Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2009, 09:32 PM   #1
potiguar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default ADVC 55 having problems with PAL-M

Hi all,

after trying out several USB-stick solutions that just don't work, I decided to purchase an ADVC 55, it arrived today on the post.

Couldn't import my old VHS-C tapes (with VHS adaptor), despite they playing fine when the vcr connected directly to the TV. Red light on the unit. So I decided to tinker a bit to see if I could find out why. Here's what I found:

- setting the unit to NTSC instead: WORKS but signal is B&W.
- setting my xbox360 output to PAL50 and plugging it to the unit: WORKS.
- plugging the analog output of my Sony Bravia tv to the unit: WORKS.
- plugging the analog output of my minidv camera to the unit: WORKS.
- plugging aerial to the VCR and tunning channels on the VCR then plugging it to the unit: WORKS ( I see the tv signal) . If I press "play" thou, it stops working right away.
- Insert blank vhs tape to the VCR, record something, then playback: WORKS (!!)

What I think is happening, is that since these tapes were originally recorded using a brazilian camera, I guess they are in the PAL-M format, that's what we use in Brazil, and before today, I didn't even know there were more than one PAL formats. Since it's working fine with a tape recorded here, I guess that's it.

Apparently my tv and my vcr are fine with the PAL-M format, they play without bigger problems, but ADVC 55 is not happy about it.

So the question is: what the hell do I do now?? Any help would be greatly greatly appreciated.

[rant]I wish I could find the people responsible for so many different formats in the industry and kill them all with a rifle.[/rant] - just kidding, but it is a pain.
potiguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 09:55 PM   #2
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

I guess it depends on how serious you are about getting this footage in and digitised. Essentially, you'll need a transcoder box to convert PAL-M to NTSC. Hayonik is a Brazilian manufacturer of such a box (CC3), and we've had other users report success with their units.

Search for 'transcoder' here: http://www.hayonik.com.br/CABOS.asp
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 10:55 PM   #3
potiguar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default

Problem is I live in London and most probably, they don't deliver this here, even if I wanted to burn the cash. Isn't there any VCR on the market that just outputs pure ntsc or something like that?
potiguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 11:54 PM   #4
GrassValley_KH
Mr Sparkle
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 3,748
Default

You might have better luck searching for local A/V rental specialists. Certainly, I doubt the existence of a consumer-grade VCR that can do what a transcoder box.
GrassValley_KH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 12:10 AM   #5
kbosward
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 318
Default

PAL-M is essentially NTSC with a different colour carrier frequency. Your only real option is to convert to NTSC.

See Wikipedia PAL-M (television) for more info.

Search for PAL-M to NTSC converters. You may be able to get something from eBay.

Edit: just wondering, have you tried connecting the VCR to the TV and the TV output to the ADVC55? It depends on whether the TV does any processing of the signal before sending it to the TV output; I suspect not but you never know.

Ken.

Last edited by kbosward; 08-26-2009 at 12:22 AM.
kbosward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 03:08 AM   #6
potiguar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: London
Posts: 3
Default

Isn't it somehow ironic that PAL-M is actually NTSC with different colour code? shouldn't it be called NTSC-M then or something? Seriously....

Anyway I got a friend who's buying the PAL-M / NTSC transcoder in Brazil and hopefully I'll be able to digitize my videos by the end of the year.

Thanks for the help.
potiguar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 01:44 PM   #7
2Bdecided
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Default

Did it work?

If not...

It's possible the tapes are already NTSC, and the problem is that UK VCRs convert NTSC to PAL60 before sending the signal out.

Most UK TVs are compatible with PAL60 - fewer are compatible with NTSC, and fewer still are compatible with PAL-M.

But importantly, the ADVC devices won't capture PAL60, but would capture NTSC.

Cheers,
David.
2Bdecided is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
advc 300 PAL problem jasonrhl ADVC 6 10-14-2013 04:31 PM
Auto-Encoding with Watchfolders: Problems with Source (PAL Widescreen (4:3 -> 16:9)) Samox ProCoder 3 02-17-2009 03:00 PM
ADVC compatible with PAL 60? Flippy612 ADVC 3 02-10-2009 02:38 AM
Advc 700 Ntsc Or Pal? snbgreen ADVC 6 10-19-2007 10:17 PM
ADVC-55 PAL/NTSC Problem yausern ADVC 3 07-15-2007 08:55 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.