Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2018, 10:10 AM   #1
Paul Macro
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Default Layouter cropping

How do i use layouter to crop my 4k image to say 50% but still keep aspect ratio using edius 8 every thing i try does not effect the clip do i have to import the 4k as 1080 to achieve a crop.
Paul Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 10:29 AM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,653
Default

is your project setting 1080 or 2160?
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 01:21 PM   #3
Paul Macro
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Default

Right how do i check .i imported project setting at 2160 or 4k 60 p so i assume this is the issue .
Paul Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 01:38 PM   #4
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,653
Default

you go to settings, project settings and then click change current settings and you will see all settings

my question should have been, what is your desired outcome

do you want to use 4k clips in a HD project so that you can zoom and position 4k clips without quality drop? If so, this is simple with x scale and x and y position or by dragging handles and positioning

make sure project is set to Lanczos3 HQ for best downscaling
Attached Files
File Type: mp4 AVP-0054.mp4 (6.26 MB, 16 views)
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 03:05 PM   #5
Paul Macro
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Default

Ok thanks answered my questions as will use 4k to downsample to 1080 and export thankyou.
Paul Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 04:05 PM   #6
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,454
Default

Go to Settings>Project Settings.
__________________
Main System: i7 6950X OC to 4.5GHz, ASUS RAMPAGE V EDITION 10, Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB DDR4 2800, SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB , GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition, Corsair AX1200i PS, Phanteks Luxe Case, 16TB RAID (4)HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, Corsair H115i CPU Cooler, AJA Kona 4, BMD Intensity Pro 4K, Win 10
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 05:24 PM   #7
Paul Macro
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sussex
Posts: 42
Default

I can not see Lanczos3 HQ as a option .Ok got it resampling method as my subject is moving do i use smoother best for motion ?
Paul Macro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 11:55 PM   #8
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 20,653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Macro View Post
I can not see Lanczos3 HQ as a option .Ok got it resampling method as my subject is moving do i use smoother best for motion ?
use Lanczos3 high quality
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG & EDIUS 7.53 with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 850 Pro SSD for System, 4 WD RE4 2TB in Raid5 for Video, Adaptec Raid Controller, 4 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cropping a video? burnandreturn Editing with EDIUS 2 08-14-2014 08:01 PM
auto-cropping in 1.6.6 Jimbo GV Edge 1 08-04-2014 11:18 AM
Which filter do I use for cropping? John Hooper Editing with EDIUS 3 04-26-2010 09:09 AM
Cropping with Chromakey Nobby Tucker Editing with EDIUS 4 01-07-2010 12:18 PM
Cropping possible in Edius? dwchd Editing with EDIUS 2 07-24-2007 03:35 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.