Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2010, 04:11 PM   #1
nexusAV
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8
Default New Edius Constant Crash

I have installed the new edius with all the updates supplied by the people i bought it from and it constantly crashes.
Its also a new pc too so i cant understand why.
Its running win7 32bit
4 gig ram
i5 quad

I had no issues at all on my old dual core pc and sadly it was way way faster than this using edius.

Last edited by nexusAV; 09-09-2010 at 04:22 PM.
nexusAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 04:31 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Lots of things can cause crashes when the system is stressed. Insufficient cooling, bad hard drive, bad RAM, insufficient or poor power supply are the common ones.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 04:36 PM   #3
nexusAV
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8
Default

I understand.
For this machine. Its new and has been installed with extra cooling.
The RAM is new and higher grade.
New CPU
New hard drives , but... I am swapping over my old files to my newer drive and see if the older drive, which never had an issue before, might be the cause.

than everything would be brand new.

Power supply is 800watt and not generic.

hopefully this can be fixed.

thank u
nexusAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 05:14 PM   #4
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,874
Default

What specifically is the system? E.g., make, model?
What other applications are running on the system?
What is running with Edius?
What is conencted to the machine?
What is the nature of the crash?
Which version of Edius?
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 07:58 PM   #5
Spready
Senior Member
 
Spready's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chester UK
Posts: 139
Default Is it Edius?

Hi there,
Are you sure it is the GV Hardware / Software?

The reason I ask is that we have just had 2 reasonable systems built and put in a few cards of different types etc for differing purposes.
Both are suffering from intermittent freeze ups.

Doing a bit of research suggests it 'may' be a win7 issue.

The first solution is to create a custom power scheme and set this all to high / power use with nothing set to go into standby / hibernation etc.
The next is a hotfix that was released on 12th August but you have to e-mail microsoft for it as it is not yet fully tested.
http://www.pcworld.com/article/20497...html?tk=hp_new

I am about to install this to see if it helps.

Best of luck
David
Spready is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 08:37 PM   #6
rando
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 2,300
Default

Before you dig too deep into the hardware can you try and record what your doing when it crashes. I have had corrupt files before that would crash when I put them on the timeline or tried to scrub.
__________________
Randy

Asus sabertooth MB Z97 16 gigs of ram SSD system and edit drives Nvidia GTX-660 video card
rando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 01:52 PM   #7
nexusAV
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8
Default

I had some time to do a test. Thank you for the help and ideas.

I have put my other 2 hard drives from my previous edit machine into this new one.. SO i decided to save all my files to the new media drive on this new pc and just use everything that was new ( 1T system drive and 2T AV Drive ).

Not one crash and the speed is quick. So there you go. A hard drive seems to be the issue.

For safety i will just purchase another 2T hard drive and donate the old hard drive to the nearest bin.

One q tho. Is 64bit W7 better to run and improve anything from 32bit windows?
nexusAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 01:57 PM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,925
Default

you are risking things using 2TB drive for video

get a 1TB 24/7 enterprise drive from WD or Seagate, they cost more

you can connect several as raid
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 07:37 PM   #9
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

I do like 64 bit better than 32 bit. Not a big deal for Edius but everything else seems to run better.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Constant Crashing with Edius 4.61 RonnieMartin Editing with EDIUS 16 08-07-2009 03:06 AM
Constant Bit rate unconstant ? Austin ProCoder 4 02-09-2009 08:17 PM
edius crash zagy Editing with EDIUS 5 06-12-2008 03:00 PM
Edius Crash Bandman Editing with EDIUS 11 11-18-2007 07:33 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.