Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2017, 12:46 PM   #1
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 783
Default Release preview device when not in focus?

Is there any way for Edius to release it's hold on the hardware preview device when not in focus? If this were possible I could run Edius and Resolve simultaneously both with live preview. My BM Intensity Pro 4K would just pick up the video for which ever program is in the foreground.

Resolve already allows for this in it's Preferences > System > Video and Audio I/O > "Release video I/O hardware when not in focus".

I believe Premiere also has such an option.
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 02:29 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,554
Default

I decided as long time ago that I wanted immediate access with output on different programs.
I have a card for Edius and a card for AE/Premiere. Just by minimizing one of the programs and expanding the other, this automatically switches the card focus.

This is not what you asked, but may be your best option.
Both programs are running and will require 32gb of ram(or more)to function smoothly.

This will work on a single output monitor, but works best with a monitor connected to each output card.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 05:45 PM   #3
Claire
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 783
Default

Jerry thanks for the response, I already have a BM Mini Monitor card installed in addition to the IP4K but unfortunately it doesn't handle 50p from my GH5 camera.

I use both cards at once with 24/25p footage, running the pair of HDMI cables to my single HDTV, toggling between it's HDMI inputs as I go from one program to the other.

I just thought.. there is a new Mini Monitor that does 50p except it needs a 4 lane slot. I do have another 16x slot vacant, PCIE_4 but unfortunately it's shared with PCIE-1, the main graphics slot for my GTX 980 Ti.

The GA-X99-UD4 manual says using PCIE_4 slot causes PCIE-1 slot to only operate at up to 8x mode. Do you have any thoughts on what this means in practice? Thanks.
__________________
Claire

Edius 8.53 Workgroup, DVC Built i7 5960X 8 core Haswell-E Unlocked, Win10 Pro 64 bit, Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4, 32GB DDR4 RAM, GTX 980 Ti 6GB, Decklink 4K Extreme 12G, TMPGEnc Movie Plug-in AVC, Eizo 31" ColorEdge CG319X HDR 4K monitor
Claire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 08:56 PM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,554
Default

Even if you had a card that did 4K@50p/60p installed in Edius 8, it would not work.

If you share the slot, yes it will shunt both slots to 8x. Will you notice it in Edius? I seriously doubt it.
You might, however, see some difference in Resolve. The faster your CPU the better off you will be in this situation.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 09-06-2017 at 12:41 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help :different computers,Preview, Device does not support current format. AlaeddinStudio Editing with EDIUS 3 06-13-2015 04:23 PM
AVCHD & Preview Device? Slartibart Editing with EDIUS 2 07-25-2011 09:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.