Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 07:53 PM   #1
Birtyboy1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yorkshire UK
Posts: 66
Default Upgrading PC to cope with Edius 5

Having now gone on to edius 5 I am looking to upgrade my current PC.

My system builder has offered the following upgrade:

Intel Core 2 DUO E6850 3.0GHZ Processor
Intel DP35DP Motherboard
4GB DDR2-800 SDRAM
Nvidia G Force 9800GT 512MB Graphics card

Another option is to have the:
Intel Core 2 QUAD Q9550 2.83GHZ Processor

How much benefit would I get from having the QUAD processor

I would be editing M2t or Canopus HQ files and outputting to SD DVD.
Birtyboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 10:10 PM   #2
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,906
Default

I have Q9450, Gigabyte X48DQ6 motherboard, 8G DDR2 RAM, Palit Radeon HD3850, 250G boot, 250G temp, 2 x 750G video storage,Vista 64, LG Bluray burner. Works great. I have also come to like Vista now that I have turned everything off it looks much like XP!!!!! I like the X48 board because it has a lot of eSATA ports for external drives if needed.I have two 500G and a 1TB external. The quad core is used by a lot of software and will be faster than the dual core in this circumstance. The X48 board is also quite clockable if you are inclined.
I would go the quad core route.
Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:27 PM   #3
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

Kindly note that EDIUS 5 does not use anything beyond 2 cores right now.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 03:56 PM   #4
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,906
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
Kindly note that EDIUS 5 does not use anything beyond 2 cores right now.
I agree, but Edius is only one of the many programs one might have and for instance TMPGenc and Vegas take full advantage of a quad core as did SpeedEncoder for Edius 4.6 as does AVCHD2HQ encoder. Clocking a quad core to 3G ( negligible move for the Q9550)will do as good as the dual for Edius 5 and will be a lot faster for everything else.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 08:21 PM   #5
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tingsern View Post
Kindly note that EDIUS 5 does not use anything beyond 2 cores right now.
This is not correct (and keeps coming up)...

It really depends on how much you are doing on the timeline. Not how many filters or effects so much (since they are processed sequentially) as how many concurrent layers of video/audio are being processed.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:58 PM   #6
Markus
Junior Member
 
Markus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 12
Default

Yes the V 5.01 runs very well @ quad-Core
on my Phenom 9950
u can see it, when u take a look @ the taskmanager.
There u can see the working Power from the CPU's :D
Markus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.