Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2008, 06:45 PM   #1
sidproducer
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default ADVC1000 and HDV

Is it possible to take an SDI out from a camera,connect it to ADVC1000 SDI in and then through the firewire send the signal to an HDV deck and record at 1080i.If yes what does that mean for the picture quality?Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 06:48 PM   #2
GrassValley_CP
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_CP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 358
Default

No, the ADVC-1000 is a SD-SDI->DV or DV->SD-SDI converter. This is NOT an HD product, and it will not up/downscale signals.

You would need the ADVC-HDM1, which is an HD-SDI->HDV or HDV->HD-SDI converter. It will convert HD-SDI 1280x720p to HDV 1280x720p and HD-SDI 1920x1080i to HDV 1440x1080i. There should be no discernible loss in picture quality--it's just using the HDV GOP compression and anamorphic pixel aspect ratio for 1080i. You'd be hard-pressed to see the difference.
GrassValley_CP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 10:29 PM   #3
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Note that if it's SD SDI, the ADVC-HDM1 won't take it. It needs to be fed HD-SDI.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC-HDM1 Remote mboufleur ADVC 5 07-30-2008 11:45 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.