Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2020, 02:50 AM   #1
slarti
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Default Edius Neo 3 crashing

Hey all,
It's been a little while since I last used Edius Neo 3, but prevsiouly had no issues at all.

I'm now having a problem where once it starts, the sound is horribly overdriven and then it immediatly crashse with no specific error.

What' I have found is copied below:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: EDIUS Neo.exe
Application Version: 6.0.0.9
Application Timestamp: 4cae1f01
Fault Module Name: cseavchd.dll
Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.1
Fault Module Timestamp: 4bd794e1
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000566c1
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

I'm on Windows 7. any ideas?

Thx
__________________
Edius 9.5 (2) GeForce GTX 580, Intel Core i7-3930K CPU OC 4.2 GHz, 16GB RAM Win 7 Ultimate
slarti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 05:18 AM   #2
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slarti View Post
Hey all,
It's been a little while since I last used Edius Neo 3, but prevsiouly had no issues at all.

I'm now having a problem where once it starts, the sound is horribly overdriven and then it immediatly crashse with no specific error.

What' I have found is copied below:
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: EDIUS Neo.exe
Application Version: 6.0.0.9
Application Timestamp: 4cae1f01
Fault Module Name: cseavchd.dll
Fault Module Version: 1.0.0.1
Fault Module Timestamp: 4bd794e1
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 000566c1
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

I'm on Windows 7. any ideas?

Thx
I'm not familiar with Edius Neo and the exact file types it could use, but the crash info you posted hints at a fault with cseavchd.dll. This is likely used in decoding an avchd encoded video file. Are these files from a source that you used before without problem or are they from a new camera?

If you have used these before, I would try a re-install of Edius so that you get fresh files in case something has been corrupted. A re-install of Quicktime may also help for the same reason.

If these are files from a new source, a re-install as I just noted may help for the same reasons, but the files may be a type that Edius Neo does not have the decoders to handle, since it has been discontinued for 3 or 4 years, and a newer camera may produce files it can't handle.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 12:09 AM   #3
slarti
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks for the reply Bernh.
First, I understand that Edius Neo is no longer available not supported, but I've continued to use it because I was reluctant to drop the dime to upgrade and for what I do it works fine, or it has to this point.

This is a new project that I'm creating with some YouTube captures, but it's also done this on some older projects that I've never had issue with.

I'm hoping that maybe something just got corrupted with that file.

So, if I reinstall Edius, can I just install over the current installation or do I have to uninstall first?

Thx
__________________
Edius 9.5 (2) GeForce GTX 580, Intel Core i7-3930K CPU OC 4.2 GHz, 16GB RAM Win 7 Ultimate
slarti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 12:20 AM   #4
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slarti View Post
Thanks for the reply Bernh.
First, I understand that Edius Neo is no longer available not supported, but I've continued to use it because I was reluctant to drop the dime to upgrade and for what I do it works fine, or it has to this point.

This is a new project that I'm creating with some YouTube captures, but it's also done this on some older projects that I've never had issue with.

I'm hoping that maybe something just got corrupted with that file.

So, if I reinstall Edius, can I just install over the current installation or do I have to uninstall first?

Thx
Once again, I'm not that familiar with Edius Neo, so that is a qustion I can't specifically answer.

In more general terms though, when I have an issue like this with any piece of software, often installing over the top of itself can fix things, if it allows you to do it. Sometimes the installer that is used will refuse to continue because the software is already installed and you need to uninstall first.

I don't know if Neo is like it's big brother in that you can have multiple user profiles, but if it is, try a new user profile first. If that doesn't work, try re-installing Quicktime, and if that doesn't work try re-installing Neo.

That would be the logical order to attack the problem.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 03:03 AM   #5
slarti
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks BernH

Anyone else that might be able to help? I tried doing a re-install but it first wants to uninstall.

If I do this, will I lose all my current and past projects?
__________________
Edius 9.5 (2) GeForce GTX 580, Intel Core i7-3930K CPU OC 4.2 GHz, 16GB RAM Win 7 Ultimate
slarti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 03:35 AM   #6
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,302
Default

you won't lose anything by uninstall and reinstall
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 05:28 AM   #7
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slarti View Post
Thanks BernH

Anyone else that might be able to help? I tried doing a re-install but it first wants to uninstall.

If I do this, will I lose all my current and past projects?
Projects are not removed when uninstalling. Only the filer that the installer created are removed. Installing again puts fresh copies of them back.

It's the same as if you uninstalled Word from your computer. It would not delete all the documents that you have written over the last 5 years.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 05:48 PM   #8
slarti
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Default

Hey guys, thanks for the assist. I uninstalled and reinstalled. I've not had a crash, but the sound is still totally overdriven, its like its turned up to 11. I have no issues with other applications and sound. It's totally normal while browsing or playing games or viewing DVD/Blu-Ray.

Any ideas?

I keep getting this when I try and view any projects...."device doesn't' support current format, switching to SW mode" Is this related.


Thx.
__________________
Edius 9.5 (2) GeForce GTX 580, Intel Core i7-3930K CPU OC 4.2 GHz, 16GB RAM Win 7 Ultimate
slarti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 11:22 PM   #9
BernH
Senior Member
 
BernH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: St. John's, NL, Canada
Posts: 1,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slarti View Post
Hey guys, thanks for the assist. I uninstalled and reinstalled. I've not had a crash, but the sound is still totally overdriven, its like its turned up to 11. I have no issues with other applications and sound. It's totally normal while browsing or playing games or viewing DVD/Blu-Ray.

Any ideas?

I keep getting this when I try and view any projects...."device doesn't' support current format, switching to SW mode" Is this related.


Thx.
That error means that your video output device does not support the format of your project/timeline. Assuming Neo works like full Edius, if you have no output device this is also normal as the default device is set for OHCI (essentially a firewire compatible device), which does not support certain settings like 10bit.

The overdriven audio may be a problem with the audio mappings doubling up in the outputs, or it may be related to Neo not supporting the source file format.

Anton may be better to answer Neo specific questions, as I have never used it, but I'm sure he as sold and configured it in the past.
__________________
Edius WG 9.51.5619, various 3rd party plugins, VisTitle 2.8.0.5, Win 7 Ultimate SP1, i7-4790K @ 4GHz with HD4600 GPU embedded, MSI Z97 Gaming 7 Motherboard, 32GB Kingston HyperX RAM, nVidia GTX680 4GB GPU, Matrox MX02 Mini MAX, Corsair 750W PSU, Corsair H110i GT Water Cooler, Corsair C70 case, 4TB Internal RAID 0/stripe (2x2TB Seagate SATAIII HDD's, Win7 Software RAID 0/stripe), 1TB Crucial MX500 SSD, Pioneer BDR-207D, Dual 1920x1080 monitors (one on GTX680 and one on Intel HD4600).

Last edited by BernH; 01-26-2020 at 06:07 AM.
BernH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 11:37 PM   #10
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 22,302
Default

I have not seen or sold Neo3 but I did sell and install a Neo2

Can I see a screenshot of the timeline with audio waveforms visible

also, a screenshot of project settings

as mentioned, the error you see about device not supported is normal if your project setting is say 1920x1080, ignore this error or turn off that useless warning if Neo3 lets you turn it off https://www.videoproductions.com.au/.../edius9-11.png
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Gigabyte X299 UD4 Pro, Intel Core i9 9960X 16 Core, 32 Threads @ 4.3Ghz, Corsair Water Cooling, Gigabyte RTX-2070 Super 3X 8GB Video Card, Samsung 860 Pro 512GB SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 2 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Phanteks Enthoo Pro XL Tower, Corsair 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win10 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EDIUS 7.2 Crashing ntbone Editing with EDIUS 4 09-29-2013 01:30 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.