Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2019, 01:03 PM   #1
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 459
Default Edius 9wg - out of memory

Hi, I have experienced two near crashes while using EDIUS since I upgraded from 8WG to 9.40 WG on Tuesday. FYI I also added a BM Intensity Pro 4K which is working perfectly. It is the first time I have ever had such a problem with EDIUS in 11 years. You can see the specs of my edit system below.

The first time was early yesterday morning and I was not doing anything particularly intensive. My current job is configured as UHD 25p, although the media is 50p. I was reorganising my bin and moving folders around. Suddenly Windows told me it was "Out Of Memory" and was about to close. I managed to save the project and close EDIUS. On this occasion, checking the Windows Event Viewer, the Resource-Exhaustion-Detector said....

Windows successfully diagnosed a low virtual memory condition. The following programs consumed the most virtual memory: EDIUS.exe (9972) consumed 78113226752 bytes, Mync.exe (14012) consumed 724013056 bytes, and Nimbus Capture.exe (6016) consumed 531505152 bytes.

My PageFile size is 49006MB. CrystalDiskInfo says all the drives are fine. I removed the Nimbus screen-capture software.

The second time when Windows reported "Out Of Memory" was about an hour ago, only 24hrs after the first time. I was just selecting clips from a timeline and dragging them into a bin. This time Windows Resource-Exhaustion-Detector said....

Windows successfully diagnosed a low virtual memory condition. The following programs consumed the most virtual memory: EDIUS.exe (9028) consumed 80633044992 bytes, firefox.exe (10752) consumed 317939712 bytes, and Dropbox.exe (6664) consumed 210808832 bytes.

As recommended for Win7 I have NOT enabled my GPU for Primary Color Correction.

Perhaps it is time I upgraded from WIN 7 Pro to Win 10? Unfortunately I have spent the past week loading 40 hours of camera original. So there are more that 4800 individual files loaded and carefully sorted, with comment descriptions.

My big concern is that I have a 16TB RAID0 loaded with all the UHD camera material. That took a whole day to load, and I fear that upgrading to Win10 will destroy the raid, making it necessary to start all over. I am already behind with the delivery of my project, and wishing I had remained on EDIUS 8WG.

However, the idea of running out of memory every 24hrs is not appealing. Any suggestions from you guys? I need to make a decision soon. My client is very nervous.
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS 9.40 WG Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence 1 Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel 6-core i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, LG BH10LS38 Blu-Ray writer, Storage: WD RED 16TB RAID0. EDIUS 9.40 WG Field Laptop > Acer Travelmate P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 03:04 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,371
Default

Don't do an upgrade. Get to the point that you can do a clean install of Win 10. I usually disconnect all but the system drive prior to doing a clean install.
I have a 12tb Raid 0 created using Windows software. This transfers easily to different systems. It has been used in Win 7-10.

I don't know if you have seen this.
https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...ad.php?t=39874
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 03:21 PM   #3
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 459
Default

Jerry, thanks.

Quote:
I don't know if you have seen this.
Yes I have seen this. I do NOT have GPU acceleration enabled.

Quote:
I usually disconnect all but the system drive prior to doing a clean install.
So, I should disconnect my 4-drive Win7 software RAID0 too? You think Win10 will recognise it when I reconnect all 4 drives after a fresh install?

Thanks, Rick
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS 9.40 WG Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence 1 Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel 6-core i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, LG BH10LS38 Blu-Ray writer, Storage: WD RED 16TB RAID0. EDIUS 9.40 WG Field Laptop > Acer Travelmate P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 03:27 PM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,371
Default

I have done several clean installs since 1609 and all You have to do is import the drive back into the system.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 03:38 PM   #5
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
I have done several clean installs since 1609 and all You have to do is import the drive back into the system.
Ok, I will do a clone of my C drive (just in case), reformat it, and start a clean, fresh install of Win10.

Do I need to deactivate 9WG first?
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS 9.40 WG Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence 1 Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel 6-core i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, LG BH10LS38 Blu-Ray writer, Storage: WD RED 16TB RAID0. EDIUS 9.40 WG Field Laptop > Acer Travelmate P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 03:51 PM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,371
Default

Why not just buy a new SSD. I got a 500GB Crucial for $55 and a Samsung 860 500Gb For $77.
Get an extra for a clone.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 04:04 PM   #7
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
Why not just buy a new SSD. I got a 500GB Crucial for $55 and a Samsung 860 500Gb For $77.
True. My existing SSD is a 500GB Samsung 850 Pro and it is only 18 months old. Only used for programs, no data. Here the very cheapest Samsung 860 EVO 500GB is the equivalent of $96. And that is the special offer discount price. But I need to get all the upgrade done overnight. No time to get to the store. I must be editing by 10am tomorrow. I have a spare 1TB HDD which I can use to make an Acronis clone. Thanks for the idea though.

What about my question re 9WG? Do I need to deactivate 9WG first, before I reinstall it on Win10?
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS 9.40 WG Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence 1 Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel 6-core i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, LG BH10LS38 Blu-Ray writer, Storage: WD RED 16TB RAID0. EDIUS 9.40 WG Field Laptop > Acer Travelmate P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 04:27 PM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,371
Default

Since you are going to a new OS on a new drive, I would definitely deactivate the license. Do you know how many times you have activated and deactivated your license?

https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...tivate+license

To check your license go here:
https://ediusid1.grassvalley.com/
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 04:42 PM   #9
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 459
Default

Quote:
Do you know how many times you have activated and deactivated your license?
I activated it for the first time on Monday. So once only. I will deactivate it then.
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS 9.40 WG Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence 1 Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel 6-core i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, LG BH10LS38 Blu-Ray writer, Storage: WD RED 16TB RAID0. EDIUS 9.40 WG Field Laptop > Acer Travelmate P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 04:44 PM   #10
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 459
Default

Actually it will be new OS on the same reformatted SSD drive.
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS 9.40 WG Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence 1 Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel 6-core i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, LG BH10LS38 Blu-Ray writer, Storage: WD RED 16TB RAID0. EDIUS 9.40 WG Field Laptop > Acer Travelmate P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 9WG doesn't recognize free space on disc when converting to HQX noafilm Editing with EDIUS 24 08-26-2018 06:02 AM
reinstalling edius 9wg on new SSD noafilm Editing with EDIUS 4 03-30-2018 08:44 PM
Edius 9WG uses multicores better noafilm EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 54 01-07-2018 07:43 PM
hd spark not compatible with amd platform and edius 9wg? noafilm EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 11-26-2017 10:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.