Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2019, 04:36 AM   #41
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tryingtolearn View Post
Anton I followed the screenshot path you showed and it had one dump file from today so I have added it to this dropbox folder along with the crash report

I hope it gives some insight
thanks Anton https://www.dropbox.com/sh/hi4im10o9...ObMZ1IDta?dl=0

you are running two antivirus programs, the default Windows Defender and AVAST, get rid of AVAST, uninstall it

you are also running Opera Browser, any reason for that?

can you do a scan of your PC with Malwarebytes free (but exit malwarebytes from taskbar when done, and do not set it to autostart with Windows)
Attached Images
File Type: png AVP-0908.png (30.3 KB, 11 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 01:12 PM   #42
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
you are running two antivirus programs, the default Windows Defender and AVAST, get rid of AVAST, uninstall it

you are also running Opera Browser, any reason for that?

can you do a scan of your PC with Malwarebytes free (but exit malwarebytes from taskbar when done, and do not set it to autostart with Windows)
Anton, just as an FYI, I run Avast (free version) with no problems, and I also run Opera with no problems. If a virus scanner installs correctly and Win10 doesn't misbehave, BitDefender should end up being disabled automatically, leaving only avast, avg, eset, etc. as the running scanner. Seeing BitDefender still running is not normal and potentially a problem.

Opera is just a chrome based browser that has a few nice features that chrome doesn't. I have been running it for close on 20 years (long before it became chrome based) with no issues.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 02:02 PM   #43
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,074
Default

lets wait for malwarebytes scan results, I think she is infected with something

I was only curious why anyone would use Opera instead of going to one?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 02:28 PM   #44
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
lets wait for malwarebytes scan results, I think she is infected with something

I was only curious why anyone would use Opera instead of going to one?
Quite Possible. That's why I suggested a malware scan in post #2.

Oddball problems, if not fixed by a reboot/reset, are often indicative of failing hardware or malware/virus activity, unless the user has been "under the hood" tinkering with stuff they don't understand. Since this is a new laptop, hardware failure is probably not the issue.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 02:34 PM   #45
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
I was only curious why anyone would use Opera instead of going to one?
For those of us that don't enjoy going to the opera, using it is the next best thing. ;)

(Not all of us can see the most famous opera house in the world when we look out the bedroom window to fuel the desire to go.)
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 02:36 PM   #46
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
Since this is a new laptop, hardware failure is probably not the issue.
one of my customers bought a $4k laptop from Dell and one week after, the bottom third of the UHD screen turned mosaic and had to be replaced

the finger print reader stopped working on day two and Dell have not been able to fix that at this stage

in other words, new means nothing these days
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 02:39 PM   #47
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
one of my customers bought a $4k laptop from Dell and one week after, the bottom third of the UHD screen turned mosaic and had to be replaced

the finger print reader stopped working on day two and Dell have not been able to fix that at this stage
It is possible to get defective out of the box for sure. I have seen it several times over the years, but it doesn't happen often.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 02:44 PM   #48
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,074
Default

when you buy a new car, there is a 90% chance you will have some warranty repairs in the very early stages

quality is not what it used to be

that is why I build all computers from quality parts that I know are reliable from years of testing and using, I would never buy a ready made PC from a shop
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 05:35 PM   #49
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
when you buy a new car, there is a 90% chance you will have some warranty repairs in the very early stages

quality is not what it used to be

that is why I build all computers from quality parts that I know are reliable from years of testing and using, I would never buy a ready made PC from a shop
I agree, I do the same thing. Like you, I used to build, sell and service NLE's, and train the users. I haven't bought an off the shelf system in over 20 years, as I prefer to use only parts I trust.

In this case though, it is a laptop, so off the shelf is the only option. However, sometimes there are still better choices in these. I have always tended to shy away from brands like Dell, IBM/Lenovo, and HP/Compaq, as they often tend to do some funny things with the hardware configurations.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 08:06 PM   #50
tryingtolearn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ATLANTA GEORGIA (From Perth Australia)
Posts: 555
Default

Hey everyone,

SOUNDFREAK
- How would I test RAM to see if it's bad?
I'm not having issues with photoshop or Adobe Bridge and I'm processing images in the thousands...

if I'm only having issue with 1 software, how would I test the RAM?



ANTON - I've always been told by friends in I.T not to trust Windows Defender alone, do you disagree with this statement? Do you feel it is enough on it's own?

I do web development so I use all the main browsers (E, IE, Chrome, Mozilla, Safari, and Opera) Opera is actually my preferred browser. but I've had opera on my Desktop which has Edius 8 Pro, and my old laptop (the G75VW) that I mvoed all my software over from

I will scan with Malwarebytes after I'm done with todays edit


BERNH - I DO remember that on my other systems I would always have to disable avast WHILE using Edius.. so maybe with this latest crash I didn't do that.. never had to uninstall it, just had to disable while using Edius (had to do that on desktop AND old laptop)


I love OPERA... but because I do web stuff I have to make sure the websites work on all browsers

ANTON - will malwarescan
lol ANTON - please try opera.. I have the browser on my phones too and love it



BERNH/ANTON i do virus scans with all my stuff pretty regularly.. but will do malwarebytes (think I did it at the start when Bern suggested) but will repeat


BERN - have not been 'tinkering under the hood' besides what I've been instructed to on this thread (disabling fast start in bios and in control panel etc)


ANTON - when I bought my G75VW from Best Buy Florida (while living in Australia) in 2012 - I got to California with my truck of a laptop, and the hard drive failed.. they swapped it but 2 days got wasted with reinstalling and data recovery
but I don't think that's the case with THIS 2018 laptop


I have found ASUS laptops to be amazing.
Lenovo and HP Compaq not so much
ACER is a nightmare.. wouldn't touch them

Never had a DELL but they're always double the price of an ASUS and IT guys tell me that it wasn't really worth it
__________________
www.skysimonephotography.com
Laptop: ASUS ROG Strix Scar Edition GL703GE-ES73 17.3 Gaming Laptop, 8th-Gen 6-Core Intel Core i7-8750H processor (up to 3.9GHz), GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, 120Hz 3ms display, 16GB DDR4, 128GB PCIe SSD + 1TB SSHD, Windows 10

This laptop is a recent upgrade from Asus ROG G75VW as of October 2018 - Edius 8

Desktop: Win7x64Pro, 3.4ghz Intel Core i7-3770
Gigabyte Tech B75M-D3H, 16332 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 5450 Samsung SSD
Edius 6 Edius 8
tryingtolearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 7.4 constantly crashing noafilm Editing with EDIUS 61 11-05-2015 01:47 AM
Sigh ... it's one of those days/projects where Edius is crashing constantly. Andy Editing with EDIUS 12 02-18-2013 06:27 AM
Edius constantly crashing shamo Editing with EDIUS 8 02-08-2013 01:03 AM
Trouble with Edius Pro 4.54 (it crashing) c0y0t3 Editing with EDIUS 0 02-14-2008 01:04 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.