Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2019, 06:24 AM   #21
OneQuickSix
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
BM is the only card for use with Resolve. BM cards will work on Resolve, Premiere, AE, and Edius.
Yeah, they seem pretty great. I use all of those (although rarely Premiere), so excellent.
__________________
MAIN SYSTEM: Asus P8Z68 DELUXE, Core i-7 2600k @ 4.6Mhz (stable), 32gb DDR3 1600 (1833 oc) Vengence RAM, 512gb SSD (OS and Apps Only), 256gb SSD Scratch Disk, 2TB Caviar Black SATA3 RAID Video Drive, Nvidia GTX 970 (oc'd), Windows 7 PRO 64-bit, all in a customized HAF-X case ... complete with holographic logo. [Air cooled into the low teens idle, 49c under heavy sustained oc'd load.] Dual 19" displays with 32" video monitor. ShuttlePRO.
OneQuickSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2019, 09:59 AM   #22
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
I'm sorry for the length of this post.


Deciding what card to buy depends on a several things.
Thx Jerry,this will be something for under the christmas tree :)
Edd
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 09:57 AM   #23
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 154
Default

First of all : a healthy and happy new year to all !

Going further in this topic,Santa is being good to me and and new monitor is coming,bud reading reply's from You all ;I'm installing it with a dedicated video card : Blackmagic Design Decklink mini monitor 4K,and a 27" 4K monitor.
Will this work together with a 23" HD monitor ( or a second same 27" 4K monitor) connected on the GPU from the mainboard, and with the benefits of Quick sync ?
Edd
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD

Last edited by edver1; 01-03-2020 at 10:32 AM.
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2020, 06:56 PM   #24
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,291
Default

I monitor the audio off the Decklink card via the HDMI with an HDMI input/output A/V amplifier.

All TV panels have a video processing delay and they internally delay the audio to match the video display.

So the sound out from the TV either optical or headphone socket, will always be in sync with the audio, and there is usually a menu setting to increase the delay if needed. A/V amplifiers also have an audio delay setting, so they can be matched to the TV.

Pretty much everything is relying on HDMI now: multi channel audio, DTS, True HD and Dolby Atmos so is the way of the future.

Most TV panels also have some sort of smooth motion built in, with a dedicated menu setting item for it, as a train going past the camera for instance, at high speed shot at 23.98, 24p, 25p or 29.97 looks jumpy or not smooth. (I note that the film people like it like that). This can be smoothed out but it needs to compromise between blurring on movement and clarity hence the adjustment setting.

Computer monitors don't generally have motion smoothing so they automatically look less fluid excepting as already pointed out that they usually are running at 60p so any frame rate other than 60p will be a compromise on motion especially on camera pans.

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 09:11 AM   #25
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 154
Default

My motherboard has the possibility of HDMI , Display port , USB-C or Thunderbolt (on board ).
Since I'm looking for a new monitor (2 ) preferably 27"4K or WQHD.
What would be my best choice of connection ?
Thunderbolt is the fastest data transfer,bud will Edius support it ? can't find anything about it
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 09:56 AM   #26
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,354
Default

I would advice against 4k mon for PC use, lots of software does not scale well when you increase desktop font from the default of 100% and you must otherwise you can't read any text

I would advice to get 2 Dell 27" 2560x1440 and they work fine at 100% scaling
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 12:27 PM   #27
edver1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 154
Default

Anton
I read Your'e advice before and I think I'm gone follow it.
I already had my eyes on the Dell monitors,any particular model ? the UP2716D looks to me a good choice.
Have You experience with thunderbolt connection,do You think it's worth going that way,Dell is coming with a model that has that connection ?
Bud I can't find any reference with Edius,would it mean it isn't supported ?
__________________
Edius 9.5,Win 10 home
Asrock Phantom gaming 6,
CPU Intel I9-9900K
500 Gb M.2 Samsung SSD 970 Pro plus
1 TB M2 Samsung SSD 970Pro
SSD OCZ 256MB
WD 4TB HDD
edver1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2020, 10:00 PM   #28
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,354
Default

forget Thunderbolt, use Display Port with Dell

Dell UltraSharp 27 Monitor: U2719D or U2716D
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 01:42 AM   #29
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
forget Thunderbolt
Agreed. Thunderbolt support in the PC world is generally not great. It's more of an Apple thing.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 01:57 AM   #30
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,771
Default

That should change with Tiger Lake and TB4.
Thunderbolt is slated to be on chip.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suddenly playback has gone jittery Jameson Editing with EDIUS 2 11-17-2017 01:02 AM
Audio drift issue, audio out of Sync on playback psheaffe Editing with EDIUS 6 06-22-2016 09:50 PM
Jerky playback in Edius 7.5 Edit696 Editing with EDIUS 1 08-20-2015 02:58 PM
5.5 Multicam jerky playback Hutch TV Editing with EDIUS 5 12-21-2010 08:16 PM
Jerky / Lagging playback in Edius 5? LunaG Editing with EDIUS 5 06-08-2010 09:09 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.