Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2007, 05:26 AM   #1
MinMinc.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 149
Default Help with Brightening footage

I'm Shooting HDV footage, and using 4.13 Edius, A friend of my using Vegas uses "gama" to increase the brightness of some wedding footage of mine. (it worked great), what would be the best steps within Edius to get equal results. Gary.
MinMinc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 09:54 AM   #2
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Try this I use this to brighten footage taken on cloudy days
Under Colour Correction select Colour Balance and try the following settings
Chroma set to 17
Brightness set to between 15 and 40
Contrast set to between 12 and 21
try various combinations it certainly makes a difference
The Alternative is the YUV curve another name for GAMMA but I find it a little daunting to use, EDIUS does not seem to have a GAMMA correction as such, Even on Premier and Media studio Pro I used the Colour correction filters as GAMMA seems to be either too dark or too light, maybe its just me!
Sorry for the strange accent on Colour/color its Ausy English
Hope this helps
Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 11:46 AM   #3
Bart
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 302
Default

Another nice trick from the old forum: duplicate the clip on a superior track and apply a screen-keyer to it. Adjust with the rubberband => works very good.
__________________
Edius 8.53 WG - Win 10 64 - i7-920 - 16 Gb DDR3 - Intel DX58SO - Nvidia Geforce GT 730 2 Gb - SSD 500 Gb system + 2 x 1 Tb datastorage / databackup + 2 x 3 Tb videostorage - 2 x 23" Full HD Monitors - M-Audio Studiophile AV30 - Sony HDR-HC9 - Sony A77II
Bart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:15 PM   #4
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Use Bart's suggestion. You will love it.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 09:24 PM   #5
MinMinc.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gilbert Arizona
Posts: 149
Default

Thanks a lot guys, I'll give it a try later today. Gary
MinMinc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 11:28 PM   #6
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Make sure to have the waveform/vectorscope open and keep your white and black levels at the correct levels :)
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 12:01 AM   #7
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

I just tried the Screen keyer, and it works really well. My question is this: exactly what does the keyer do? It isn't even mentioned in the Reference Manual. For that matter, none of the keyers are explained either in the program or the documentation.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 12:18 AM   #8
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

If you ever used Photoshop's blending options then you'll understand what each one does :)

Here's a site that explains them:

http://www.arraich.com/ref/tool_blend_modes.htm

This one is for photoshop, but very similar to what Edius uses.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 12:51 AM   #9
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

Awesome, thank you!
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 01:28 PM   #10
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

I don't know how old this thread is but I'd like it revisited.

I too have a hard time in EDIUS working out the gamma correction- does it exist under different formula?

For instance- I learned this tip off a training DVD for Sorenson Squeeze.

Apply to source a filter with +10 contrast -5 brightness & +35 gamma

I tell you what, it looks brilliant!!! How can I achieve this in EDIUS?

EDIT: You can change the brightness + contrast in ProCoder 3 then add a gamma filter but (the gamma) it doesn't have same values as Sorenson- in fact I have to reduce the default gamma slider a bit, still looks great.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au

Last edited by shueardm; 11-28-2007 at 01:47 PM.
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to mix 4 x 3 and 16 x 9 footage for widescreen video? 6079 Editing with EDIUS 2 12-30-2008 07:00 AM
720P HDV HQ footage on 720P DVCPRO HD timeline Jonathan Porter Editing with EDIUS 4 11-30-2007 04:26 AM
What is the best way or settings to get DVCPRO HD 720p P2 Footage to SD? tarkken Editing with EDIUS 1 05-19-2007 02:00 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.