Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2018, 11:26 PM   #1
Sheeba
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Morro Bay, Ca.
Posts: 88
Default Encoder questions

Hi......

Just finished first new project (for DVD) in E.9. I use DVDLab Pro 2.51 to author.

BTW: Want to thank Anton. I used his "downgrade HD to SD" tips to encode. It looks great on DVD!! Good tips!

Here's my encoder questions:

1. When I upgraded to E.9, I wondered about possibility of plugging in Procoder 3, which I had been using with Edius 5. Is Procoder 3 now obsolete? Grass Valley said that procoder 3 had been kind of incorporated into E.9.
I used the E.9 encoder (no name for it?) and it seemed to work fine, because I was pleased with the result.
Although DVDLab Pro did complain mildly about open GOPs, I have no chapters.
I looked at the encoder I used inside Edius, and can't find settings for things like GOPs, kbps, VBR & CBR, etc.

So my stupid question is....what is this encoder inside E.9? It seems to work well, but should I be using Wondershare for even better results? The guy who built my new editing system included that program, and it has good reviews. (but adds another couple steps to the go-to-DVD process.)

2. Another stupid question is.... What is behringer BCF2000? I'm assuming it's another plug-in you can buy. Is this an audio controller that is a plug-in for E.9? What does it have to do with encoding? Does it just do same thing as E.9 audio mixer?

Thanks for any input. I was happy to finish up this first E.9 project while simultaneously learning the "layouter" that replaced P in P and Vistitle 2.8 (plus their plug-ins.)

Lori
__________________
Edius 9.3, ProASUS TUF X299 Mark I LGA2066 DDR4 M.2 USB 3.1 Dual LAN X299 ATX Motherboard, Intell Core i7-7820 X Skylake-X 8-Core 3.6 GHz processor, GTX 1070, 500 GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD), 4TB WD Enterprise HD, 16 GB Ram, 2 LG DVD burners, Win10 Pro. Intensity Shuttle. Vitascene V.3. Vistitle 2.8 +
Sheeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 12:44 AM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,559
Default

Unforunately Procoder is not a plug in the latest versions of EDIUS.
http://tmpgenc.pegasys-inc.com/en/index.html
This company makes plugs for encoding for EDIUS.

The BCF2000 is a fader controler
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 11:35 PM   #3
Sheeba
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Morro Bay, Ca.
Posts: 88
Default

Thanks for reply GV.

I am assuming you are saying, if I want more options, like closed GOPs, I should buy the TMPGen movie plug-in MPEG-2 for E.9 for DVD encoding.

I have downloaded a trial version of TMPGen movie plug-in MPEG-2.



Thanks.

Lori
__________________
Edius 9.3, ProASUS TUF X299 Mark I LGA2066 DDR4 M.2 USB 3.1 Dual LAN X299 ATX Motherboard, Intell Core i7-7820 X Skylake-X 8-Core 3.6 GHz processor, GTX 1070, 500 GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD), 4TB WD Enterprise HD, 16 GB Ram, 2 LG DVD burners, Win10 Pro. Intensity Shuttle. Vitascene V.3. Vistitle 2.8 +

Last edited by Sheeba; 12-28-2018 at 02:49 AM.
Sheeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2018, 10:45 PM   #4
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 747
Default

If you have it, you can always use P-3 as a standalone product for encoding avi to mpeg, and then use that file to produce a DVD-Video.
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 03:16 PM   #5
Sheeba
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Morro Bay, Ca.
Posts: 88
Default

Yes, I can do that.

I now have several options for encoding:
Procoder 3
TMPGEnc plug-in to E.9
E.9 "print to file" encoder (no name?) (I found its closed GOP option)
Wondershare

?Which is best encoder???????

Thanks for any opinions!
__________________
Edius 9.3, ProASUS TUF X299 Mark I LGA2066 DDR4 M.2 USB 3.1 Dual LAN X299 ATX Motherboard, Intell Core i7-7820 X Skylake-X 8-Core 3.6 GHz processor, GTX 1070, 500 GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD), 4TB WD Enterprise HD, 16 GB Ram, 2 LG DVD burners, Win10 Pro. Intensity Shuttle. Vitascene V.3. Vistitle 2.8 +
Sheeba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2018, 07:15 PM   #6
Thor
Senior Member
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 747
Default

Try test footage using each option, say 5 minutes of video.

For ProCoder, use "Mastering" quality.
__________________
Regards,

Jon

#1: Iwill DK8N, 2 x 270 Opterons, 2 Gb RAM, WinXPPro-32, Edius 5.51, NX PCI-X & HDV Expansion, ProCoder 3, Imaginate 2, Sony WV-DR9, Sony EDV-9500, Sony GV-D200.
#2: Asus P5E, Q9400, WinXPPro-32, Edius 6.07, HD Spark
#3: Edius SP with Breakout Box, Win10, Edius 7.53
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About hardware encoder nitrococuk EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 13 05-01-2018 01:08 AM
Best encoder? Fastest encoder? Smallest size? LittleMaster Editing with EDIUS 2 08-22-2013 09:29 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.