Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 04:52 PM   #11
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,382
Default

We are talking about the mpeg 2 plugin for edius 6.5, not an earlier version. So, down scaling is handled by Edius and then the layouter adjustment is used to correct the aspect before export with the mpeg2 plugin. I don't doubt that the full version of TMPGE 5, which I own, will do a better job. But, if you are after a quick dual pass option....this might work for you. The fact that it will make the FCB somewhat useful again, for card owners, is a good thing.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 12-10-2012 at 05:07 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:32 PM   #12
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,817
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry View Post
We are talking about the mpeg 2 plugin for edius 6.5, not an earlier version. So, down scaling is handled by Edius and then the layouter adjustment is used to correct the aspect before export with the mpeg2 plugin. I don't doubt that the full version of TMPGE 5, which I own, will do a better job. But, if you are after a quick dual pass option....this might work for you. The fact that it will make the FCB somewhat useful again, for card owners, is a good thing.
The value for me in using the FCB when I had it installed was for h264 encode and for that I can see a value in the plugin for someone who still has FCB installed.


I accept that the post is about the plugin with 6.5 using FCB. However, since the plugin is available for many version of Edius I expect that the plugin works the same way on all versions so its base functions will be common. I do not use 6.5 so can only check on 6.07 and 5.5 neither of these use the Lanczos improvement to the layouter. So are totally dependent on the plugin for scaling, which has the bars on scaling. If you are going to use Edius 6.5 to scale and have a short program one may as well use Edius to encode and then there is no need for the plugin at all for SD output for DVD. I was pointing out that simplistic use of the plugin does not give the desired output. As you have described it requires an Edius workaround to remove the black bars. Simply selecting export from a 1920x1080 project to SD DVD compliant MPEG2 files using the plugin will give black bars.


MPEG2HD encodes from Edius were always fast enough for me. It was just for longer Bluray programs I went to h264 and once I upgraded to my present computer have now moved to using the Quicksync output all the time as it is fast and compliant. The latest PC's using Sandy Bridge or Ivy Bridge processors are faster than FCB for all encode types which is why my FCB is in its box on the shelf.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:26 PM   #13
Andreas_Gumm
Senior Member
 
Andreas_Gumm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany, Berlin
Posts: 2,911
Default

Nice to see that third party companies beats GV in making GV hardware work in inside of GV software!
I still can't believe that this was not possible for GV themself.
A shame....

Andreas

Last edited by Andreas_Gumm; 12-11-2012 at 12:54 AM.
Andreas_Gumm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:39 PM   #14
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,382
Default

MPEG2HD encodes from Edius were always fast enough for me. It was just for longer Bluray programs I went to h264 and once I upgraded to my present computer have now moved to using the Quicksync output all the time as it is fast and compliant. The latest PC's using Sandy Bridge or Ivy Bridge processors are faster than FCB for all encode types which is why my FCB is in its box on the shelf.


I agree with everything you said. However, not everyone has Quicksync and many are still using older machines. If they own a FCB card this will help them be able to export mpeg 2 much faster. It isn't a perfect solution, but it is a 3rd party offering. Down converting is only one aspect of the plugin.

Personally, I can't use a Z77 motherboard due to it's PCI-E limitations. I'm sure I am not the only one.
It is either my X58 or an X79 system...or the C series chipsets.

I am building a separate network encoding box that will use Quicksync with both Edius 6.52 from the timeline and TMPGE Mastering Works 5.
This gives me the most bang for the $350-$400 it is going to cost. Both of my systems can feed files to this box across the network and the encode can be set up in batch.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:47 PM   #15
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas_Gumm View Post
Nice to see that third party companies beats GV in making GV hardware work in inside of GV software!
I still can't belief that this was not possible for GV itself.
A shame....

Andreas
Since Canopus/GV has a long tradition developing very good encoding solutions I don't understand why FCB has been dropped.
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 12:46 AM   #16
shueardm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorro View Post
Since Canopus/GV has a long tradition developing very good encoding solutions I don't understand why FCB has been dropped.
The truth is they saw Quicksync at it's earliest as a way to get out of the "difficult position" of lacklustre product knowledge of Spurs Engine. The software they put out was abysmal.
__________________
VIDEODESK AUSTRALIA http://videodesk.com.au
shueardm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:07 AM   #17
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,817
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shueardm View Post
The truth is they saw Quicksync at it's earliest as a way to get out of the "difficult position" of lacklustre product knowledge of Spurs Engine. The software they put out was abysmal.
I never used the GV software with my FCB always used TMPGenc Spurs plugin for TMPGenc T4 at the time. Worked great too.

Jerry. I understand you position. I have the advantage of only using my own video files which are now all AVCHD so only use the plug in cards for my tape drive ( which I also use as a RAID 0 controller) and Spark HD . Have you looked how you might use the new Thunderbolt Gigabyte boards http://ca.gigabyte.com/products/prod...px?pid=4279#ov for your application?

Ron Evans

edit: Jerry . This is the sort of box for thunderbolt that you could use for some of your PCI cards ? http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/other/d...nsion_Box.html
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V

Last edited by Ron Evans; 12-11-2012 at 02:41 AM.
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 07:51 AM   #18
Schoenmaeckers
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Belgium
Posts: 79
Default

I use a older WinFast PxVC1100 card with tmpggenc and the spursengine plugin, mpeg2 encodes are not really that faster then my I7 950 but mp4 encodes are, I think it's about twice realtime. The biggest advantage is that during transcoding it leaves sufficient resources available for the cpu for me to continue my editing. I always export a hq avi master from Edius and use tmpgencauthoring works to make my blu-ray's and tmpgencvideomastering to make mp4 files, save me a lot of time. I know leadtek developed a model that had the double amount of processors but it seems they never put it into real production as that card is nowhere available, to bad.
__________________
Edius 6.52, I7 950, Asus P6X58D-E, 12gb memory, 2gb gtx460, win 7 pro 64bit
Schoenmaeckers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:36 AM   #19
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,382
Default

Ron, I looked at these thunderbolt extensions earlier this year. I would like to see more real world testing. It sounds like a solution to the limitations of the chipset. But cost
is an issue for these devices at this early stage. It is still
cheaper to build a small encoding box.

I still prefer the separate network box for encoding due to multiple editors being used.. Beside that, it can double as a portable, full feature, editing/capture box as well.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:25 AM   #20
David Clarke
Senior Member
 
David Clarke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Uk
Posts: 2,703
Default

Like Jerry I would not trust any of this stuff until it is tried. We have the Gigabyte board with Thunderbolt here and we are getting some new drives in from Lacie to test. They were going to send us one of the thunderbolt drives and then said they would not because it did not yet have Windows drivers. I was surprised because I thought a Thunderbolt drive would just plug in and work like a regular drive but i guess they know their own products. Just means there is more to making Thunderbolt stuff work than just having an interface.
__________________
EDIUS silver certified trainer.
Main edit laptop: DVC Kaby Lake desktop processor laptop, 32GB RAM, 3.5Ghz i5 desktop processor, nVidia 1060, Windows 10.
Desktop: 4Ghz 9900K processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1660TI GPU, Windows 10.
Desktop: 2Ghz 12 core Xeon processor, 32GB RAM, nVidia 1060, BM Intensity Pro, Windows 10
David Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > FIRECODER Blu & Pegasus
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally installed the NX HD card :) Glen EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 2 08-04-2011 07:17 AM
Finally found Edius Pro 5 Tutorial set! jonsol07 Editing with EDIUS 9 02-12-2010 02:43 PM
Finally! Edius HD output which Encore accepts for Blu-ray kwshaw1 Editing with EDIUS 10 06-16-2009 04:56 AM
Finally an Edius .iso image! Zorro Editing with EDIUS 6 02-26-2008 08:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.