Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2019, 07:55 PM   #1
DaveL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Granite Bay, CA
Posts: 131
Default LUT use question

For anyone that understands LUTs better than I:
Say I shoot SLOG2, and then apply a LUT to get a "close" color grade in rec709 space.
If I then start working with PCC to tune the color grade, have I lost any original dynamic range by first applying that "get it close" LUT?

Asked another way, do I loose anything by applying a correction LUT to SLOG footage before I start my PCC color correction?
Or, must I create my own color correction from scratch in PCC on the original SLOG footage to be able to utilize the full dynamic range of the original clip?

I hope that makes sense. Thanks
__________________
Edius 9.51 Pro, Intel i7-5820K 3.3GHz, MSI X99s SLI plus MB, 32GB DDR4 mem, Nividia GTX 760, Win10 Pro x64, BM Intensity Shuttle for preview & capture.
New to Edius - came from Liquid, before that 16mm film. I've been filmmaking since watching ST TOS first-run live on B&W TV
DaveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 10:01 PM   #2
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,060
Default

This a good review by ProAV with Alister that goes over LUT's. If you follow through you should find when to use a particular LUT.My understanding is using a particular LUT at the wrong time does limit range. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfhU...tRPyEH&index=3
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 08:18 PM   #3
Seemedia
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 826
Default

Yeah, if you add LUT as a first filter (first Node in Davinci) your Waveform will be affected (you won't be able to "pull out" the details). Also, LUT must have Color (chroma) and Brightnes (luma) for proper work. So... I alwys change log to rec from scratch and then (with the next filter - Blend Filter with PCC) I add LUT. You can always back to effect before LUT. But if you want use Log to Rec LUT simply add this after "empty" Combine Filter with PCC, 3-way, YUV Curve in.
__________________
Pawel Chyrowski

Edius 9 Workgroup

Writer/Director. Director of Photography. Motion Picture and Sound Editor. Colorist.

https://facebook.com/chyrowski
https://www.youtube.com/c/PawelChyrowski
https://vimeo.com/pawelchyrowski
Seemedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference of LUT bt.907/bt.2020 and LUT bt.2020. kpot Editing with EDIUS 6 01-07-2019 03:51 AM
Applying a LUT Gunn Editing with EDIUS 43 01-14-2018 03:37 PM
Register LUT's GraadCias Editing with EDIUS 13 06-01-2017 03:31 PM
LUT import Adam Brzoza Editing with EDIUS 8 08-01-2016 08:03 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.