Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2018, 09:14 AM   #1
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,158
Default M.2 and cache drive question

I'm planning a new build (which is not final yet) and have a general question about "noticeable" performance only with scratch drives (cache). On mechanical drives, it's known that cache should be on a separate drive for max performance. But maybe with M.2, this doesn't matter anymore?

What I'm planning on getting or moving from old system:
1. Samsung 960 EVO NVMe 500GB M.2 (BOOT DRIVE)
2. Samsung 960 EVO NVMe 1TB M.2 (NEW)
3. Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD (from old system)

My plan was to make the M.2 500GB the boot drive and the M.2 1TB for project files, render files and RAW footage. (Would temperately copy footage to there, just for editing)

My question is what to use for the EDIUS CACHE folder. Options are to use the same 1TB M.2 for the cache as well, or use the separate 500GB SSD (non-M.2). (definitely won't need a full 500GB of cache so that drive would also be used for other things).

Is the M.2 efficient enough for both RAW footage AND cache or can there be a noticeable performance advantage if the cache was on a separate, non-M.2 SSD?
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 40TB Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 09:25 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,204
Default

there is 0.0000000000000% need to use a different disk for scratch disk when C drive is SSD or M.2

so let the C do it all
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 10:28 AM   #3
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
there is 0.0000000000000% need to use a different disk for scratch disk when C drive is SSD or M.2

so let the C do it all
I wasn't even considering using the C for scratch.
So if I understand correctly, even if I use the 1TB M.2 for both RAW footage AND cache - I can be good to go?
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 40TB Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 04:04 PM   #4
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,022
Default

I use a SSD for boot and SSD for temp files and a SSD for my rendered files. I did find a difference in encoding speeds using this way for both EDIUS and TMPGenc. As seek times often seem to be the bottleneck. I find the source 6T drive is fast enough for two tracks of GH5 and 3 tracks of HD files for multicam editing but for encoding and scaling for DVD files I think using a dedicated temp SSD was faster. So I export a HQX files to the render drive ( I use for other reasons anyway ) and then encode from this SSD with temp SSD for all the temp files with file going back to the 6T drive. I have found this to be the fastest encode for my 2 hour shows. Encoding from and back to the same drive with no temp drive was almost twice the time on my old system and about 50% slower on this setup using just the 6T drive.

As drives get faster it is always a question of following the way one used to do things !!! In the past hard drives would have a hard time sustaining 60MBps the latest Seagate drives I have will happily sustain 180MBps or more for over an hour in a straight copy.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 06:11 PM   #5
noafilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 742
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
I export a HQX files to the render drive ( I use for other reasons anyway ) and then encode from this SSD with temp SSD for all the temp files
I don't get the part where you say that you "encode from this SSD with temp SSD for all tempfiles"

What tempfiles are you refering to?
noafilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 06:32 PM   #6
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,158
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by noafilm View Post
I don't get the part where you say that you "encode from this SSD with temp SSD for all tempfiles"

What tempfiles are you refering to?
I had the same question.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 40TB Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 10 PRO 64-bit Edius 9.5 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 06:45 PM   #7
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,022
Default

TMPGenc can specify where it wants its files like temp, output etc so can all the Magix, ADOBE, BlackMagic products. No idea where EDIUS keeps its temp files so I have EDIUS default folder on this temp drive too.

When these programs are running they use these temp/cache files so will use both the boot drive, the source drive for the video files and the temp files. So rather than reading and writing to just one drive they are using 3 drives. Some reading some writing. If seek is the bottleneck then this is an advantage. Bigger problem for hard drives but still an issue even for SSD's Run MOOS system checking while encoding and you will see what I mean. Even on my system running 3 SSD's seek on these drives is still the bottleneck. I mean other than my CPU !!!
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V x 2
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2018, 01:24 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,204
Default

EDIUS uses the temp folder on the C drive (users/username/appdata/local/temp), so if your C is SSD or M.2 there is nothing to worry about
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 870 Pro NVMe M.2 for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uninstall Upgrades from C Drive Reinstall on Another Drive matlock Editing with EDIUS 4 08-07-2015 04:51 AM
OK, I Got The Asus MB -Question regarding seperate OS drive and RAID drives plasma_video EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 0 04-19-2014 05:17 PM
Edius 6 in and out question and waveform cache marcelozaz Editing with EDIUS 1 10-04-2011 03:17 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.