Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2019, 12:07 PM   #21
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

@John,

Thanks for this info. Luckily I can do the same. It does make my processor go to 100% (I can see it has to work hard, as the buffer does not rise very quickly).

I noticed one thing in your post. Intel claims this processor has a TDP of 95W. Some of the motherboard have a setting that limits powerconsumption to 95W, but that results in a max. of 4.3GHz, just like yours. You can change this in the bios (change max. power and max. current. The motherboard will manage this, so no worries someting will go wrong. Just change these settings to the max possible and the motherboard will choose the right numbers).
This will make your processor do a turbo of 4.7GHz on all cores, just as it should do and completely for free. This is not overclocking, just making the processor goes as fast as advertised by Intel.

I don't know what to do next. I tried shifting the M2 with the clips to the pcie x8 slot, but that did not make a difference (usb, M2, sata, ethernet, etc. share 4 lanes via the chipset. 16 lanes are directly connected to the processor. These are normally just for the graphics card, but it will do just fine with the 8 lanes it gets when you connect someting in the second pcie slot). I thought, maybe there more data then the 4 lanes can handle and therefor the processor does not go up to 100% (not enough data to process)
All I see is that without filters the processor will do 100% and with filters it does not go to 100%, but there is a stutter. Dropping the resolution to half makes it run smooth.
From what I can see everything is set to max, including CPU minimum and maximum. Temps are o.k.

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 12:42 PM   #22
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,939
Default

The figures quoted were for 4 layers
Im not into playing too much with Bios and over clocking
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 03:36 PM   #23
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

I also had 4 layers using transform to make a 4 panel video wall.

No need to do overclocking, however you do have to enter the BIOS to make the processor work at full speed. Maybe someone else can do this for you (reseller?). Ofcourse you can leave it as it is.

I did a few other tests. One layer with three effects (blend filters, PCC and YUV-curve) are ok. It plays in RT. The problem seems to be my Mercalli stabilizer plugin V4). This makes the timeline stutter while the processor is not at 100%. The buildin stabilizer does not have this problem. I am used to have Mercalli standard on my clips (all handheld shots). I think I have to change this to the buildin Edius stabilizer. Somehow Mercalli does not use this processor to its full potential. That is a pity.

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 04:18 PM   #24
John Lewis
Senior Member
 
John Lewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Isle of Anglesey, North Wales UK
Posts: 2,939
Default

i am quite happy as it is. Bios CPU core Ratio is set to auto
Just did a test UHD 1 Layer with PCC 10 minutes in 4 min 20 secs MP4 25mbs cant do much better than that. Max use i would have maybe occasionally 2 layers
CPU Temp was 37 CP Usage was max 40%
Fan was at 550 no water cooling
__________________
System Asus WS Z390 Pro MB, CPU i9 9900K, 32gb 3000mhz Ram, EVGA GTX1070TI, BM IP4K Win 10
Plugins Vistitle 2.8, TP6, NB TFX5
Monitors Samsung 32inch tv as main 1 LG M2350D,1 D2343 1 DM2350D as output to (3D) IP4K, PXW X70
John Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2019, 01:51 PM   #25
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

Just an update for anyone interested:

In the Bios I found a few settings that seemed interesting. Your Bios might be slightly different and names of the settings can be a little different. In my Bios I found under 'Chipset':
DVMT Pre-Allocated (Digital Dynamic Video Technology)
This one allows you to set the onboard graphics memory size. Default is 64 Mb. You can choose in the range of 32Mb - 1024 Mb. Since we are working with large files I guessed more is better. I set it to its max being 1024Mb
DVMT Total Gfx Mem
This one allows you to allocate the DVMT memory of the onboard graphics. Default is 256 Mb) the range is 128Mb, 256Mb, MAX. I set it to Max.

I had no files to test in Edius, so I used the Cinebench R20 test. It went from 4650 to 4820. Maybe no that much, but every little bit helps and this one is for free.

Chris

BTW This only helps if you are using your onboard graphcs. (with QuickSink)
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2019, 04:57 PM   #26
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra427 View Post
Just an update for anyone interested:

In the Bios I found a few settings that seemed interesting. Your Bios might be slightly different and names of the settings can be a little different. In my Bios I found under 'Chipset':
DVMT Pre-Allocated (Digital Dynamic Video Technology)
This one allows you to set the onboard graphics memory size. Default is 64 Mb. You can choose in the range of 32Mb - 1024 Mb. Since we are working with large files I guessed more is better. I set it to its max being 1024Mb
DVMT Total Gfx Mem
This one allows you to allocate the DVMT memory of the onboard graphics. Default is 256 Mb) the range is 128Mb, 256Mb, MAX. I set it to Max.

I had no files to test in Edius, so I used the Cinebench R20 test. It went from 4650 to 4820. Maybe no that much, but every little bit helps and this one is for free.

Chris

BTW This only helps if you are using your onboard graphcs. (with QuickSink)
Hi Chris.

It's unlikely that those settings will have any effect for anyone who is seeing CPU underutilisation within Edius for certain tasks where others are seeing full utilisation. As per the original point of your thread.

Although those settings may well help in other general video tasks on a PC but probably not Edius. Again, as per the original point.

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2019, 09:04 PM   #27
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

Hi Dave,

Thanks for your reply.
The problem was Mercalli V4. I removed this plugin on the clips and replaced them with the buildin stabilizer. Now I get 100% utilization in Edius. Also in Cinebench. The difference I saw was during 100% utilization.
Do you think changing these settings will have an effect in this situation (full utilization of the processor)?

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2019, 09:22 PM   #28
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

You need to determine if Mercali derives it's power mainly from the CPU or as a combo of CPU and GPU. If it's the latter, Edius will not provide enough GPU horsepower to plow through the process.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 06-29-2019 at 10:16 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 09:13 AM   #29
Cobra427
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Apeldoorn, Netherlands
Posts: 289
Default

Thanks Jerry,

Mercalli and Edius are not the best combo in my system and I think this also happened in my previous system. I asked Mercalli for help, but no answer.
I tried the task manager. That one showed my processor is not at 100% with Mercalli, same for the iGPU and my 1070-card. No problems without Mercalli.

If you have suggestions how I can test CPU or GPU, please let me know.

Chris
__________________
System: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro, Win10, i9 9900K, 16 Gb RAM 3200MHz, M2 SSD 250Gb for OS and Edius, M2 SSD 500Gb for projectfiles, several HDD for archieving, dual screen Benq PD2700U, GTX1070, Corsair H115i Watercooling, E9.5WG, Mercalli V4, TPMG Authoring Works 5, Sony fdr-ax700
Cobra427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 01:22 PM   #30
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

As far as I can tell, Mercali 4.0 utilizes full GPU and multi-processor capabilites.
The 9900k's cpu is doing most of the work in Edius. GPU assist, is minimal, if any.

https://www.provideocoalition.com/pr...on-correction/
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Experience with EDIUS 9 and i9 9900K? Roland Schulz EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 92 05-10-2019 04:41 PM
Audio Processor?? videogreg Editing with EDIUS 3 02-07-2019 02:02 AM
processor reelmoments EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 04-19-2010 12:30 AM
Opinion on this Processor Please MT02MHT Editing with EDIUS 4 03-28-2008 04:01 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.