Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2013, 10:42 PM   #1
Blueie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Default AVI converters

Hello

I have recently downloaded a VHS (C) tape onto my PC with the free software that came with the hardware. The tape, be default, is saved as a .mpg file which, I understand, is highly compressed. Thus, there is a qualitative difference in the VHS tape when played via a VCR connected to my TV and the .mpg file when viewed through Windows Media Player.

I understand that Green Valley sells converters that create AVI files via my Firewire port, and I wonder a) how they work and b) their cost.

Thank you.

Blueie
Blueie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 01:19 PM   #2
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,874
Default

TV and PC on-screen viewing is very different. It is not uncommon for captured video to look poor when viewed on a PC. The captured mpg file might look OK if played to the TV from a DVD player for example.

The issue is the quality of the capture hardware and encoding compared to the source material. VHS-C tape (especiallyif recorded as SLP speed) is generally a pretty low quality source by today's standards, so using better capture hardware might not give a significantly improved end product. The only way to find out for sure is to try.

GV has several analog capture products on the market, and a few additional appear for sale on auction sites such as EBay regularly. These include the ADVC 55, 110, 300 and so on. In general they work well and give a good SD (i.e., 720x480 for NTSC) capture in DV format that is mainly limited by the quality of the source material.

To the PC they look like a DV camcorder connected via firewire. Subjectively speaking, MAC users seem to have more issues getting them to work than PC users. (I don't know is that is more a statement about MAC users, or Apple's willingness to playwell with others.)

Browsing the threads here will give you a good feel for the issues others have faced. Personally my ADVC300 has worked well with my Win7 machine - no problems what so ever.

Cost and features vary with model and new or used (add some risk here). Search your favorite suppliers for current prices.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:16 PM   #3
Blueie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 2
Default

Hello dpalomaki

Many thanks for your reply and explanation.

I think that's a fair piece of advice: keep my eye on the auction sites and read various threads here to get a 'feel' for the issues involved.

Thanks again.

Blue
Blueie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft AVI tony Editing with EDIUS 7 03-10-2010 06:15 PM
AVI Mickey Editing with EDIUS 14 12-22-2009 01:43 AM
Procoder 3 AVI Error Msg. w/ HQ AVI mrmidi ProCoder 2 07-02-2009 03:48 AM
2 converters, one computer, 100 worries gloawyn ADVC 2 07-03-2007 06:57 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.