Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2017, 11:59 PM   #1
Captain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 217
Default Intel graphics AND additional GPU: how to connect?

As I am still about to plan my new system, I came across a question that I have never asked myself before, but plenty of you should, I guess.

Right now I plan to buy:
- an Intel CPU (i7-7700k or 8700k, but in any case taking advantage of QuickSync)
- an additional GPU (1080ti or similar) for a little game once in a while and, more important, for boosting the PCC and Hitfilm effects in Edius
- two or three monitors (starting with two, maybe upgrading to three a few months later).

Question is: where and how would I connect the monitors to take advantage of the Intel GPU (with QS) and the additional GPU? If I run Edius and want GPU-acceleration AND Intel QS, where would I plug in the monitors? What about standard windows applications/games then? Will I have to switch connection physically or via software each time I open/close Edius?

Never done this before, and I just don't want to waste my money, for it tends to be rare... ;-) Thanks in advance!
Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 12:40 AM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain View Post
As I am still about to plan my new system, I came across a question that I have never asked myself before, but plenty of you should, I guess.

Right now I plan to buy:
- an Intel CPU (i7-7700k or 8700k, but in any case taking advantage of QuickSync)
- an additional GPU (1080ti or similar) for a little game once in a while and, more important, for boosting the PCC and Hitfilm effects in Edius
- two or three monitors (starting with two, maybe upgrading to three a few months later).

Question is: where and how would I connect the monitors to take advantage of the Intel GPU (with QS) and the additional GPU? If I run Edius and want GPU-acceleration AND Intel QS, where would I plug in the monitors? What about standard windows applications/games then? Will I have to switch connection physically or via software each time I open/close Edius?

Never done this before, and I just don't want to waste my money, for it tends to be rare... ;-) Thanks in advance!
Connect one monitor to the intel GPU and one to the nVidia. If you add a third monitor, connect that to the second output of the nVidia. Essentially, the intel GPU needs a monitor connected in order to enable it for quicksync use.
__________________
Edius WG 9.20.3340 & 8.53.3262, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Seagate system HDD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 01:46 AM   #3
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,509
Default

It is even possible to use a single monitor with both a discrete GPU and QuickSync, provided the monitor has multiple inputs.

In order for QuickSync to be enabled, the integrated graphics just need to detect that the cable is plugged into a monitor -- the monitor doesn't have to be displaying the signal from the integrated graphics controller.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 08:19 AM   #4
Captain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THoff View Post
In order for QuickSync to be enabled, the integrated graphics just need to detect that the cable is plugged into a monitor -- the monitor doesn't have to be displaying the signal from the integrated graphics controller.
So, for connecting two monitors I would need three cables: two from the additional gpu to one monitor each, and the third cable from integrated GPU to one of the both monitors? Do I need to manually prevent that double-connected monitor from displaying the iGPU signal?
Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 11:50 AM   #5
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain View Post
So, for connecting two monitors I would need three cables: two from the additional gpu to one monitor each, and the third cable from integrated GPU to one of the both monitors? Do I need to manually prevent that double-connected monitor from displaying the iGPU signal?
No, you only need 2 cables, one from the intel gpu and one from the nvidia.

The trick THoff mentioned is in case you have one monitor and the 2 gpu's.

The problem with that trick though is that when you have a desktop enabled on the second monitor input that you can't see and if your desktop is extended across the two graphics cards/monitors, then you can have stuff pop up on the unseen desktop (2nd monitor input), but if you are cloning the desktop on both monitors, you are OK.

since you are going to run 2 monitors simply do this:

nVidia ==> Monitor 1
intel ==> Monitor 2

desktop extended across both monitors.

each of the GPU's drive 1 monitor apiece.
__________________
Edius WG 9.20.3340 & 8.53.3262, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4K, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Seagate system HDD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)

Last edited by BernH; 10-11-2017 at 10:37 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 12:17 PM   #6
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,300
Default

Also make sure the nVidia is the primary monitor in Windows. This was any GPU effects are still sped up by the nVidia, but the Intel is also connected as secondary to get Quick Sync working.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 3.7Ghz Coffee Lake processor, 32GB RAM, ATI 7800 GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 02:57 PM   #7
Captain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 217
Default

Thank you guys so far. Now I can calm down and do my thing.
Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing GPU transitions with Intel Quick sync enabled. murzik EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 44 08-24-2013 11:00 AM
Latest Intel CPU Graphics Stereodesign EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 02-22-2011 04:10 PM
Laptop with Intel Graphics Media Accelerator X4500HD integrated graphics zb21 EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 4 12-09-2008 06:55 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.