Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2008, 02:36 AM   #1
triciclo
Member
 
triciclo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 83
Default Which external drive for HD work?

Looking to know what is recommended to do HD work using an external (swapable) drive for video capture/playback:

firewire 400

firewire 800

SerialATA

SAS
triciclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 06:52 AM   #2
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

eSATA...it's much cheaper to configure them than FW800.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 03:58 PM   #3
triciclo
Member
 
triciclo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 83
Default

I was thinking about an iMac 2.8 extreme to test the HD waters, but it only offers firewire 400/800, so I want to make sure I don't corner myself with that choice.
triciclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 04:26 PM   #4
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

And what software are you proposing to use on your iMac? Certainly not EDIUS, right?

Actually, there is nothing to configure for FW400/FW800 ... you just plug it in and that's it.

I have seen Western Digital sells an external HD that comes with USB 2.0, FW 800 and eSATA all in one casing. Grab that fellow - and you can test till your heart contented.
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2008, 09:35 PM   #5
triciclo
Member
 
triciclo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 83
Default

I believe iMac 2.8 extreme with Bootcamp/WindowsXP Pro could run Edius Broadcast (software), I am just doing a dry run to see how I would use it with XDCAM files.

# 24'' glossy widescreen display
# 1920x1200 resolution
# 2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Extreme
# 4MB shared L2 cache
# 2GB DDR2 SDRAM
# 500GB SATA 7200rpm hard drive
# 8x slot-loading SuperDrive (DVD+R DL/DVDRW/CD-ROM)
# ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro with 256MB GDDR3 memory

Upon a trip to an Apple store, did a 5 second HD project from a Motion template, in 1440X1080 30i XDCAM, the export time on a MacPro 2.4 was 12 minutes at about 60% when I quit. Those were some of the longest 12 minutes of my life, but did I have a few thoughts meanwhile!
Does anyother HD editing/compositing package even compare to Edius using the HQ proprietary codec?

Last edited by triciclo; 01-13-2008 at 03:41 AM.
triciclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 08:18 AM   #6
tingsern
Senior Member
 
tingsern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,965
Default

If you use EDIUS Broadcast 4.54, you don't even need to "import". Canopus / GV - please correct me ... if EDIUS Broadcast does it the way it treats Panasonic P2 data, you can import your XDCAM data into BIN in native mode (ZERO conversion upon import).
__________________
TingSern
--------------------------------------
Edius 9.4 Pro, Lenovo P72 workstation laptop, 64GB RAM, Xeon CPU, Windows 10 Pro (64 bits), 2 x 2TB Samsung M2.NVME and 1 x 4TB Samsung SSD internal. Panasonic UX180 camera, Blackmagic 4K Pocket Cinema, Blackmagic Pocket Cinema
tingsern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 10:29 AM   #7
STORMDAVE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 2,812
Default

Yep, EDIUS works natively with XDCAM and P2 footage, unlike other NLE's who need to convert the file before editing.
STORMDAVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 12:23 PM   #8
The Dane
Member
 
The Dane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 31
Default

My daily work is editing XDCAM and XDCAM HD footage.
Use FAM to import the clips to your drive, and they can go straight to the timeline.
EDIUS cope quit well in realtime, with the native MXF files.

About the drives, have considered a gigabit network and a drive with swappable hard drives?
The Dane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 03:05 PM   #9
triciclo
Member
 
triciclo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa
Posts: 83
Default

Hi Dane,
could you tell me what FAM stands for?
How fast does your computer ingest the XDCAM footage (tape or SxS?): less than RT / RT / over RT.

I was thinking about swapable trays, which is what I use for DV25 and find of great efficiency for my line of work, but because of HD I was wondering how high up in speed do I have to go, and also because I need to edit on the road I would like to carry a portable external drive.

It looks like eSata can handle XDCAM, and that a high end intel computer is the way to go. It doesn't look very portable but it sounds like the way for now.
Maybe the new breed of laptops with dual drives will do, time will tell.
triciclo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2008, 06:31 PM   #10
The Dane
Member
 
The Dane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 31
Default

My XDCAM is the full size blue-ray disk version PDW F330.
I dont know if the new EX acts as the blue-ray version. I suspect it will, as it also is a file based camera.

FAM stands for file access mode. When the camera is in this mode the blue-ray disk acts as a drive. You can select any clip and move it around just as you can between two hard drives.
You can pre edit the low resolution proxies and only ingest the parts of the clip you need, or you can select the clips for edit, and move them to your hard drive.

My ingest time is limited of the speed the camera can read the disk and put the data out trough firewire.
Usually it means 1.5 to 2.5 real time, depending on the bitrate of the clips.

In my experience, two years, with HD/HDV a SATA2 disk can do a decent job, depending on the type of job you do a raid of two or more disks are needed. Mostly the limit lays in the computers ability to process the data. No need for a twelve lane freeway if there is a tractor track at the end!

Have you thought about backup? When the SxS card is emptied onto the disk, your takes is gone if the disk breaks downA raid 10 or 5 will give you some protection.
The Dane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture to External Hard Drive Robert Chandler Editing with EDIUS 3 09-09-2008 07:34 PM
External Drive BillBarrett Editing with EDIUS 3 03-20-2008 06:27 PM
External Hard Drive With Edius questions Deane Johnson Editing with EDIUS 22 11-20-2007 12:35 PM
Capturing HQ to an external drive Mark Von Lanken Editing with EDIUS 20 07-25-2007 10:48 AM
Update on Capturing HQ to External USB Drive Mark Von Lanken Editing with EDIUS 7 07-12-2007 06:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.