Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2014, 11:17 AM   #1
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 424
Default New Tutorial on Boris RED and EDIUS

Hello from a cold, wet Kumamoto, Japan
I have a new video tutorial posted on Boris TV, showing a very special function that EDIUS can perform, that gives it a big advantage over other PC 64-bit NLE's that want to use clips directly inside of Boris RED as "movie media".

http://www.borisfx.com/videos/RED/Qu...US-and-RED.php

Regards
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 03:51 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

I use Boris only when a specific effect is not available within Edius.
So, with due respect, I'm curious as to why you just didn't use Layouter to create your keyframed pip to full screen effect.
After the first keyframed effect was created all you would have had to do would be to save it as a preset. Once saved you could apply this preset to all the other clips at one time. Then all you would have to do is make positioning and timing adjustments to each clip and then play.

Since you are talking using Boris with Edius, why do you need to convert to HQ/HQX? I can apply Boris to any clip that Edius will use and it works just fine. The only limitation is that you can't export to .mov directly from Boris Red because the options have been removed. You are correct about converting, only if you are using the 64bit stand alone version and importing files directly into Boris.

You ended up doing 2 to 3 times more work than you really needed to do.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 12-08-2014 at 03:56 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 03:57 PM   #3
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,748
Default

I kind of wondered the same. Maybe if you have too much time on your hands you would create the pip in Boris.
Real time in EDIUS right form the timeline. Also if you would need the pip in Boris to apply a certain effect not available via EDIUS integration just export the pip with alpha.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 10:29 PM   #4
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 424
Default

Gentlemen,
Your question was to be expected.
Yes, the layouter can do exactly the same as I showed you except for one thing that I mentioned in the tutorial.

1. I do not like to stack lots of video tracks on my NLE's timeline if I can avoid it.

That leads to a second reason.

If you watch the PiPs closely, you will see that they overlap.
With the layouter, I could do the effect on a second track, if the PiPs did not overlap. But they do. So with the layouter I would have to stack the 19 tracks on top of each other on the EDIUS timeline.
Also adding the route tracing effect directly in RED, at the same time, is more efficient in my eyes.

Having said that, let me say that I moved to EDIUS because of the ease with which I can do things with e.g. the Layouter. EDIUS allows me to do a lot of powerful stuff directly and without rendering. I find that very convenient. But sometimes it can be worthwhile taking a look outside of the box and maybe discovering alternative workflows that can offer extra possibilities.

For me the concept of creating those HQ/HQX clips works. That doesn't mean to say that it does for you. Vive la difference!

Regards
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 11:11 PM   #5
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 424
Default

I should add a few more words of explanation about the Tutorial.

There are deeper, darker, reasons for me creating these EDIUS/RED tutorials I want to show Avid Media Composer users how they can take their skills in Avid FX (The Avid version of Boris RED) and continue using them in EDIUS.
I am sure that EDIUS users have nothing against getting a few more users coming over from the world of Avid.
At present there are quite a number of Avid users who are considering, or have already, migrated from MC to EDIUS.
One of the questions they ask is if they will be able to use certain 3rd party applications that they are presently using in MC with EDIUS.

In the case of this tutorial, Avid users who relied on Media Composer, QuickTime and Avid FX when they were 32 bit, were shocked when they found that they could no longer use QuickTime when MC and Avid FX (on the PC) went to 64-bit.
With the workflow that I describe in the tutorial they will see that EDIUS offers the perfect solution to their worries. Not only can they create the necessary avi files easily, they can also have a bridge between MC and EDIUS through RED's Library Browser.

In a nutshell, the tutorials I have been producing on RED/EDIUS are more directed to help persuade possible migrants from MC to EDIUS to make up their minds.
Regards
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 01:03 AM   #6
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,748
Default

So are you not preaching to the wrong crowd then?
Most here if not all use EDIUS not Avid.
Stacking can easily be done in a second sequence tab and then flattened as a sequence to use in another sequence tabs. That would be way, way faster and your sequence is always editable without the cumbersome workflow. No matter how I look at it what you show is not very efficient for any EDIUS user.
But if you like to work like that's great! :)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 12-09-2014 at 01:11 AM.
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 01:33 AM   #7
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
So are you not preaching to the wrong crowd then?
Most here if not all use EDIUS not Avid..............But if you like to work like that's great! :)
I am certainly not trying to preach to any established EDIUS users.
I hope to become one of them myself in the future.
I have only positive things to say about EDIUS, but surely that does not mean that the chance to explore different approaches to well established workflows has no place here.

At the moment I am straddled between two NLE's, trying to help others migrate across.
In the past couple of months there are at least 15 to 20 MC users who have migrated to EDIUS as a direct result of my own migration. This is not a figment of my imagination. I know it because of email contact I have with those migrants.
I am sure that the EDIUS community are happy to get the new arrivals.
Hopefully there will be more by the end of this year.

I hope you understand that I am trying to help, not hinder.
Regards
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 01:42 AM   #8
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

I just don't understand why you would spend the extra time to convert all of the files to HQ when you can use the files natively on an Edius timeline, apply layouter, adjust the positions, and then play your finished file.
Also, there really isn't a need to convert the files to HQ if you are using the Boris Red plugin within Edius. I don't understand why you need to convert.
That really has me confused.
If you are trying to get MC users to switch to Edius, I would promote the fact that you DON"T have to convert files before using Edius/Boris Red. Then add that using Edius to do the 17 clips using Layouter will not require a render.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 01:55 AM   #9
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 424
Default

Jerry, I understand exactly what you are getting at.

But from the point of view that many MC users have:
They have invested money and, moreover, brainpower in learning the make use of the full depth of Avid FX/Boris RED.
They, at the moment of making the decision to change or not, seriuosly wonder if all that time and effort is to be thrown away . . . . . even if, as you know and I know, that they will find many things in EDIUS that will make their editing life easier.

I believe that many EDIUS users are also using VisTitle and New Blue FX. For MC users that would be more investment and more learning curves....... Boris RED can do all of the things that those previously mentioned applications can do - in one application.
If I already can use that 1 application, I feel happier to know that I will be able to use it in EDIUS without new learning curves or further investment.

It is all a matter of what you/I are used to and how much we can make efficient use of those skills we already have.

Regards,
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 02:27 AM   #10
Drbgaijin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kumamoto, Japan
Posts: 424
Default

By the way,
I would like to make it clear that in coming to EDIUS I fully understand that I should not try and make EDIUS work in the same way that I used MC.
I learned that lesson many years ago when I moved from Pinnacle Liquid to Avid Media Composer, and I "preached" that message to the many others who followed me to MC.

The tutorial in question is about using Boris RED, an application common to both MC and EDIUS, it is not about imposing an MC function on EDIUS.

Regards
Douglas
__________________
Creator of Video Tutorials for mere mortals at https://www.gaijin-eyes.com

Main System: EDIUS WG 9, Asustek Intel Z370, i7-8700K @ 3.70GHz, 32GB RAM, GTX-1080Ti, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Windows 10 Pro
Drbgaijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When is Boris Red 5 available for Edius X-trem production EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 4 08-09-2011 09:08 PM
Edius 5.5 and Boris Red videojose Editing with EDIUS 3 05-05-2011 04:17 AM
Boris Red in Edius adamread Editing with EDIUS 3 03-21-2008 02:27 AM
Boris RED with Edius Mouayed Zabtia Editing with EDIUS 9 06-08-2007 11:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.