Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2012, 10:29 PM   #1
darkio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Palermo
Posts: 7
Default Firecoder writer 1.11 Direct show

Hi all !
My system is based on windows 7 32 bit, 3 gigs ddr2, a lot of space (about 8 TB), quad core Q9650 and spursengine card (firecoder blu).
My problem: cannot open some direct show files on firecoder writer.
First of all aviutl project with vfapi plugin. I prefer edit my movie on aviutl, like resize, crop, denoise etc etc, then save my project and use vfapi converter for fake avi. Most editor like virtualdub are able to open it, but FB writer is unable to do. I prefer export with spursengine but fails.
Please, help me.
darkio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 01:54 PM   #2
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,940
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkio View Post
Hi all !
My system is based on windows 7 32 bit, 3 gigs ddr2, a lot of space (about 8 TB), quad core Q9650 and spursengine card (firecoder blu).
My problem: cannot open some direct show files on firecoder writer.
First of all aviutl project with vfapi plugin. I prefer edit my movie on aviutl, like resize, crop, denoise etc etc, then save my project and use vfapi converter for fake avi. Most editor like virtualdub are able to open it, but FB writer is unable to do. I prefer export with spursengine but fails.
Please, help me.
Sadly, FirecoderBlu is GV's stepchild & practically unsupported! It works fine in EDIUS 6 but forget Firecoder writer software!
Spurs engine based hardware will be better supported by third party tools such as TMPGEnc XPress 4.0 or TMPEG Mastering Works with the additional Spurs engine plugin!
TMPEG software should be able to read signpost AVI's! I do this with AVIsynth & the PISMO file mounter + AVFS (Avisynth Virtual File System) which respresents the scripts as uncompressed AVI after mounting it.

Firecoder writer is a tool with very poor input support!
For example, the install package contains QT, but QT files can't be loaded in writer software!
__________________
Andreas Gumm
post production / authoring
PC 1Intel Core i7-970 (6 x 3.20 GHz),
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2, 12 GB RAM, Geforce 9800GT
Windows 7 Ultimate,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, VisTitle v2.5,
GV hardware: 3G Storm
software SONY DoStudio Indie + EX 4.0.11
PC 2
Intel Core i7-3770, GIGABYTE Z77X-UD5H F14, 16GB RAM,
Geforce 650 GTX, 5x HDD, Windows 7,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, ProCoder 3.0
GV hardware: HD SPARK
software: Telestream Switch, DTS-HD MAS, Dolby Media Meter
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:26 PM   #3
darkio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Palermo
Posts: 7
Default

hi !
Thanks for your reply !
I've already buyed mastering work5 and spursengine plugin, but quality output is not very good and fixed resolution. There are very big "macro blocks" effect in fast scenes.
There are many software that's works with firecoder blu card. I've tried cri spurscoder (cli encoder), aviutl with spursengine output and seche2 technical preview.
darkio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 10:30 PM   #4
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkio View Post
hi !
Thanks for your reply !
I've already buyed mastering work5 and spursengine plugin, but quality output is not very good and fixed resolution. There are very big "macro blocks" effect in fast scenes.
There are many software that's works with firecoder blu card. I've tried cri spurscoder (cli encoder), aviutl with spursengine output and seche2 technical preview.
You must be doing something wrong.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 06:57 PM   #5
MPPais
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lisboa-Portugal
Posts: 429
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
You must be doing something wrong.
TMPEG Mastering Works 5 with SpursEngin plug-in works perfectly in my workstation!
__________________
MPPais
MPPais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:27 PM   #6
darkio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Palermo
Posts: 7
Default

Using tmpgenc mastering work5 and spurs engine plugin output @720x576, vbr 2000>4000 in some dark or very fast scenes, it produce visible macroblocks on screen. My source is pal DVD.
Best output with x264 encoder at lower bitrate. :(
This is my sample:
Please, download and zoom.


I think it's time to update some spursengine plugin's core optimizations, better detecting scene, better output with low bitrate at standard resolution, and other minor stuff. Maybe 2 pass encoding or improve constant quality output can be very usefull. But, this is my impression only.
I think hardware is very very powerfull but nees to be improved.

Last edited by darkio; 03-06-2012 at 10:38 PM.
darkio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:47 AM   #7
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,940
Default

Firecoder is not good on low bitrates especially in fast scenes!
The lack of a 2pass encode mode causes that bitrate can't be used effectively!
__________________
Andreas Gumm
post production / authoring
PC 1Intel Core i7-970 (6 x 3.20 GHz),
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2, 12 GB RAM, Geforce 9800GT
Windows 7 Ultimate,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, VisTitle v2.5,
GV hardware: 3G Storm
software SONY DoStudio Indie + EX 4.0.11
PC 2
Intel Core i7-3770, GIGABYTE Z77X-UD5H F14, 16GB RAM,
Geforce 650 GTX, 5x HDD, Windows 7,
GV software: EDIUS 7.42, ProCoder 3.0
GV hardware: HD SPARK
software: Telestream Switch, DTS-HD MAS, Dolby Media Meter
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:43 AM   #8
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas_Gumm View Post
Firecoder is not good on low bitrates especially in fast scenes!
The lack of a 2pass encode mode causes that bitrate can't be used effectively!
That's right, just like the old DVStorm Mpeg 2 hardware encoder, you need to feed it a few more bits than optimized software might need.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 02:31 PM   #9
darkio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Palermo
Posts: 7
Default

Hi,
tested same clip @1280x720. VBR 3500/8000 spurs engine output, mastering works 5, standard decoder (not cuda).
Fast, but same evident visible macroblocks error in dark or too fast scenes on same position. :(
There's not other encoder that's use spursengine ? Maybe with more accuracy.
Thanks.


Last edited by darkio; 03-07-2012 at 02:42 PM. Reason: paste image
darkio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 10:15 PM   #10
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,504
Default

Even that is not enough for HD really.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIRECODER WRITER 1.11 low bitrate gknapek FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 6 01-31-2010 05:11 PM
is FireCoder Blu accerlate encoding only with FireCoder Writer? stanleychow FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus 5 03-30-2009 10:21 PM
Direct show device settings NXDS Editing with EDIUS 3 09-16-2007 12:04 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.