Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2008, 06:24 PM   #1
GuyS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 172
Default How do you add a video track on top of another video track

I am an Avid Liquid convert to Edius. In Avid to have a video appear overtop of another video track you simply drag the track to above the one below. I can not seem to figure this out with Edius. Every time I try to do this the timeline will not allow the video to drop on my 2V track???
GuyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:33 PM   #2
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Either your track is locked (located on the far left side of the timeline track beside the track name), or you have some video tracks mapped. Rt click in an Audio track in the same timeline area where the track name is and at the bottom select Clear All tracks
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:35 PM   #3
SRsupport
Grass Cutter Gold
 
SRsupport's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South America
Posts: 3,353
Default

Are you using split audio .
Yes?
Check your settings :Deselect add clips to mapped tracks or deselect only mapped tracks are targeted first.

But I think that deselecting "add clips to mapped track will make you one happy editor.:)
__________________
Steve
EDIUS Trainer, Grass Cutter Gold
A proud EDIUS EDITOR
For more information on the Grass Cutter program please visit: http://www.grass-cutters.net
SRsupport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:49 PM   #4
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SRsupport View Post
Are you using split audio .
Yes?
Check your settings :Deselect add clips to mapped tracks or deselect only mapped tracks are targeted first.

But I think that deselecting "add clips to mapped track will make you one happy editor.:)
There are several defaults that I would like to see changed and the one you mentioned is one of them.

BTW the setting that Steve just mentioned is under Settings>Application Settings and is about a third of the way done on the first screen.
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 07:43 PM   #5
GuyS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 172
Default

I had the track locked! Thanks, now I can drag a clip from the bin to another video track on the timeline.

What is the best way to add a portion or subclip that is shown in the "Player" window...the one on the left?

Another problem I am having is importing a mov file. For some reason there is no audio?

Thanks guys this program is much faster.
GuyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 07:56 PM   #6
mattie
Senior Member
 
mattie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 991
Default

i like to use my mouse and drag clips
mattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 07:56 PM   #7
GuyS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 172
Default

Opps just discovered you just drag the in and out point clip from the player window.... to the timeline. Very cool and easy!
Still having audio import problems though.
GuyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 09:05 PM   #8
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyS View Post
I had the track locked! Thanks, now I can drag a clip from the bin to another video track on the timeline.

What is the best way to add a portion or subclip that is shown in the "Player" window...the one on the left?

Another problem I am having is importing a mov file. For some reason there is no audio?

Thanks guys this program is much faster.
Also there are 2 small icons right below the Player window...One is for Insert to Timeline and one is for Overwrite to Timeline.

What version of Edius do you have. At one point there was a problem with .mov and audio but I believe that was all fixed after 4.5
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 03:52 AM   #9
Philip
Senior Member
 
Philip's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 690
Default

You may want to check out some of Anton's tutorials online at this site.

http://www.videoproductions.com.au/h...equipment.html

Anton is one of the resident gurus around here. There isn't much he doesn't know how to do in Edius.

You may also want to pick up a copy of the Total Training DVD for Edius 4.5. I know we are up to V5 but the majority of the basic and advanced stuff covered on the DVD is the same in V5. Mike Downey did the DVDs and he also frequents here with answers.

Those two sources should get you up to speed pretty quick. You will love Edius once you learn it.
Philip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS 4.6 upgrade and Sorenson Squeeze 4.5 tingsern Editing with EDIUS 145 02-20-2009 03:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.