Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2019, 12:53 PM   #1
nictau
Senior Member
 
nictau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 166
Default Edius 9.5 - File Export Error

Hi,

does anyone else have problems with H.264 and H.265 export? I get the following error message immediately after hitting the start button:

See image attached.

Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: png Edius Export error.png (34.7 KB, 37 views)
__________________
Nicola
defacto|TV
www.defacto.media
__________________

Win10 SSD || Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6820HQ || Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 / NVIDIA Quadro M2000M || 64 GB RAM || Edius 9 WG
nictau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 01:45 PM   #2
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,910
Default

Are you over writing a previous export with the same name
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 02:07 PM   #3
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 490
Default

Quote:
Are you over writing a previous export with the same name
I regularly overwrite previous exports and EDIUS asks me if I really want to do this. I say yes and EDIUS does the export and overwrites without problem.

However, if a previous export of the same name is open in other software, like VLC media player, it might throw up a nasty error message. I have not tested it though.

I have successfully exported all kinds of formats from WG 9.50, inc H.264. No issues at all.

Nicola, do you have sufficient disk space available to export to the drive you have selected?
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS Workgroup 9.50.5351 Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence 1 Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel 6-core i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, LG BH10LS38 Blu-Ray writer, Storage: 16TB WD RED RAID0. EDIUS Workgroup 9.50.5351 Field Laptop > Acer Travelmate P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 03:50 PM   #4
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nictau View Post
Hi,

does anyone else have problems with H.264 and H.265 export? I get the following error message immediately after hitting the start button:

See image attached.

Thanks.
Hi Nicola,

I know about these errors. Edius often locks deletion or overwriting on files created itself before. My impression is that some processes in background do not release the locked files even when the files are not in use on timeline. Suspicious tasks for me are processes who generates waveforms and the QuickTime bridge helper tool. Maybe there are some other processes which I can't sort out from my perspective.
I usually restart the NLE to release or deleted the files If locked. It's really annoying!
GV should sort this out by reviewing processes who are locking files.
It should be always possible to overwrite files who are not on timeline.
Waveform generation should stop at the time of starting overwriting.

Andreas

Last edited by Andreas_Gumm; 09-15-2019 at 04:34 PM.
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 04:11 PM   #5
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 490
Default

Quote:
I know about these errors. Edius often locks deletion or overwriting on files created itself before.
Andreas, that is strange. I have been exporting regularly since I first bought EDIUS 11 years ago. Since then I have been working on many EDIUS versions and four different computers. I never experienced this error message. Interesting that both you and Nicola are in Germany. Are there any differences in the German version? Has anybody in any other country experienced this error message? It would be good to know.
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS Workgroup 9.50.5351 Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence 1 Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel 6-core i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, LG BH10LS38 Blu-Ray writer, Storage: 16TB WD RED RAID0. EDIUS Workgroup 9.50.5351 Field Laptop > Acer Travelmate P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 04:15 PM   #6
nictau
Senior Member
 
nictau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 166
Default

Thanks guys for responding. Sometimes it is the little detail that is overseen.
So one little clip on the timeline was blocked by another process.

I appreciate that this forum responds even on small matters!

Thanks again. Problem solved.
__________________
Nicola
defacto|TV
www.defacto.media
__________________

Win10 SSD || Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6820HQ || Intel(R) HD Graphics 530 / NVIDIA Quadro M2000M || 64 GB RAM || Edius 9 WG
nictau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 04:47 PM   #7
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spurfilm View Post
Andreas, that is strange. I have been exporting regularly since I first bought EDIUS 11 years ago. Since then I have been working on many EDIUS versions and four different computers. I never experienced this error message. Interesting that both you and Nicola are in Germany. Are there any differences in the German version? Has anybody in any other country experienced this error message? It would be good to know.
Don't think so. And as Nicola told us, a clip was blocked by timeline usage.
Nevertheless my problems are happen sometimes. As I don't have the time to spend much time I didn't investigate more deeper into it.
The problem pops up when I export a huge file and realize that I've set a wrong parameter. To correct this I stop the export, the waveform creation runs (growing ezb file), a new export to overwrite can't be started.
I can't describe the situation on the QuickTime exports since I restart the NLE and it works then for me.
Anyway, these things happens here and I think it's specific to the file format and the waveform render process.

Andreas
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 01:30 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,921
Default

yes, there are known issues overwriting MOV files

example: print to file to Anton.mov and then change in and out and print to file Anton.mov you will get overwrite warning, followed by overwrite declined

it has been like that for almost 20 years
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 02:07 AM   #9
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
yes, there are known issues overwriting MOV files

example: print to file to Anton.mov and then change in and out and print to file Anton.mov you will get overwrite warning, followed by overwrite declined

it has been like that for almost 20 years
Which makes prefect sense. An overwrite involves a delete of the original file. If it is deleted, how can you then reference it via the In and Out points for the "new" file?
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 02:14 AM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_PS View Post
Which makes prefect sense. An overwrite involves a delete of the original file. If it is deleted, how can you then reference it via the In and Out points for the "new" file?
you are not following :)

if I export a section between in and out to mov and then realize that my out was set wrong, I correct the out and print to mov with the same name to overwrite, EDIUS fails to overwrite

if I do the same with AVI or MPEG etc, all is well

only MOV prevents overwrite
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
work flow to export a 4K file from edius, to a Mpeg2 file Pete Editing with EDIUS 4 05-08-2018 07:11 AM
Error the DNxHD file open in Edius 8.52 ryek Editing with EDIUS 4 07-31-2017 10:43 AM
Edius 8.1 FWG Error Export WAV-File bindi Editing with EDIUS 33 01-16-2016 04:41 AM
Error Converting Edius 6 Avi to Flash File matlock ProCoder 0 08-30-2011 03:09 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.