Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2019, 11:52 PM   #31
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kruzer View Post
BernH
Thanks for the good post.
Same here, can't justify the cost for Title maker.
Not doing any big sales that would allow me to buy it.

When I needed a scrolling credit... Edius had nothing that could be used. I got one for $25 and it's a bit primitive but works the same as REAL movie credit rolls. That was 15 years ago and still using it.

I am curious if there is some kind of instruction how to do what you mentioned : "...like a n HQX AVI with an alpha channel and use that instead of...."

Thanks :)
If you have the graphic working the way you want, showing video under it (you may need to make sure your project settings are set to YCbCr + Alpha if the alpha is not being interpereted), you can then either copy the graphic to a blank area of the timeline or mute everything under it and export an HQX AVI of just the graphic with nothing else visible.

In the HQX exporter, there is a setting that defaults to color, but has an option to set it to color and alpha. Selecting the color and alpha setting retains the alpha channel from the timeline.

You then have an HQX AVI with alpha channel that can be put in your stock assets and easily re-used.

If you don't have something that is giving satisfactory rolls or want to "step up" from your 15 year old software, and can't cost justify something like Vistitle, the rolling credit thing can also be done using a similar method by making a long text document in photoshop or the like, using a transparent background and then use layouter to roll it on a timeline.

Once again, this isn't as efficient as using a good titler, as was discussed earlier, but you can make some pretty good looking text and graphics stuff in packages like photoshop, assuming you don't need the advanced texturing and such that Vistitle, RED or AE has (just as mentioned in the lower third posts above).

The biggest issues doing it this way is that, since the graphic is progressive, if you are rolling in an interlaced project, it can sometimes flicker/jitter a bit. There is an Anti-flicker filter in edius that can help with this.

If the roll is done in a slower framerate project, such as 23.976, you have you be careful to make sure the scroll is moving at an even number of pixels per frame, and preferably a low number, so it isn't too fast to read. If you don't do this, the movement tends to jump and judder.

The motion rate can be calculated by looking at the graphic dimensions and dividing the Y dimension by the duration and adjusting the duration to get the even number of pixels per frame, or the Y dimension by the set pixel per frame amount to get the required duration, whichever fits best in your situation.

If you want the roll to start completely off screen and end completely off screen, you also have to add one full screen height to the calculation to allow for the blank screen.

If you have a look at my post #36 in this thread https://forum.grassvalley.com/forum/...ghlight=scroll I have a graphic with some instructions for a crawl in PAL, but the concept on how to achieve it is basically the same for a roll, just using the Y dimension instead if the X.

I personally tend to use static title cards when I can, as I don't have to worry about these motion issues that way.
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 07-15-2019 at 11:57 PM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 11:58 PM   #32
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kruzer View Post
Jerry.... ya saved my azz with that link for lower third :)
Dude, I wanna thank you !
Also, to complement you for all your good suggestions ... with other people as well.
Back to work now for me :)
Agreed. That is a great little guide for lower third creation.
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 01:41 AM   #33
kruzer
Senior Member
 
kruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport, Oregon
Posts: 227
Default I forgot who recommended the Rampant Design

Somewhere in this tread a link to RAMPANT DESIGN was given. I visited their site and EDIUS was not on the list of editors to use their plug in.
Did I miss something?
I asked them if it is compatible but got no answer back yet.

Anyone used those in Edius?

Link: https://rampantdesigntools.com/produ...thirds-pack-3/

Last edited by kruzer; 07-16-2019 at 01:43 AM. Reason: Link given
kruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 02:01 AM   #34
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,382
Default

If you look at the tutorial you will see how they line up on the timeline. All you have to do is put the elements on the Edius timeline in the same way. Edius falls under the 'also other' category.

Here's what they look like on the Edius Timeline.
RAMPANT DESIGN IN EDIUS.mp4
If I can make mattes work in Edius, lower thirds will be a breeze.
Spend $19 to sample a lower third group. That's not a major investment.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 07-16-2019 at 02:31 AM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 05:29 AM   #35
kruzer
Senior Member
 
kruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport, Oregon
Posts: 227
Default

Thanks Jerry !
OK, Ill check the tutorial but for some reason my PC can't open the MP4 file you posted..... something about codec is not there.... No matter I'll get the package and start working on it :)
kruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 09:38 AM   #36
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,382
Default

Download either VLC or MPC. These are media players.
Do you have QuickTime installed?
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 07-16-2019 at 02:06 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 06:49 PM   #37
kruzer
Senior Member
 
kruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport, Oregon
Posts: 227
Default

BernH and Jerry

Thank you again, for taking time and help me to be a better editor. Learned a lot from all of you commenting :)

yes on Quick Time and VLC
QT has no problem opening the image. I always forget I have QT to play :)
I'd love to see the clip where these Rampant are installed and how it works.

Bought a package of Lower Third.
It's useful and playing around with it now.
The length of play can be adjusted only to be shorter but not longer. Using Edius-7 version.
Just curious.

I 'discovered' something in Quick Titles yesterday... Hah! ... after using it for decade(s)
Edius has a bunch of 'graphics' in Quick titles. Those can also be used for lower Third and some actually better than the package I bought. Didn't realized at first :)
Hahah

Anyway, if I can make some graphics in PS ... is it possible to IMPORT it to Edius 'graphics' ?
That would make a lot of difference and able to create all kinds of graphics useful in Titles and even lower third....
Searching for YT tut how to do it not shown anything...maybe my key-words are not correct.
Anyone had success making your own 'graphics' and use it in Edius Quick Titles?

I can't tell you guy how much I appreciate the help I am getting here :)
This has to be the best forum!

Last edited by kruzer; 07-16-2019 at 06:51 PM. Reason: missing Name; Jerry added
kruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 07:00 PM   #38
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kruzer View Post
BernH and Jerry

Thank you again, for taking time and help me to be a better editor. Learned a lot from all of you commenting :)

yes on Quick Time and VLC
QT has no problem opening the image. I always forget I have QT to play :)
I'd love to see the clip where these Rampant are installed and how it works.

Bought a package of Lower Third.
It's useful and playing around with it now.
The length of play can be adjusted only to be shorter but not longer. Using Edius-7 version.
Just curious.

I 'discovered' something in Quick Titles yesterday... Hah! ... after using it for decade(s)
Edius has a bunch of 'graphics' in Quick titles. Those can also be used for lower Third and some actually better than the package I bought. Didn't realized at first :)
Hahah

Anyway, if I can make some graphics in PS ... is it possible to IMPORT it to Edius 'graphics' ?
That would make a lot of difference and able to create all kinds of graphics useful in Titles and even lower third....
Searching for YT tut how to do it not shown anything...maybe my key-words are not correct.
Anyone had success making your own 'graphics' and use it in Edius Quick Titles?

I can't tell you guy how much I appreciate the help I am getting here :)
This has to be the best forum!
If you are making a graphic in photoshop, just do the same thing we were talking about earlier. Drop the PSD on one timeline layer, and add your text to another. I don't know if you can add to the built in graphics, I have never tried it.
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 07:26 PM   #39
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,382
Default

I wouldn't use the Quick Time player. Use VLC. Even Windows Media Player will play the file I sent you.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 02:18 AM   #40
kruzer
Senior Member
 
kruzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Newport, Oregon
Posts: 227
Default

Jerry
It says there is no codec that would open that file....yesterday.
So I used QT to play it.

After reading your message I tried it and it works :)
Can't explain any of this... it was not playing it before.
Who knows what's goin on in Windows :)

Your sample is great, I can see how it is used.
Thanks
kruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vistitle Cinematic Grungy Intro avlab1 EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 24 07-13-2019 03:06 AM
Insert intro clip before DVD menu? RichardCox Editing with EDIUS 3 04-01-2013 08:10 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.