Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2013, 10:56 PM   #1
skimmel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philly
Posts: 120
Default Reading Timecode from Audio

I apologize if I'm not asking this clearly (I'm new to timecode stuff), but is there anyway for Edius to read LTC timecode from an audio track and put it on the corresponding video track?

Specifically, I'm thinking of sending LTC timecode to an audio track on my Blackmagic camera and then using that as timecode to sync the video with video from several other cameras. Will that work?

Thanks.
skimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 09:55 AM   #2
Karsten Fischer
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 62
Default

Like we did ages ago in burning timecode onto the first couple of minutes on tapes before shooting? Honestly I don't think so, but thats just my gut feeling. You might be able to use the BMD Camera as a master by setting the TC manually there and connecting the other cameras to it and let them get their TC from it. Last time I did shooting with multiple cameras, however, that was in fact not as easy as we thought. YMMV, of course, but remember to bring a clapper board just in case...
Karsten Fischer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 04:27 PM   #3
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Not sure I'm following 100% but, it sounds like you want to record an LTC signal onto an audio track, then bring the audio track into EDIUS and tell EDIUS, "Hey, that's not really audio, it's LTC"

If that's the case, yeah, no way to do that. Reminds me of the early VHS days... Toshiba (?) had a VCR that could use the video track to record super Hi-Fi audio onto a VHS tape. Problem is, only specific VCR models could play the super Hi-Fi tape, as it was a non-standard use of the medium.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 04:53 PM   #4
skimmel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philly
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_BH View Post
Not sure I'm following 100% but, it sounds like you want to record an LTC signal onto an audio track, then bring the audio track into EDIUS and tell EDIUS, "Hey, that's not really audio, it's LTC"

If that's the case, yeah, no way to do that. Reminds me of the early VHS days... Toshiba (?) had a VCR that could use the video track to record super Hi-Fi audio onto a VHS tape. Problem is, only specific VCR models could play the super Hi-Fi tape, as it was a non-standard use of the medium.
That's exactly right! Oh well. Turns out, Resolve will do this now (recent edition). If anyone wants a link to discussion of that over in blackmagic forum, just let me know.

Anyway, would be an interesting thing to add to Edius, since it's the only way (I know of at least) to get timecode into a camera that doesn't have jam-able timecode.
skimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 05:00 PM   #5
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Who knows, if this practice becomes more common, EDIUS might get a way (or perhaps a plug-in from a third party) to do it!
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:58 PM   #6
xeberdee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skimmel View Post
Anyway, would be an interesting thing to add to Edius, since it's the only way (I know of at least) to get timecode into a camera that doesn't have jam-able timecode.
Sounds like a work around to me and a step backwards - rather than a useable feature request to implement. Clapboard job or more prof camera setup IMHO.
__________________
¤ž€ß¤
xeberdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:03 PM   #7
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xeberdee View Post
Sounds like a work around to me and a step backwards - rather than a useable feature request to implement. Clapboard job or more prof camera setup IMHO.
While I don't disagree, similar things have already happened in the digital still camera world... Shrinking budgets fuel workarounds and innovation/hackery.

"Do it right" has often been replaced by "Just do it" everywhere.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:40 PM   #8
skimmel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philly
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xeberdee View Post
Sounds like a work around to me and a step backwards - rather than a useable feature request to implement. Clapboard job or more prof camera setup IMHO.
Clapboard: won't work for many of the settings I'm in as they are live theatre/music productions with many starts/stops and I can't clapboard.

More prof setup: would love that if I had the $.

Anyway, Resolve has done this and apparently Avid does as well, so maybe Edius will add.
skimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:53 AM   #9
Karsten Fischer
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 62
Default

I'm not too sure this might be helpful, but you might want to read this:
http://jwsoundgroup.net/index.php?/t...bwf-timestamp/
Karsten Fischer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 11:07 AM   #10
vortigern
Senior Member
 
vortigern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london
Posts: 624
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karsten Fischer View Post
Like we did ages ago in burning timecode onto the first couple of minutes on tapes before shooting? Honestly I don't think so, but thats just my gut feeling. You might be able to use the BMD Camera as a master by setting the TC manually there and connecting the other cameras to it and let them get their TC from it. Last time I did shooting with multiple cameras, however, that was in fact not as easy as we thought. YMMV, of course, but remember to bring a clapper board just in case...

Or even more ages ago bring back the rubber number machine!
__________________
E9 PRO ,Intensity Pro capture Nvidia 650 TI LG 3D Monitor HDMI Win 10 PRO 64 Bit.Vistitle 2.6, Robuskey. ASUS Z370 I7 8700 16 GB Hyper X black RAM 250GB 960 EVO. 2 ITB Disks
vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No audio in multicam timecode sync skimmel Editing with EDIUS 7 05-16-2013 12:23 PM
how to get rid of audio/timecode meters jimstamos Editing with EDIUS 6 04-26-2011 03:01 PM
Books for reading on DVD adspencer Editing with EDIUS 5 04-05-2009 01:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.