Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2008, 09:29 AM   #1
doryphoros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Daly City
Posts: 12
Default Procoder Mpeg2 DVD plays stuttering on Mac.

I encoded my movie in PC3 to mpeg2 DVD with this setting:
Mastering Quality, VBR 2pass, 4000-6000-7500kbps, Upper Field.
Then use this mpeg2 in Encore for authoring. Output as Image File. Burn with imgBurn.

When I played the DVD on my home DVD player it was fine, but when I played it on my PowerBook G4 with DVD Player (mac application), the video is stuttering. (Stops a couple of frames then plays again, stop a couple of frames and plays again).

However if I do my encoding using Adobe Media Encoder, same setting & workflow. The finished DVD plays fine on my Mac. But as we all know that the quality is superbad.

Does anyone has a solution? Will be highly appreciated.
doryphoros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 04:36 PM   #2
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,571
Default

It might be incompatible media or a bad burn. Are you buring the AME output to the same media, and at the same bitrate? Have you tried burning at a slower speed, like 4x even if your drive and media are certified for higher speeds?
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 01:19 AM   #3
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,933
Default

what audio are you using? ac3 or wav and if ac3, what bitrate?

if wav, your total bitrate is too high for burning, you will get stutter
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 07:04 AM   #4
doryphoros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Daly City
Posts: 12
Default

Yes all at the same setting, same media (Verbatim) and same burn speed, which is 1x in ImgBurn. I even tried burn it directly in Encore, the result is the same. My guessing is the encoding setting might not compatible with DVD Player software in Mac. But I don't know how to fix it though. Do you think the GOP setting might have anything to do with it? Like close GOP, etc.

Audio is AC3 256. If that really matter.
doryphoros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 07:34 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,933
Default

1. use Tayo Yuden (Japan) blank DVD (Verbatim 16x are crap made in India, 8 x are ok)

2. always use closed Gop no matter what others may tell you

3. be sure to untick strict gop bitrate (this is causing freezes)
http://www.videoproductions.com.au/p...d-settings.gif
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 11:54 PM   #6
Mr Bill
Senior Member
 
Mr Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 321
Default

This is a common problem with the Mac's DVD player 'software'.

I and others experience this very same problem on our Mac's.

The only solution is to use a different type of DVD player software
such as the VLC player for the mac.... http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-macosx.html


Bill :)
__________________
.
GESTOS PRODUCTIONS
www.gpvideo.com.au

Last edited by Mr Bill; 02-13-2008 at 05:41 AM.
Mr Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 12:32 AM   #7
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
This a common problem with the Mac's DVD player software.

I and others experience this very same problem on our Mac's.

The only solution is to use a different type of DVD player software
such as the VLC player for the mac.... http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-macosx.html


Bill :)
I was getting ready to respond when I saw Bill's post. Every disc that I make that plays fine on every player and PC has a distinct issue of jerky playback on Mac's. From Mac Book Pro's to the new IMAC's, it is there.

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=6135261
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 01:11 AM   #8
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Perhaps silly question here... but what's the native refresh rate for the Mac display?
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 03:46 AM   #9
doryphoros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Daly City
Posts: 12
Default

Bill and Jerry. That's right. I forgot to mention that. VLC plays the DVD fine. But the problem with VLC is, it crashes unpredictably.

Weird thing is, if I encode the MPEG2 using, let say, TMPGEnc, then the finish DVD plays fine on Mac DVD Player software. I could just use that workflow, but then what about my ProCoder 3?
doryphoros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 03:54 AM   #10
doryphoros
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Daly City
Posts: 12
Default

Anton. Thanks for the tips. Will use that setting from now on.
doryphoros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to make NTSC 24p mpeg2 for DVD in ProCoder? doryphoros ProCoder 7 03-21-2010 11:36 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.