shouldn't I still get a correct 50p exported file?
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:53 PM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,038
Default

I thought you are using 25 fps interlaced?

if so, export to HQ Fine or Lossless, then open the clip in 1280x720 50p project

50i in 50p looks fine to me
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 12:56 PM   #9
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,145
Default

Sorry, my bad. I'm using 25i preset.

It looks great on screen, that's not a problem. So if I export 50p footage with 50p export preset in 25i project, won't I get a 50p export?

Doesn't the final export care only about what you define in your export setting and not what the project setting are?

And just out of curiosity, if Edius knows how to convert from 25i project to 50p export, why can't it allow you to change the project setting from 25i to 50p?
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 01:08 PM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,038
Default

lets start from scratch

1. do you want to edit in 50P?
2. do you want to edit in 50i?

if 50p, then export your 50i footage to HQ Fine (do not change anything in advanced settings)
now start a 50p project and load your 50i file

if 50i, then export your 50p footage to HQ Fine (do not change anything in advanced settings)
now start a 50i project and load your 50p file
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1080 50p project? burnandreturn Editing with EDIUS 2 04-25-2012 03:17 PM
1080/50i and 720/50p editing one project laguna Editing with EDIUS 2 02-05-2012 12:48 PM
Why I cant switch 50p project to 50i Romigo Editing with EDIUS 26 11-10-2011 02:40 PM
Edius 5 project in 720 50p gameroja Editing with EDIUS 12 10-29-2009 04:51 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.