Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2019, 10:15 PM   #1
DMS Video
Senior Member
 
DMS Video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 489
Default Edius 7.42.20 won't recognize Mavic 2 Drone Files

Still using an older version of Edius unfortunately. I shot some footage with a DJI Mavic 2 Pro Drone. Under clips properties it shows Stream Type: QuickTime Video (hvc1). I can import all the clips into Edius but there's nothing there other than a representation of the clips. This is in my pc laptop. On my MacBook Pro I have Adobe Premier (no idea how to use it) but it plays perfectly. When I highlight the clip (on my desktop) it shows an HEVC codec 3840 x 2160. I can pretty much get this clip to play anywhere other than the place I need it to play (in Edius). Any thoughts on how to mange this?
__________________
David
DMS Films, New York


Laptop - Edius 7.42 / Intel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition Desktop / 3.6GHz/4.0GHZ / 32GB Hyper-X Quad Channel 1600MHz Ram / Nvidia GeForce GTX-880 w/ 8GB of GDDR5 Video Memory / (3) 1TB SATA-3 V-NAND SSD / Windows 8.1 64-bit
Desktop - Edius 5.5 / Intel i7 975 Quad Core 3.33GHz / 12GB DDR3 1333MHz / Nvidia GeForce GTX-275 / Vis Title 1.1 / FireCoder-Blu / (2) 27" LCDs / JVC DT-V24L1U (24" 1080p) / Windows Vista 64 - www.EditHD.com
DMS Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 11:00 PM   #2
Harro
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Geelong, Victoria/Australia
Posts: 759
Default

Try Resolve (free) to import then export the file as something that Edius 7 can see. I have no problems seeing my Mavic 2 Pro video in Edius WG v8.
__________________
i7 3930K, Win 10 pro 64 Bit.
RAM 32 GB.
ASUS P9X79-Deluxe.
PS Thermaltake 1kW.
Graphics Gigabyte GT680 OC.
OS:Intel 535 SSD 480 GB, Data: two 2TB WD Cavier Black, RAID 0.
Cameras: Sony EX1, AX100, x1000v, A7R2, DJI Mavic 2 Pro
SW: Edius v8.53 WG, Vegas 17 Pro, CS6, Resolve Studio 15, Hitfilm 2017, Sound Forge 13, SpectraLayers Pro v2.1, Neat Video v5, Vistitle 2.8.5 TMPEnc VMWorks 7, Auth. Works 6, MochaPro v4.1, PluralEyes 2.1.0, Robuskey, DVD Architect 7, 3D LUT Creator.
Harro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 11:24 PM   #3
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 383
Default

edius 7 can not load h.265 files ...only h.264
only option is to convert the file to h.264 or a file Edius 7 can read.
other option is to change the recording codec on the mavic to mp4 h.264 or mov.

I have the mavic pro 2 and I have no issues reading the files from the mavic 2... as long as I have set up to use the h.264 codec.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 12:20 AM   #4
DMS Video
Senior Member
 
DMS Video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 489
Default

Thanks Ulyssesvideo and Harro.

It makes sense Edius 7 can't read h.265. I don't have Resolve although I do have Premier (never used it before). Maybe I can find an online tutorial to figure out to transcode using Premier. Cheers
__________________
David
DMS Films, New York


Laptop - Edius 7.42 / Intel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition Desktop / 3.6GHz/4.0GHZ / 32GB Hyper-X Quad Channel 1600MHz Ram / Nvidia GeForce GTX-880 w/ 8GB of GDDR5 Video Memory / (3) 1TB SATA-3 V-NAND SSD / Windows 8.1 64-bit
Desktop - Edius 5.5 / Intel i7 975 Quad Core 3.33GHz / 12GB DDR3 1333MHz / Nvidia GeForce GTX-275 / Vis Title 1.1 / FireCoder-Blu / (2) 27" LCDs / JVC DT-V24L1U (24" 1080p) / Windows Vista 64 - www.EditHD.com
DMS Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 12:44 AM   #5
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMS Video View Post
Thanks Ulyssesvideo and Harro.

It makes sense Edius 7 can't read h.265. I don't have Resolve although I do have Premier (never used it before). Maybe I can find an online tutorial to figure out to transcode using Premier. Cheers
try handbrake hybrid video converter.. both free and I think it will convert h.265 to h.264.
only issue using handbrake is that if you have h.265 files 10bit 4:2:2, it will be converted to 10bit 4:2:0.
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 01:28 AM   #6
DMS Video
Senior Member
 
DMS Video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 489
Default

I was able to transcode the files using Premier Pro CC 2019. Watched a couple of tutorials and it's fairly simple. I'm experimenting with several including Pro Res 422HQ, Pro Res 422LT, and Pro Res 422.

The (first) original file is 465mb.
422HQ = 3.97GB
422 = 2.62GB
422LT = 1.76GB

It's creating some monster size files. I'm going to do some grading and then export to 1080. Any suggestions on a good codec for editing that isn't very large?
__________________
David
DMS Films, New York


Laptop - Edius 7.42 / Intel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition Desktop / 3.6GHz/4.0GHZ / 32GB Hyper-X Quad Channel 1600MHz Ram / Nvidia GeForce GTX-880 w/ 8GB of GDDR5 Video Memory / (3) 1TB SATA-3 V-NAND SSD / Windows 8.1 64-bit
Desktop - Edius 5.5 / Intel i7 975 Quad Core 3.33GHz / 12GB DDR3 1333MHz / Nvidia GeForce GTX-275 / Vis Title 1.1 / FireCoder-Blu / (2) 27" LCDs / JVC DT-V24L1U (24" 1080p) / Windows Vista 64 - www.EditHD.com
DMS Video is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 09:43 AM   #7
SoundFreak_HD
Senior Member
 
SoundFreak_HD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,391
Talking

Less compressed intermediate are easier on your system while maintaining high quality.
With HDD space at very affordable prices it shouldn't be a problem budget wise to add a large drive and archiving is not effected as source is small.

Keep in mind that smaller intermediate files will be, of course smaller, but more than likely take more time to produce and also can result in less real-time system performance...

Personally I use a 4TB SSD in my laptop and a 2nd unit is planned before year end.
I love the larger files, so I can keep on stacking on the time line :)
__________________
Tony D.

EDIUS WG 9.51 / MATROX MXO2 LE / WIN10 Pro WS / LENOVO P71 Workstation laptop / XEON E3-1535M v6 / nVidia QUADRO P3000 6GB / Toshiba M.2 NVMe 512GB / Samsung 860 EVO 4TB / 32GB ECC RAM.

EDIUS WG 8.53
/ HDRX-E1 + HDBX-1000 H / WIN10 Pro / DUAL XEON X5470 / SUPERMICRO X7DWA-N / SUPERMICRO SUPERCHASIS SC745TQ-920B / INTEL 520 SSD 240GB / WD CAVIAR BLACK 4TB (many) / 32GB ECC RAM / GTX 770 4GB / 2x MOTU 896HD.


wavearts / neatvideo / tmpgenc / hitfilm / imaginate
SoundFreak_HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 01:02 PM   #8
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,952
Default

Just convert to HQ or HQX. I think just about all the other NLE's or encoders will convert to HQ or HQX if they are used on the same PC as your EDIUS. Certainly on my PC's the render/convert is there for TMPGenc ( all series ), Vegas( all versions ), and Resolve( all version I have). The versions of course will have to have the capability to decode h265 so that may also be a limitation for your PC.
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 17, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 01:32 PM   #9
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMS Video View Post
I was able to transcode the files using Premier Pro CC 2019. Watched a couple of tutorials and it's fairly simple. I'm experimenting with several including Pro Res 422HQ, Pro Res 422LT, and Pro Res 422.

The (first) original file is 465mb.
422HQ = 3.97GB
422 = 2.62GB
422LT = 1.76GB

It's creating some monster size files. I'm going to do some grading and then export to 1080. Any suggestions on a good codec for editing that isn't very large?
Codecs like Prores, DNxHD and HQ/HQX, which is the native codec for edius and the one that will perform the best by far, are designed for editing and mastering, employing less complicated compression that is easier to edit at the expense of the file size and drive speed requirements.

The codec used by you drone (h264 or h264) are not designed for editing and employ a long GOP structure, which makes files small, but more difficult for a computer to edit, and often can result in quicker quality degradation if there are effects applied to these clips, due to the nature of the compression.

My recommendations echo Ron and Tony. Storage is cheap, so get a drive or RAID big enough for you to work with and use HQ/HQX for optimum performance.
__________________
Edius WG 9.50.5351, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 02:52 PM   #10
spurfilm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 507
Default

I am regularly importing Mavic 2 Pro files into EDIUS WG9. They are recorded as 3840x2160 25p BT.709 HEVC/H.265 MOV. My computer does not have a Quick Sync processor, but they still run ok. But only in half preview resolution. However, once I start manipulating the images I find I need to transcode them to Grass Valley HQX. I do not have sufficient processing power for H.265 with Primary Color Correction and Video FX.
__________________
Rick
SPURFILM
EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Tower > Win10 Pro 64-bit on 512GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD, Nanoxia Deep Silence Case, Asus X99-S Mobo, Intel i7-5820K Haswell-E @ 3.30GHz O/C to 4GHz, 32GB Crucial DDR4 @ 2133MHz, NVIDIA GeForce 980 Ti 6GB + dual 1920x1080 monitors, BM Intensity Pro 4K + 3840x2160 monitor, LG Blu-Ray writer, Storage: 16TB WD RED RAID0. EDIUS WG 9.50.5351 Field Laptop > Acer P645-M, 14" 1920x1080, 256GB SSD, Win7 Pro 64-bit, Intel dual-core i7-4500U Haswell @ 1.8GHz, 8GB DDR3.
spurfilm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help - Avi files created by Edius won't play on same machine tryingtolearn Editing with EDIUS 9 05-24-2016 06:57 PM
Edius 7.4 won't recognize Phantom 3 footage shot in 4K? DMS Video Editing with EDIUS 10 12-22-2015 12:46 AM
Edius 6.53 won't recognize VST plugins from Izotope RX2 demo David Ice EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 5 04-04-2013 12:46 AM
Not recognize my files from P2 cards albitar Editing with EDIUS 2 12-24-2011 07:26 AM
5.1 won't recognize QT .mov files Alter Ego Editing with EDIUS 18 04-28-2010 12:35 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.