Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2015, 10:05 AM   #1
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,384
Default To put right a very underexposed clip?

Hi, I use Edoius 7. I have a precious but very underexposed clip. I need to put right it. Some years ago I used a trick. I created another clip on the same underexposed clip (2 clips of the same clip), then I added a filter on the second clip but I don't remember what filter and the process. I only remember I solved the underexposed problem. Do you remember this trick? Or do you know how can I solve my problem?
Thanks
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 10:31 AM   #2
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 991
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulisse View Post
Hi, I use Edoius 7. I have a precious but very underexposed clip. I need to put right it. Some years ago I used a trick. I created another clip on the same underexposed clip (2 clips of the same clip), then I added a filter on the second clip but I don't remember what filter and the process. I only remember I solved the underexposed problem. Do you remember this trick? Or do you know how can I solve my problem?
Thanks
Perhaps: Effect > Keyers > Blend > Screen onto the upper clip.
kurt
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.51 WG / Mercalli V2 and V4 Plugin (64bit) / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PhantomDrive / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 11:01 AM   #3
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpot View Post
Perhaps: Effect > Keyers > Blend > Screen onto the upper clip.
kurt
Hi, thanks for your help but I am not abled to find that filter. My Edius 7 is with another language. I attach the screening of Edius, can you tell me wich is the precise filter please?
Thanks again one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sottoesposizione.jpg (300.4 KB, 28 views)
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 11:44 AM   #4
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 991
Default

What language ?
Italy, Portugal, ...?

Hope that the attached Image could help (english GUI).
Kurt
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bild 006.jpg (113.2 KB, 22 views)
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.51 WG / Mercalli V2 and V4 Plugin (64bit) / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PhantomDrive / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand

Last edited by kpot; 10-04-2015 at 11:58 AM.
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 12:32 PM   #5
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpot View Post
What language ?
Italy, Portugal, ...?

Hope that the attached Image could help (english GUI).
Kurt
My Edius is in italian language. Your image was OK. Now I have just found that filter even if it doesn't have solved my problem but a little bit only.
Thanks again one.
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 02:49 PM   #6
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 991
Default

Can you attach an (single) image of the dark clip.
I would try if YUV-curves can solve your problem.
kurt
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.51 WG / Mercalli V2 and V4 Plugin (64bit) / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PhantomDrive / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 08:10 PM   #7
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpot View Post
Can you attach an (single) image of the dark clip.
I would try if YUV-curves can solve your problem.
kurt
This is the image of my original dark clip.
Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Padaung 2.jpg (96.2 KB, 42 views)
__________________
A lonesome traveler looking for lost tribes around the world: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoD...6FduohA/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 08:40 PM   #8
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,928
Default

Matt Scott http://mattscottvisuals.com/color/ has some good tutorials and you can follow how to create a mask of the high luminance area so that you can use the YUV filter to bring up the under exposed area. You can do this on a copy of the clip in a track above so that the combined will both show the corrected face as well as the high luminance background.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 11:39 PM   #9
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 991
Default

Hi Ulisse:
Your image is a challenge. I tried some procedures to enhance the person, the best at the time I have attached together with your original (when filming this person it would have been much better to focus the exposure onto the face of the women - and ignore the sky).
For I dont know if you find my result "better" than the original (there was some steps to get it) I show both images here; if you think that my result is practical for you to use it in your film then I will list the steps how to get it. OK?
Attached Images
File Type: png Dark-enhanced.png (159.4 KB, 43 views)
File Type: png Dark original.png (122.4 KB, 32 views)
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z170A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1809) / EDIUS-9.51 WG / Mercalli V2 and V4 Plugin (64bit) / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PhantomDrive / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 01:57 AM   #10
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,928
Default

This was done with luma key mask, copied to two tracks above with YUV and color boost. Very quick so could be improved with some work.

Ron Evans
Attached Images
File Type: png Ulisse image corrected v3.png (255.3 KB, 44 views)
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to put a marker on a clip not on time line Edius 6.5 vish1 Editing with EDIUS 15 03-15-2016 07:36 PM
EDIUS: Cannot put clip onto video track (only to title track) orpheus Editing with EDIUS 2 08-24-2010 06:56 PM
Underexposed Subject due to backlight! sync Editing with EDIUS 3 04-29-2010 07:27 AM
how do i put in clip markers NADP Editing with EDIUS 9 01-16-2010 02:31 PM
How to put 3 projects on the same timeline jpavjpav Editing with EDIUS 7 05-01-2009 02:57 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.