Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2018, 03:06 AM   #1
madamisela
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: australia
Posts: 2
Default simple audio mixdown

Hi, I have audio clips on 1A and 2A. I would like to mix them down, to create a new clip just on 1A. Possible?
Many thanks.
madamisela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 04:30 AM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madamisela View Post
Hi, I have audio clips on 1A and 2A. I would like to mix them down, to create a new clip just on 1A. Possible?
Many thanks.
There is no "audio mixdown" function like in Media Composer, but you can export a wav file and then lay it on the timeline where you want it. End result is the same, but just requires manual placement.
__________________
Edius WG 9.21.3770, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 08:47 AM   #3
Captain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 235
Default

As a workaround you could do your audio mix in a separate sequence, then drag this into your main sequence and kill the video part.

The disadvantage: you would not be able to see the waveform in your main sequence since GrassValley has not implemented this for several years now.
__________________
Intel Core i7-7820X ---- Noctua NH-D15S ---- MSI X299 GAMING M7 ACK ---- 64GB RAM 2666-15 Corsair Dominator Platinum ---- 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 (system SSD) ---- 512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 (data SSD) ---- Aorus Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti ---- be quiet! SILENT BASE 600 Case ---- be quiet! Dark P. Pro P11 850W ---- Win10 Pro ---- Edius WG 8.53.2808
Captain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 12:14 PM   #4
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain View Post
As a workaround you could do your audio mix in a separate sequence, then drag this into your main sequence and kill the video part.

The disadvantage: you would not be able to see the waveform in your main sequence since GrassValley has not implemented this for several years now.
That's why I didn't suggest the nested sequence approach. Missing waveforms during an edit is not really desirable for me.
__________________
Edius WG 9.21.3770, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600)
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 12:53 PM   #5
kpot
Senior Member
 
kpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: WN, Austria
Posts: 913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BernH View Post
That's why I didn't suggest the nested sequence approach. Missing waveforms during an edit is not really desirable for me.
Me too !!
And I suppose not acceptable for any Cutter.

// The counterpart would be if a nested sequence would show no image and only an audio waveform.
I guess everybody thinks this case is crazy. The symmetrical case (picture is shown, audio is not) one seriously (????) believes to accept.
Nobody understands that.

Regards kurt
__________________
Intel core i7-6700K / ASUS Z100A / 32 GB RAM / Intel HD Graphics 530 / SSD Systemdrive / Gigabyte GeForce GT 1070 / Win-10/64 Pro (V-1803/17134.1) / EDIUS-9.21(3770) WG / Mercalli V2 and V4 Plugin (64bit) / Zonealarm(Firewall etc) / ImgBurn / PhantomDrive / PowerDVD etc.
// Read > Test > Understand
kpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 05:29 AM   #6
madamisela
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: australia
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks everyone for your help.
madamisela is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio / Video mixdown Chismoso Editing with EDIUS 3 06-21-2016 12:41 AM
Simple dissolve Dancer Editing with EDIUS 10 02-03-2016 12:42 PM
A simple audio fade out in Edius 6 balagan9 Editing with EDIUS 2 10-01-2013 02:19 PM
OK - I know there's a simple answer ! ! AJL14 Editing with EDIUS 16 05-12-2010 11:58 PM
Simple question... Windjammer Editing with EDIUS 4 09-15-2007 06:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.