Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2019, 05:27 PM   #1
terrytk18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Dorset
Posts: 7
Default Slip edit operation - as in Final Cut?

Hello Forum

Excuse the Apple reference above! There is a handy feature in Final Cut named 'The Slip Edit' and probably in some other advanced editing packages which appears absent in Edius 9 trial version.

With Final Cut a slip adjustment is made within a single clip, whereby you select a different part of that clip to include in the sequence while maintaining the same clip duration and timecode location in the overall sequence. Surrounding clips are not affected and the sequence duration does not change.

It appears that this slip edit is not the same as Slip Edius version in that the Edius version is limited to the cut point only and not to the length of the particular clip.

Hope I have explained the question clearly. Thanks.
terrytk18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 10:28 PM   #2
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,675
Default

Hold Ctrl and Alt then click on the clip in the timeline. Dragging will slip the clip with full range of the original clip as the choice.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10

Last edited by GrassValley_PS; 07-16-2019 at 01:26 AM.
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 11:47 PM   #3
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,617
Default

I could be mistaken but I think the OP is after crtl+alt edit. :)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 08:12 PM   #4
terrytk18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Dorset
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks for the reply Steve,

I tried it but only get a black preview window with no clip footage visible.
Any further suggestions?

Thanks again, Terry.

P.S. what do you mean by "OP"?
terrytk18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 01:36 AM   #5
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,675
Default

Atttached are 2 pics of what happens after you hold Ctrl and Alt and click on the clip. Note that the 2 single Red brackets are on the ends of the same clip facing each other. Make sure you place your mouse on one of the ends of the middle clip (the one to be slipped). You will see that 4 monitors appear on the EDIUS monitors (see the second pic).

The first one on the left is the last frame of the clip before. The second from left monitor is the In point of the middle clip and the third clip is the Out point of the middle clip. The last frame to the right is the first frame of the clip after.

As you slip the clip you will see the In point and Out point of the middle clip (2nd and 3rd monitors) change to reflect the clip slipping in that same duration space.
Attached Images
File Type: png Slip Edit.PNG (12.5 KB, 29 views)
File Type: png Slip Edit 2.png (44.5 KB, 25 views)
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 01:37 AM   #6
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,675
Default

OP stands for "Original Poster"
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 01:56 AM   #7
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,754
Default

I mostly use the , and . keys (comma and dot) after selecting clip with Ctrl+Alt, see video attached
Attached Files
File Type: mp4 AVP-00001.mp4 (154.9 KB, 31 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 03:26 AM   #8
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrytk18 View Post
Thanks for the reply Steve,

I tried it but only get a black preview window with no clip footage visible.
Any further suggestions?

Thanks again, Terry.

P.S. what do you mean by "OP"?
Hi Terry,

Pat has explained it. I do have to ask one question tho. Are you using single or dual view mode?
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support

Last edited by GrassValley_PS; 07-16-2019 at 05:03 AM.
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 11:01 PM   #9
terrytk18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Dorset
Posts: 7
Default Thanks for reply updates :)

Thanks you Steve, Pat and Anton for your clear and helpful advice.
The slip editing is working fine - I'm using dual mode. I have 18 days left of the free trial version and been very impressed with Edius 9 and your gracious help.
Terry
terrytk18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 10:56 AM   #10
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,617
Default

Hi Terry,

Glad you are enjoying EDIUS. There are a lot of nice people on the forum . They share and help. :)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timeline Slip Edit is back! Proton Editing with EDIUS 7 09-12-2011 09:24 PM
Compatibility with Final Cut Brrkee Editing with EDIUS 20 06-09-2010 05:53 PM
Slip Edit in Edius? Cory Bretz Editing with EDIUS 20 09-12-2007 06:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.