Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2007, 03:02 PM   #1
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default Cheap playout solution

Hi everyone

I know that Canopus/GV recommends the Turbo product as a playout solution but I need a cheap solution to use with an ADVC1000 unit

The idea is to find a cheap (free) software player able to output video through firewire. The ideal solution for me is to find a plugin for media player or winamp that can do that. I need to be able to change the playlist while playing so using a Timeline (Edius) is not an option. Can someone help?

Any recommendations will be appreciated


Thank you
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete

Last edited by Aristotelis; 08-27-2007 at 03:07 PM.
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 06:18 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

I've yet to find anything that was a complete media player software package that supported FireWire output (to the ADVC).

However, some small consolation comes in the form of a Mac utility I've used: http://developer.apple.com/samplecod...Out/index.html
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 06:12 AM   #3
Don Alexander
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 10
Default

Aristoteis, did you ever find a solution? I'm looking for the same thing - a cheap clip store.

Don
Don Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 08:28 AM   #4
Aristotelis
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Thomastown, Ireland
Posts: 665
Default

No, but i found an old DVStorm board and used the Mediacruise software where I could create/edit playlists and output through the DVStorm's S-Video...
__________________
Aristotelis Bafaloukos
Systems Engineer, Video Editor, 3D Artist
BEng (Hons), MSc, MBCS

Ctrl+Alt+Delete
Aristotelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2008, 02:42 PM   #5
gazzar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: isle of man
Posts: 32
Default

I hope this info may be of some help anyone following this thread.

I recently setup a system to playback DV clips out of Firewire thru ADVC. I used an old PC with a copy of Ubuntu Linux and used an app called KINO. its a very basic DV editor, but allows output to both screen and Firewire at the same time. Its a clips based editor, so creates playlists. I had no problems using it and ADVC3000 to play clips into a digibeta linear suite. I dont know if you could add additional clips to the playlist while it is playing, you would need to try it out.

I also used one of the command line tools that comes from the DV Library used by Kino to playout clips to a DV deck. Its a tool called DVconnect and allows sending a DV file out over the firewire. with this tool IT IS possible to add addition clips to the output, by using PIPES. This is a pretty lowlevel tool, so there is no nice interface and you need to know you way around linux/unix shells to use it.
gazzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 07:06 AM   #6
Don Alexander
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 10
Default

I think I'm digging out my Storm 2 card and looking over the supplied software. It would be great if one could just output Media Player overlay, but we'll look at the other options.

Don
Don Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 07:40 PM   #7
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

If you just need Media Player overlay output, most of the video cards with TV output released within the past 5 years or so can do it easily.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 08:48 PM   #8
Don Alexander
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_BH View Post
If you just need Media Player overlay output, most of the video cards with TV output released within the past 5 years or so can do it easily.

Hmmm. I assumed they all output the whole screen, not just the video overlay. Well, unless I used the parahelion (sp) which I had overlooked until now.

Don
Don Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 09:32 PM   #9
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Most cards can do Overlay Clone (NVIDIA) aka Theater Mode (ATI), not sure about the Matrox Parhelia... My memory is fading fast these days.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time for an external solution! AndyW69 Editing with EDIUS 2 07-12-2008 10:34 PM
HD/SD artifact solution? RonnieMartin Editing with EDIUS 43 03-23-2008 10:26 PM
cheapest solution downrezz from 1080i into Edius Tobe Editing with EDIUS 7 06-14-2007 04:46 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.