Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2019, 11:22 PM   #1
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default import and render subtitles in Edius (workflow using Subtitle Editor)

Many of us want do simple rendering of subtitle scripts.
Even if I don't know what the closed captions workflow brings to Edius 9.40, here is a simple workflow to render subtitles in Edius:

If you need information about how to create subtitle scripts, I guess there are several guides can be found by any search engine.

The point we are starting from is a ready subtitle script in it's final state and the related edit is final on timeline!
Subtitle Editor (SE) is installed.
If not, get it from here: https://www.nikse.dk/subtitleedit/

1. Open SE and import the script
2. Click 'file' -> 'export' -> 'Final Cut Pro + image...'
3. Set up the configuration according to your needs

IMPORTANT!
- the matching frame rate is very important for Edius on import
- you better check the option 'Use full image path url in FCP xml'
- You need to check the option 'full frame image'
- for small files, transparancy and fast rendering use 'png' graphics format

4. Hit button 'export all lines'
5. In Edius: 'file' -> 'import project' -> 'FCP XML...', navigate to the xml-file
6. Edius now creates a new sequence and imports the graphics according to the XML script
7. I recommend you to group all the files in the new subtitle track, maybe you additionally lock the track
8. Now place the sequence to the timeline into a new track, then sort the tracks to have the subtitle track on top.

That's it!

I hope this helps you to get subtitles of great quality using the font style you want.

Andreas

Last edited by Andreas_Gumm; 05-06-2019 at 12:11 AM.
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 11:24 AM   #2
frenshprince
Senior Member
 
frenshprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France
Posts: 228
Default

Wonterful tip.
Thanks Andreas :)
frenshprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 12:07 PM   #3
frenshprince
Senior Member
 
frenshprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France
Posts: 228
Default

I talk too quickly : it doesnt wort for me.
The issue seems to be the framerate.

I chose the good one in Subtitle Edit (23.976),
but Edius doesn't agree and see it as 24.00.
frenshprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 12:11 PM   #4
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Strange! I never used 23.976 fps footage since I'm working on 24 fps footage only.
Timecodes of 24 fps and 23.976 fps are same. Could you ZIP the xml file to your next post here? I would have look into that.
Maybe a proper specifier is missed?

best Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 12:14 PM   #5
frenshprince
Senior Member
 
frenshprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France
Posts: 228
Default

Of course.

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: zip XML.zip (105.3 KB, 3 views)
frenshprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 12:47 PM   #6
frenshprince
Senior Member
 
frenshprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: France
Posts: 228
Default

O, I got it.

Usually, To get a proper 23.976 import with a FCP xml file, you should have this at the begin of the document :

<rate>
<ntsc>TRUE</ntsc>
<timebase>24</timebase>
</rate>

But in Edius it doesn't work because to import a 23.976 XML, you must have this at every line, not only at the begin.

So, to make it work, you need to open the xml in Notepad + and replace multiple lines :
This
Quote:
<timebase>24</timebase>
By that
Quote:
<ntsc>TRUE</ntsc>
<timebase>24</timebase>
Now, it works.

Last edited by frenshprince; 08-05-2019 at 12:53 PM.
frenshprince is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 12:53 PM   #7
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Thank you very much! This information is valuable.
I will contact the developer of Subtile Edit, he is very responsive and fast on applying fixes and adding changes. Feature requests are also very welcome.


best regards
Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 09:43 PM   #8
jsyrjanen
Senior Member
 
jsyrjanen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 107
Default

This is super cool! Thanks for the how-to.

You wouldn't happen to know how to import fonts into Subtitle Edit? I have to use a particular font for subs (Din OT), which Quicktitler (and other programs) sees just fine, but QT can't import an SRT, and typing hundreds of subs by hand is not practical. This could be a totally usable free alternative for paying for Vistitle, if I can figure out how to add the necessary fonts.

In any case, thanks so much again. Very useful indeed.
__________________
Desktop: Edius 8.50 WG/Win 7 Pro/HP Z620/Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz/16GB RAM/NVIDIA Quadro 4000/Storm 3G

Laptop: 8.50 WG/Win 10 Home/ASUS ROG G751/Intel i7-4710HQ @ 2.50GHz/16GB RAM/NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M
jsyrjanen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2019, 12:53 AM   #9
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsyrjanen View Post
This is super cool! Thanks for the how-to.

You wouldn't happen to know how to import fonts into Subtitle Edit? I have to use a particular font for subs (Din OT), which Quicktitler (and other programs) sees just fine, but QT can't import an SRT, and typing hundreds of subs by hand is not practical. This could be a totally usable free alternative for paying for Vistitle, if I can figure out how to add the necessary fonts.

In any case, thanks so much again. Very useful indeed.
Nice to know that other users find my small tutorial very helpful.
Not sure about incompatible fonts in Subtitle Edit, I'm using just three standard fonts and VisTitle primarly for subtitle rendering in Edius.
To use specific fonts in Subtitle Edit you could try to convert the desired fonts to OTF or TTF font format before installing it to your workstation.
There are some freue online services for font conversion.

best regards
Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
importing external subtitle EDVS2016 EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 5 09-24-2016 05:49 PM
VisTitle: subtitle render error! Andreas_Gumm EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 11 11-26-2014 06:15 PM
importing subtitle files in Vistitle janstap EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 2 01-27-2011 05:10 PM
Importing subtitles Rambler Editing with EDIUS 3 10-01-2008 02:42 AM
Subtitle workflow Nobby Tucker Editing with EDIUS 2 05-27-2008 05:51 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.