Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2019, 01:42 PM   #1
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,258
Default New PC for Edius

Hello there I have a tricky problem to solve.

Currently I cannot take advantage of Intel Quicksync to boost Edius as my main system is Xeon based.

I currently have a dual Xeon Motherboard with 5 PCIex16 slots which is a facility impossible to get in the i9 Motherboard types. Also I discover that the number of PCIe slots supported can depend on the CPU lanes when working with single CPU's.

I was hoping to transplant all the hardware from the current system to the new one.

I currently have the following PCIe hardware supported.

Slot1 Sonet Tango 3 USB3/Firewire card
Slot2 Gigabyte Aorus GTX1080TI watercooled
Slot3 Atto FC41ES Fibrechannel card
Slot4 Storm3G Elite
Slot5 Decklink 4K 12G Extreme

The nearest MB I can find to support an Intel 9980HK is an Asus WS Z390 which looks like it will give me the slots I need.

The i9X series whilst they have more cores drop the integrated graphics, which doesn't move anything forward.

Some advice would be appreciated.

Regards

Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 01:53 PM   #2
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

Mike, is Quick sync to be used mostly for export purposes?

I like Asrock and the Taichi Ultimate will give you 1@16x, 2@8x8, and 3@8x4x4 split. Remember, the Z series boards
only have 16 pci-e lanes available. You also get 2 PCI-E 1x lanes through the chipset.
The chip you mentioned only has 16 lanes available.

I'll mention the Asus Z390 WS, but based on the items such as the Fiberchannel card or the 12G Extreme, I don't think the Plex chip
could handle that much of a data flow and keep up with what ever you are doing when both are fully active and the 4th 16x slot is occupied.

Using Edius you won't notice any difference running the 1080ti at 8x. Since the Decklink 4K 12G is an 8x lane card
the GPU and the Decklink eat your 16 lanes.

Maybe build a system which can be networked through your main system. That way you aren't eating up the resources.
You would get the access to the main system's Fibrechannel card through the Aquantia 10 gigabit built in network card in the Taichi Ultimate and
the 1080ti and Decklink will both work at 8x and be happy. If the Sonet is a 1x card, you would be covered for that.

Basically, there is no way to put all of your items into a Z series system.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.

Last edited by Jerry; 09-11-2019 at 02:46 PM.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 02:13 PM   #3
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,898
Default

Hi Mike.

To further Jerry's question. If it's not for decoding and only for export, just use a HQX temp intermediate file into an external encoder for h.264/h.265 that's NVENC compatible, Handbrake is a great option and its free.

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 02:42 PM   #4
ulyssesvideo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: sydney
Posts: 364
Default

another free option is hybrid video converter
ulyssesvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 04:09 PM   #5
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,928
Default

I assume that you are talking about timeline editing and using QS for decode? We all must hope that EDIUS in the next release starts to use the other more powerful GPU's than just QS. That would allow a move to AMD CPU's that have a lot more lanes available than Intel parts. Also with the latest 7nm Ryzens PCI-e 4.0 for faster NVME memory use too.

If it is for export then I agree with Dave and use HQX to another encoder like Handbreak or WM7 ( my preference now)

Just as comparison I am still on E8.53 but performance with my Threadripper for UHD editing is not as good as using Resolve Studio. Neither use GPU for decode for timeline playback on my system. So I think there is room for improvement within EDIUS apart from using QS for decode to use available cpu resource. Resolve uses 1/3 the resources of EDIUS and playback is faster. Most of my EDIUS editing is multicam in a 1920x1080 project so just run at 1/2 preview resolution is fine. No different to my second 4790K system with QS really !!
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 9.5 WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 04:50 PM   #6
Jerry
Senior Member
 
Jerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orange City, FL
Posts: 11,640
Default

Mike, you can't compare playback from within an NLE to a stand alone media player. They are two completely different animals.
__________________
Jerry
Six Gill DV
www.sgdvtutorials.com
If you own the Tutorials and you need help, PM me.

Vistitle YouTube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCMVlxC8Am4qFbkXJRoPAnMQ/videos

Windows 10 Pro up to v.1803 Tweaks for Edius Users
http://sgdvtutorials.com/WIN%2010%20...%20V.2.0.0.pdf

Main System: Azrock Z97 Extreme 6, 4790K@4.7Ghz, 32gb ram, Corsair H110, Win10 Pro 64, Samsung 850 pro, E7.5/8.5/E9 on separate SSD drives, HD Spark, Intensity Shuttle, 12tb RAID 0 on backplane ,2 BD, Benq 27 and Hanns-G 28 monitors, CC 2019, GTX 1080ti SC Black.
Both systems on Gigabit network
Second System: EditHD Ultimax-i7, X58, 980x@3.74, Corsair H80, Win764, 24gb ram, Storm 3g, Samsung 840 Pro 256, 4tb and 6tb RAID 0 on backplane, GTX 980ti Classified, Edius 9, Apple 30", Samsung 24", dual BD.
Jerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 03:33 PM   #7
createmedia
Senior Member
 
createmedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Four Marks, Alton, UK
Posts: 1,258
Default

..and playout of H265/H264 material, I can get the H265 export covered by Edius>XAVC>TMPEG Mastertingworks7

There is one thing I have never understood, in that any file that Edius finds difficulty in playing back always plays fine on the desktop, so the PC itself is perfectly capable, but there again often the players have GPU hardware acceleration they can use, which Edius generally doesn't use.

For the Xeon PC that would of course be our best solution.

It is a lot of expense just to get QuickSync working, and as you can see it's not the easiest of hardware setups to get working.


Mike
__________________
Sys4: Z10PE-D16WS MB 2xE5-2696 Xeon 64 active logical cores. EWG9. 64G RAM. Aorus GTX1080Ti. 55" Q7 1500 NIT HDR 4K TV/Storm 3G Elite/Decklink 4K 12G/8CH audio monitoring, Yamaha RXA-870 A/V. Sys1-3 EWG8 + RX-E1+HDBX1000 MIP in HP xw8600 2 x X5492 CPU 8 cores, 8Gig RAM, Quadro FX3800. All sys Fibre to central media pool - 5TB Axus Yotta RAID + QLogic Fibre Switch. Central VCR rack plus YUV & audio to viewing room with Yamaha AX1 7.1 100 watt per channel amp with 1000W sub 63" HD 3D Samsung TV
createmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 9 - how many pc's robjac Editing with EDIUS 1 08-03-2019 01:28 PM
New i7 PC vs. Refubished Xeon PC Alpha Video EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 5 11-21-2017 09:15 AM
Edius on 2 PC's Videostar Editing with EDIUS 1 04-27-2014 11:29 PM
Problems with projects created on 1 PC when played back another PC Alpha Video Editing with EDIUS 10 10-23-2013 06:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.