Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2011, 01:37 PM   #1
Proton
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 76
Default ADVC-G1 "soft" after firmware upgrade

I upgraded the firmware of my ADVC-G1 to 1.1.3 a month ago in order to use the USB remote. Since then have been suffering with low luminance bandwidth!

625/50 ("PAL") test signals show that the Y -3dB point is now around 4MHz instead of 5.5MHz. My guess is that the filter before the A-D converter is stuck at 4.2MHz which would only be correct for 525/60 ("NTSC") material.

GV (Germany) today acknowledged to me that there is a bug in the 1.1.3 firmware. As it is impossible to downgrade to the previous firmware, they are going to release a fixed version, probably by the end of next week (11/11/11).
__________________
Proton
1: Edius 5.11 + HX-E1 :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Supermicro X6DAE-G2 + Dual 3.2G Xeon + 2G RAM :: 512MB nVidia GeForce 9800GT :: 512MB RAID0 :: XP Pro
2: Edius 6.03 + Storm 3G :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Asus P6X58D-E + Intel core i7 970 3.3G + 12G RAM :: 1GB nVidia GeForce GT430 :: 2TB RAID0 :: W7 Pro 64 SP1
Proton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:51 AM   #2
Proton
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 76
Default

GV (Germany) provided a 1.1.4 firmware for me to try.

The luminance -3dB point with 625/50 material improved very slightly from ~4 MHz to ~4.5 MHz, but capture bandwidth is still far inferior to my old Edius SP system!

I have sent them waveform monitor photographs of frequency sweep and multiburst test signals comparing ADVC-G1 with Edius SP...
__________________
Proton
1: Edius 5.11 + HX-E1 :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Supermicro X6DAE-G2 + Dual 3.2G Xeon + 2G RAM :: 512MB nVidia GeForce 9800GT :: 512MB RAID0 :: XP Pro
2: Edius 6.03 + Storm 3G :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Asus P6X58D-E + Intel core i7 970 3.3G + 12G RAM :: 1GB nVidia GeForce GT430 :: 2TB RAID0 :: W7 Pro 64 SP1
Proton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 03:14 PM   #3
Proton
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 76
Default 1.1.5 Firmware update

GV (Germany) have just provided a 1.1.5 firmware.

So far, it seems to have solved the problem and the luminance bandwidth now equals that of my old Edius SP system.

I will be making more detailed comparisons of the two and will post again if there are any remaining issues.
__________________
Proton
1: Edius 5.11 + HX-E1 :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Supermicro X6DAE-G2 + Dual 3.2G Xeon + 2G RAM :: 512MB nVidia GeForce 9800GT :: 512MB RAID0 :: XP Pro
2: Edius 6.03 + Storm 3G :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Asus P6X58D-E + Intel core i7 970 3.3G + 12G RAM :: 1GB nVidia GeForce GT430 :: 2TB RAID0 :: W7 Pro 64 SP1
Proton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 03:01 PM   #4
Proton
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 76
Default 1.1.5 problems

The 1.1.5 firmware has its own problems.

With only the Y component of a multiburst signal input, the Y output is as flat as my Edius SP/HX-E1, which made me think that the problem was solved.

But as soon as Cr or Cb inputs are connected, the Y output shows a low frequency loss! This affects the LF square wave and the 1.5 MHz and 2.5 MHz bursts. Higher frequencies are OK.

Obviously the Y component shouldn't be affected by the presence or absence of chroma components, and needless to say it isn't with Edius SP/HX-E1.
__________________
Proton
1: Edius 5.11 + HX-E1 :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Supermicro X6DAE-G2 + Dual 3.2G Xeon + 2G RAM :: 512MB nVidia GeForce 9800GT :: 512MB RAID0 :: XP Pro
2: Edius 6.03 + Storm 3G :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Asus P6X58D-E + Intel core i7 970 3.3G + 12G RAM :: 1GB nVidia GeForce GT430 :: 2TB RAID0 :: W7 Pro 64 SP1
Proton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 07:00 PM   #5
Proton
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: England
Posts: 76
Default Very bad news

GV have just told me: "3rd party hardware cannot be fixed soon" "you should return your device to your dealer in order to get the full refund".

So it seems that the ADVC-G1 is not suitable for digitising 'PAL' (625/50) analogue component signals and I assume that they will now withdraw it for sale except in 'NTSC' (525/60) countries...
__________________
Proton
1: Edius 5.11 + HX-E1 :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Supermicro X6DAE-G2 + Dual 3.2G Xeon + 2G RAM :: 512MB nVidia GeForce 9800GT :: 512MB RAID0 :: XP Pro
2: Edius 6.03 + Storm 3G :: PAL & 1080/I/25 :: Asus P6X58D-E + Intel core i7 970 3.3G + 12G RAM :: 1GB nVidia GeForce GT430 :: 2TB RAID0 :: W7 Pro 64 SP1
Proton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Filter "Original" video is black in "Target" area / "Large Preview" not working lalittle ProCoder 3 10-16-2007 02:30 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.