Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2009, 09:40 PM   #1
Scott Chapin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Powder Springs, GA, USA
Posts: 119
Default Help me open project

I cannot open a project on an external drive. It was set up on drive D. When I went to import a DVD, I see that my DVD is Drive D.

Now my project is on E, and when I navigate to the project name and click on it, the choose dialogue pops up, but when I choose it, it will not open. How do I fix this?

Never mind, I'm frustrated and it was just being tempermental.
__________________
Scott Chapin

Intel® Core™ 2 Quad Processor Q6700 at 2.66Ghz, Intel® Desktop Board DP35DP,
6GB DDR2/800 DIMMS, 1TB RAID-0 7,200 RPM,
GeForce 9600GT PCIe 1024MB
Scott Chapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 09:43 PM   #2
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Chapin View Post
I cannot open a project on an external drive. It was set up on drive D. When I went to import a DVD, I see that my DVD is Drive D.

Now my project is on E, and when I navigate to the project name and click on it, the choose dialogue pops up, but when I choose it, it will not open. How do I fix this?
Just change your drive letters.
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 10:46 PM   #3
Scott Chapin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Powder Springs, GA, USA
Posts: 119
Default

I thought I had tried that, but where? The info box cannot be edited.
__________________
Scott Chapin

Intel® Core™ 2 Quad Processor Q6700 at 2.66Ghz, Intel® Desktop Board DP35DP,
6GB DDR2/800 DIMMS, 1TB RAID-0 7,200 RPM,
GeForce 9600GT PCIe 1024MB
Scott Chapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 12:23 AM   #4
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

You need to change the drive letters in Windows Disc Management.
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:24 AM   #5
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,031
Default

hmmm, you should not need to change drive letters

I edit all my projects on Drive V

when done, I copy the whole project folder to Drive E for backup

I can open the project on Drive E and it works the same as on Drive V
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 02:11 AM   #6
Scott Chapin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Powder Springs, GA, USA
Posts: 119
Default

Is Drive V some sort of virtual drive? What if the next available drive on the other machine isn't E?
__________________
Scott Chapin

Intel® Core™ 2 Quad Processor Q6700 at 2.66Ghz, Intel® Desktop Board DP35DP,
6GB DDR2/800 DIMMS, 1TB RAID-0 7,200 RPM,
GeForce 9600GT PCIe 1024MB
Scott Chapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 02:15 AM   #7
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

As Anton has posted I don't get any problems moving projects around. Edius does its magic on opening.
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 02:40 AM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,031
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Chapin View Post
Is Drive V some sort of virtual drive? What if the next available drive on the other machine isn't E?
my V drive is internal Raid0

my E drive is a SATA caddie, when the disk is full, I pull it out and insert a new one, and it will always be called E

you can rename any drive in disk admin except C

if for example you want to name a certain drive to D, but the name is already taken by the CD/DVD burner, do this:

right click D in disk admin and change drive letter, click remove drive letter, now the burnner has no drive letter

now change the drive letter to D to the desired drive

then go back to burner and apply any available drive letter
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 07:16 PM   #9
Scott Chapin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Powder Springs, GA, USA
Posts: 119
Default

OK, the V drive is a "video" drive duh, and you have cradles permanent installed on each machine.

I am a little bit in the Stone Age with a USB/Firewire drive and a laptop. On the laptop there is no second internal drive and I could not install a permanent caddy.
__________________
Scott Chapin

Intel® Core™ 2 Quad Processor Q6700 at 2.66Ghz, Intel® Desktop Board DP35DP,
6GB DDR2/800 DIMMS, 1TB RAID-0 7,200 RPM,
GeForce 9600GT PCIe 1024MB
Scott Chapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 01:58 AM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,031
Default

ahahhhh

I have read of problems opening projects on external USB drives after a drive ;letter changes

rename it to its original drive letter, this can be done in disk admin
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLEASE HELP! - Old Project won't open. PopEye Editing with EDIUS 17 06-17-2008 02:59 AM
Don't Check for Footage... Just Load the Project! Mike Truly ProCoder 6 02-14-2008 09:16 PM
HELP!-Changing Project Settings wount work..! hvx_germanboy Editing with EDIUS 13 08-25-2007 10:54 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.