Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2017, 05:04 AM   #1
southskies
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
Default ADVC 300 flickering

Having quite a few flickering issues in capturing PAL signal through the ADVC 300 box.

The source is non commercial (seems to have come from a VHS handycam), and there is vertical flicker. If I play the tape directly to the TV, there is no flicker.

It is not all tapes, although around 50% have some kind of error. And its not consistently through the tape. It is often happening at the same place in the tape.

If I use WINDV or Premiere Elements, it makes no difference, nor which WIN OS I am using.

I'm thinking that either:
- it is a driver issue
- degradation on the tape
- something faulty with the VHS player
- somehow the ADVC is just not detecting the timing signal

I've attached some samples

Any ideas on what is causing it and how to overcome it?

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Original.JPG (256.9 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3039.JPG (305.1 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3041.JPG (311.3 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3042.JPG (256.7 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3043.JPG (306.7 KB, 4 views)
southskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 07:18 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,651
Default

has your VCR a tracking adjustment? 99% of them do, turn the knob or push the buttons until you get best picture without tracking disturbance

or it could be damaged tape, remove the tape when you see such disturbance and open the cassette lid by pushing little lock on the side to inspect the tape, if you see creases, there is your problem
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2017, 11:31 AM   #3
southskies
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 27
Default ADVC 300 flickering solved

Brilliant. Many thanks!

No tracking button on the VCR, but there was a button "Auto Tracking" on the remote.

Prpblem solved!
southskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADVC 110 vs ADVC 300 Tafflad ADVC 1 12-06-2013 04:40 PM
ADVC-300 deliver no audio in Picture Controller 300 software Mejnour ADVC 5 09-26-2011 07:56 PM
ADVC 1000 or ADVC 300 for old VHS tapes. Max001 ADVC 3 05-17-2011 01:35 PM
ADVC 55+TBC or ADVC 300? cmt100 ADVC 5 02-05-2009 02:34 PM
ADVC color flickering trupac ADVC 20 03-05-2008 10:33 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.