Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2018, 08:47 AM   #11
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zvit View Post
I NEVER use the option to open "last recovered file" since I learned that it does NOT open the last saved file. I go into the "backup" and "autosave" folders and check the "date-modified" property and open the last one that way. This always works.
I do exactly the same
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 10:32 AM   #12
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zvit View Post
This would happen on rare occasions with previous version of Edius but with v9+(WG) it's happening almost every time I open Edius.

I double click the Edius icon, or a project file, and an EDIUS process will start and show in the Windows Process Manager but no GUI interface will start. Not the loading window and not the program itself. Since I know this already, and have figured out a work-around, what I have been doing is immediately after double clicking Edius, I go to the Windows task manager and end the Edius process. THEN I double click whatever I want and Edius will open properly.

Also, after exiting Edius, the process doesn't close and every time I exit Edius, I have to end it's process in the task manager. (THIS never happened before v9)

I can't confirm it's a "bug" until someone else reports that they have the same issue.
This is most likely caused by one of the outdated plugs you just copied from the EDIUS 8 folder (as mentioned in a another thread of yours)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 07:16 AM   #13
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,120
Default

I didn't check the plugin thing yet but I can now confirm and explain exactly what is happening.

The reason I can't at first, double click to open Edius is because an Edius process is still open.

Whenever I close Edius, either with the X or by file\exit, the Edius GUI will close but the EDIUS.exe process will still be open.

taskkill in a command prompt does not work and returns an error that the process is not open, even though in tasklist you see it IS open. (screenshot)

This command does NOT close the Edius process:
Taskkill /IM EDIUS.exe /F

But I found a command prompt that WILL close it:
wmic process where name="EDIUS.exe" call terminate

So I created an autohotkey file with this command, made an icon for it and pinned it to the taskbar. When I click it, it will terminate the Edius process. So that's what I'll do before opening Edius - until I investigate the plugin thing.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 07:27 AM   #14
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,653
Default

I would rather find and fix the outdated plugin
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 07:43 AM   #15
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,120
Default

Ok, did a quick check. Moved the NewBlueFX folder away from EDIUS plugins folder and Edius closes fine.

But there are 259 files in the NewBlueFX folder... I am not going to put back 1 file at a time and restart Edius each time, to find the culprit.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 07:49 AM   #16
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,653
Default

there is no need to do one at a time

if you open the NewBlue Info panel on any filter, it will show you which plugins have an update available
Attached Images
File Type: png AVP-0254.png (95.1 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 08:16 AM   #17
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,120
Default

Ok, maybe I got lucky. Before I read this, I said to myself "I'll put the NewBlue folder back for now and deal with it later."

I put the NewBlue folder back and now Edius closes properly! I tried several times. Strange.
Maybe some bits were on a bad sector or something and moving them away and back, copied them to a different, good sector of the disk.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 08:21 AM   #18
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zvit View Post
Ok, maybe I got lucky. Before I read this, I said to myself "I'll put the NewBlue folder back for now and deal with it later."

I put the NewBlue folder back and now Edius closes properly! I tried several times. Strange.
Maybe some bits were on a bad sector or something and moving them away and back, copied them to a different, good sector of the disk.
don't speak too soon

you need to actually apply one of the outdated filters or transitions before you experience the issue upon closing :)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 08:43 AM   #19
zvit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
don't speak too soon

you need to actually apply one of the outdated filters or transitions before you experience the issue upon closing :)
There are applied. that's why when I moved the folder and opened Edius, I got a "dummy plugin" warning.
__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH, Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz, 4 Core, 8 Threads, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB, 500GB SSD HDD for OS, 20 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity, Window 7 Ultimate 64-bit Edius 8.53 WORKSTATION...
zvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 10:28 AM   #20
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zvit View Post
There are applied. that's why when I moved the folder and opened Edius, I got a "dummy plugin" warning.
yes, but now you need to access them to cause the issue, open a few of the settings and then save and exit and it will hang
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edius 6 not starting sasa23 Editing with EDIUS 1 12-18-2015 09:43 PM
Edius not starting slapper6875 Editing with EDIUS 1 11-04-2014 06:13 AM
Error starting Edius haitham786 Editing with EDIUS 5 09-23-2014 11:36 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.