Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2019, 05:09 AM   #1
EkimNosredna
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Milky Way Galaxy, SOL System
Posts: 1
Default Audio Interface Question

Hi,
I'm posting on behalf of someone I give tech support assistance to and I've got a quick question, and being new to Grass Valley I apologize if this is in the wrong spot but it seemed to be the right place.

He recently bought a Presonus Audiobox USB 96.
I've narrowed down to that device not allowing him to playback and edit video in EDIUS, once he tried to start it, it just doesn't play, and eventually locks up.
As soon as we remove the audio interface and reopen EDIUS; poof it is working fine, can playback and such... (just no audio because his speakers are hooked up to the interface)
It seems that when EDIUS locks up it also locks up the Presonus interface as I am not able to play anything else out and have to disable and re-enable the interface to make it work again.(eg. videos refuse to play in the windows 10 movie player until I reset the audio device in the sound control panel)

I'm scratching my head trying to figure out what might be causing it.

Again, I'm new here so sorry if this might not be the right place to ask, after searching through things a bit this category seemed to have some troubleshooting.
EkimNosredna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2019, 11:25 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,382
Default

Does the Presonus work with audio software installed on the system?
It comes with the Presonus One software. Does it work with that?

When using Edius, do you have the Presonus set at 96khz? If so, lower that setting to 24khz and try again.
Post a screen shot of the project settings.

I'm running a Roland version similar to the Presonus. It works just fine.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2019, 02:47 AM   #3
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,417
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
Does the Presonus work with audio software installed on the system?
It comes with the Presonus One software. Does it work with that?

When using Edius, do you have the Presonus set at 96khz? If so, lower that setting to 24khz and try again.
Post a screen shot of the project settings.

I'm running a Roland version similar to the Presonus. It works just fine.
Shouldn't that be 48kHz / 24bit
__________________
Edius WG 9.40.5106, various 3rd party plugins, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2019, 06:44 AM   #4
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,382
Default

Yes, that is correct.

The unit is capable of recording audio at 24bit 96kHz. This was the setting on the hardware side. It just didn't work properly with Edius 7 when I first purchased the unit.
I changed the setting to 24bit 48kHz and it has worked ever since. My unit has a switch for 96/48/44.1 settings.

I looked at the USB 96 and there are no physical switches on the back to select options. Adjustments must be made through software.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Question Qframe Editing with EDIUS 9 04-10-2008 09:50 PM
audio question Brookes Editing with EDIUS 6 09-19-2007 05:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.