Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2011, 03:14 AM   #11
mike0130
Senior Member
 
mike0130's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 559
Default

I hope you are realise that the laptop performance with X processor is far away from a desktop performance with same X processor. This is because of size, heat issues etc, I have a i7 laptop, but I hardly can compare it with i3 desktop and this is a normal way laptop work. So I don't think you have to expect something extraordinary from laptops...
__________________
Asus P8P67, Intel i7 2600K working at 4.50 Ghz, 16Gb Kingston RAM, Windows 7 64bit, 500Gb system drive, 320Gb Data drive and 1TB RAID-0 for AV, Edius NX Express, EVGA nVidia GTX 570 2.5CB DDR5, 750w ALTEC power and some creativity...
mike0130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 03:37 AM   #12
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
However because we were using the on-board graphics performance dropped as soon as we added GPU effects or Vitascene or Vistitle effects (all of which use the grpahic card). It meant a huge slow down.
Hello David, thank you for these insights.

Can I ask in reference to this quote above. Do you mean that editing became much slower (I would understand) or do you mean that the H264 encoding became slower if you had these GPU based effects on the timeline.?
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 06:42 AM   #13
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,300
Default

I have this laptop. http://www.compusa.com/applications/...324&CatId=2511
Its pretty fast but I dont notice any real difference between this computer and my bottom of the line i7 (920) I dont regret it though it rocks!
__________________
Randy

Asus sabertooth MB Z97 16 gigs of ram SSD system and edit drives Nvidia GTX-660 video card
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 10:39 AM   #14
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

"Can I ask in reference to this quote above. Do you mean that editing became much slower (I would understand) or do you mean that the H264 encoding became slower if you had these GPU based effects on the timeline.? "

I mean the encoding became slower. Editing when using a GPU effect was not as good because they had to render - the same as it would with any low spec graphic card compared to a high-spec one (I mean comparing the on board graphics to an nVidia 450 or 470). Non GPU effects were not effected.

When encoding it slowed down the encoding a lot because the built-in graphics is part of the processor and if it is processing effects it does not devote as much processing time to encoding. Ideally we have a Z board and the GPU effects are done by an nVidia or ATI card, and the encoding by the on-board chip. At the moment we have have a board and started testing but have not got it working yet with 6.02.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 01:15 PM   #15
Konstantinos
Member
 
Konstantinos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Clarke View Post
So on a non-Z series board the H264 encoding side of the Sandybridge was not really usable. However EDIUS still worked better than on a standard i7-system.

The Z-series boards should let us access the Sandybridge H264 encoding as well as have a proper graphic card. We have the first one coming in the next couple of days and I an dying to give it a spin. When I know more I will post here.

Put a "proper" graphic card in the system and the H264 acceleration did not work.
Can you please advice some Z-series motherboards?

This on-board/non on-board choice you make on x67 chipset motherboard righ now, is really annoying..!

Thanks
Konstantinos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 11:22 AM   #16
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,713
Default

We are still testing. The type of processor also seems very important. It seems you need one with a 3000 series Intel card built-in not a 2000 series for the plug-in to work. We have two different test processors, a 2600 and 2600K only the K works!
Also it also looks like you have to have a monitor plugged into the on-board graphic card as well as one into the nVidia/ATI card or it does not work.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 12:26 PM   #17
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,300
Default

It definatly sounds like this technology needs some work.
__________________
Randy

Asus sabertooth MB Z97 16 gigs of ram SSD system and edit drives Nvidia GTX-660 video card
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:52 PM   #18
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,902
Default

Not sure whether any of you guys look at this site very often. Lots of computer stuff.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...hing,2888.html

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:22 AM   #19
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,232
Default

I heard some good things from a friend who's now running EDIUS 6 with an Asus P8Z68-V Pro board and a 2600K Intel. He's doing some additional testing and comparisons, and said he would update ASAP. I'll relay all this when I hear something.
Keep the fires burning....
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 10:47 AM   #20
Marc44
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: France - Nantes
Posts: 655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJL14 View Post
I heard some good things from a friend who's now running EDIUS 6 with an Asus P8Z68-V Pro board and a 2600K Intel. ...
Can you ask him :
- is it necessary to plug a monitor to the onboard CG (Intel 3000) ?
- how to swap between onboard CG and specific CG ? (perharps it's automatic).

Marc
__________________
System : W7 Ultimate - MB: Asus Z170 - I7 6700K - Ram 16 Go - SSD1 256 Go (OS/log) - SSD2 1To (rushes) - HDD 4To (save) - Nvidia Asus GTX970 - HDspark - Edius WG 9 - Vistitle 2.6 - Robuskey - Mercalli4 - Neat video - Ignite - Hitfilm4Pro - AV : Eset Nod32 - Others : Moniteur Sony 32-EX500 - Cam : Sony EX1-R - 2 x Sony PXW-X70 - 1 x Pana GH5
Edius in France
Marc44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After Effects Bridge - How to use in Edius 6.01 X-trem production EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 14 02-10-2011 04:31 PM
i72600k Sandy Bridge: is it necessary to add a videocard? Ulisse EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 18 01-21-2011 08:04 PM
EDIUS 6 AE bridge dragN Editing with EDIUS 1 12-06-2010 04:43 AM
AE bridge and Edius 6 dvpro Editing with EDIUS 2 09-16-2010 02:02 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.