Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-15-2008, 09:32 PM   #1
CoriSCapnSkip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 15
Default Capturing Internet Audio with ADVC 110

1. Is what I want to do possible, and

2. How do I go about doing it?

I've found a sound file online which plays only through the Flash Player provided on the site or through Real Player. I can't buy the music by any method as no downloadable version is anywhere online and it's from an obscure foreign out-of-print CD.

I'm playing it through these speakers: http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,1979229,00.asp As you can see, they have AUX and earphone jacks.

My questions are, can I connect one or both of those jacks to the ADVC 110 with an AV cable and capture the sound? Will the sound remain digital, or does the unit only convert from digital to analog and vice versa? If I can capture it, can I convert it to MP3 and put it in iTunes? I also want to do the same thing with a midi file. And, how do I go about all the above? Thanks for any advice.
CoriSCapnSkip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 09:36 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

What you want to do should work if you can provide a line-level output to the ADVC 110's inputs, but it's convoluted at best.

Usually you can set your Windows sound hardware to use the Stereo Mix or WaveOut as a recording input.

I'm not going to comment on the legality.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 01:55 AM   #3
CoriSCapnSkip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 15
Default

I'm using a Mac which is connected to the ADVC unit for the purposes of putting data onto the computer. I was hoping it would be possible to take it off as well--but, I was sure it would have to come through the jacks one way or other, and of course, the instructions are rubbish which is why I am so glad of these forums.
CoriSCapnSkip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 02:09 AM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Ahh, you're on Mac. Kenneally (KH) would know more about that side. But yes, at worst case you can play the audio out and take the line output to the ADVC.

Probably you want to route the audio through the ADVC, so Mac output to ADVC input, ADVC output to speakers.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 06:31 AM   #5
CoriSCapnSkip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 15
Default

Having tried several methods, should I try this? http://www.e-soft.co.uk/
CoriSCapnSkip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2008, 09:55 PM   #6
CoriSCapnSkip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 15
Default

Have decided to use Audio Hijack Pro for the sound.
CoriSCapnSkip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 10:23 AM   #7
CoriSCapnSkip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 15
Default

On a similar topic, I wonder if I can play analog sound through the ADVC 110 into the Mac and save it as files on iTunes? I know when doing this in iMovie, the program has to recognize the Canopus so I wonder what setting to use to make iTunes recognize the Canopus as an input source?

If it gets too bad, I have to send the analog sources to a friend who has the equipment to make professional-quality CDs but of course this adds up fast and I might want to at least try it this way.
CoriSCapnSkip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 03:37 PM   #8
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

To my knowledge, iTunes does not support any form of external audio input - it's purely file-based. So you would need to capture with something else, into a format that iTunes can convert from. (e.g. WAV)
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 06:18 AM   #9
CoriSCapnSkip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks. I wonder what program that would be. On Apple Support Forums, someone had a similar query so I just posted a reply on theirs.
CoriSCapnSkip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2009, 03:36 PM   #10
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

iMovie? That's what I've used in the past...but that was with version 6 - newer versions look completely different.

I could try it again, except I have a new Macbook now, which does not have a FireWire port.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC 110 (61883 Class Bus Device) to FW problem tankaren ADVC 2 02-03-2009 12:03 PM
Audio hum when capturing with ADVC 110 harixxxx ADVC 6 12-03-2008 02:47 AM
Nominal audio level for ADVC 110??? PTWebMedia ADVC 6 10-25-2007 08:19 PM
ADVC 110 no audio JSD Prod ADVC 3 08-03-2007 11:48 PM
ADVC FAQ (updated 2007/05/04) GrassValley_KH ADVC 0 05-05-2007 12:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.