Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2014, 09:14 PM   #1
Mike Truly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Crested Butte, CO USA
Posts: 619
Default Edius Playout Card

My work involves producing files for digital delivery (I don't need to capture from cameras as my work is rendered 3D animations). My current Edius6 workstation runs NX+expansion.

I am building a new workstation and will be upgrading to Edius7.5. I preview on a 52" HDTV with component and HDMI in (I use component at the moment). This new workstation will have an external RAID5 for clips which connects via USB3 or ESATA connection (the new workstation does not currently have an ESATA connection... the notebook workstation does).

I have not been keeping up with all the various changes with GV video cards. I am looking to put a card into the workstation for previewing Edius timeline and would like to be able to do 10bit HD1080p.

It seems the BM products (Shuttle for USB3) may be the best way to go. Does this card/box work well with Edius? If the RAID5 is on the USB3 will that affect the BM Shuttle working properly?

Thanks for any ideas!
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
----------------------------------------------------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com

System1: Edius 7.41|Storm Mobile|Dual Xeon 3.1 (20 cores w HT OFF)|128GB RAM|Dual 512 SSDs|7TB RAID5|Dual Quadro5000s|Win7_64

System2: EdiusNX+Exp|Edius 6.03|Procoder3|XP32|Dual Xeon 3.6|4GB RAM|U320 RAID0 15K
Mike Truly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 11:24 PM   #2
antonsvideo
Senior Member
 
antonsvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 21,653
Default

be warned that analogue capture is faulty on the BM 4k extreme

it captures 0-255 levels instead of 16/235

as a result, blacks are crushed and whites are too high

it has been reported 12 months ago to BM, but so far no fix
__________________
Anton Strauss
Antons Video Productions - Sydney

EDIUS 9 WG with Matrox MXO2, Asrock X99 Extreme 6, Intel Core i7 5960X Extreme Haswell-E 8-Core, Corsair Water Cooling, Nvidia Geforce GTX-980, Samsung 860 Pro SSD for System, 8TB Samsung Raid0 SSD for Video, 3 Pioneer BDR-209 Blu-ray/DVD burners, Hotswap Bay for 3.5" Sata and 2.5" SSD, Fractal Design Arc XL Tower, 32GB DDR4 Ram, Win7 Pro
antonsvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 10:42 AM   #3
Mike Truly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Crested Butte, CO USA
Posts: 619
Default

Thanks very much to all for the info!

For now, I've decided to let the 10bit 1080p wait, and let the 4k world settle a bit before retooling for that. So I've gone with the Storm Mobile to seamlessly integrate into my current video hardware setup.

Thanks again.
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
----------------------------------------------------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com

System1: Edius 7.41|Storm Mobile|Dual Xeon 3.1 (20 cores w HT OFF)|128GB RAM|Dual 512 SSDs|7TB RAID5|Dual Quadro5000s|Win7_64

System2: EdiusNX+Exp|Edius 6.03|Procoder3|XP32|Dual Xeon 3.6|4GB RAM|U320 RAID0 15K
Mike Truly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2014, 07:28 PM   #4
Liverpool TV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Liverpool, England.
Posts: 2,788
Default

Hi Mike.

If it's only playout and HD, you wont find anything near the price of a mini monitor https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...specs/W-DLK-05 One of my systems uses this, and it is great. Buying anything else may be a waste of money if you are not ingesting or doing anything above 10bit standard frame rates HD. And it will work with other software.

Cheers,
Dave.
__________________
"There's only one thing more powerful than knowledge. The free sharing of it"

If you don't know the difference between Azimuth and Asimov, then either your tapes sound bad and your Robot is very dangerous. Kill all humans...... Or your tape deck won't harm a human, and your Robot's tracking and stereo imagining is spot on.

Is your Robot three laws safe?
Liverpool TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014, 01:48 AM   #5
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,780
Default

For some reason though they do not support 1080p60. Not even all the 4k models do either.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014, 07:49 AM   #6
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

Any of the Decklink cards that use a PCI-e 1x interface can't support 1080p60 as they use PCI-e 1 which doesn't have the bandwidth to do 1080p60 uncompressed.

Which of the 4K cards don't officially support 1080p60?
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014, 02:02 PM   #7
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,780
Default

Well unless I am reading the specs wrong the only one that supports 3840x2160p60 is the Decklink 4K Extreme 12G. The 4K boards do support HD at 60P. None of the shuttle series appears to support HD at 60P so one would have to go to a 4K series for HD at 60P but other than the most expensive of those boards will not do 4K at 60P.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2014, 02:26 PM   #8
Ron Evans
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,780
Default

Yes, my thoughts these days are on 4k for things I buy. Sorry for the confusion. Would need an SDI monitor. There doesn't appear to be a simple HDMI 2.0 version that I can see from anyone.

Ron Evans
__________________
Ron Evans

Threadripper 1920 stock clock 3.7, Gigabyte Designare X399 MB, 32G G.Skill 3200CL14, 500G M.2 SATA OS, 500G EVO 850 temp. 1T EVO 850 render, 6T Source, 2 x 1T NVME, MSI 1080Ti 11G , EVGA 850 G2, LG BLuray Burner, BM IP4K, WIN10 Pro

ASUS PB328 monitor, BenQ BL2711U 4K preview monitor, EDIUS 8.53WG, Vegas 16, Resolve Studio 16


Cameras: GH5S, GH5, FDR-AX100, FDR-AX53, DJI OSMO Pocket, Atomos Ninja V
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2014, 08:05 AM   #9
Adbear
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 2,002
Default

What's annoying is that the earlier drivers for the USB 3 Shuttle did support 1080p60 but they pulled it, I assume due to all the compatibility issues with USB 3 controllers. I would have thought though that now they seem to have got the USB 3 controller issue under better control and are using the same external box with Thunderbolt that they should be able to put that option back in, at least for the TB version
__________________
DVC Built Clevo P775DM3-G Laptop with UHD screen, 7700K CPU@4.9Ghz, Geforce GTX 1060 6GB GPU, 500GB M.2 Primary, 1x 480GB SSD, 1x1TB M.2, 1x 2TB 5400RPM Video drives, external Blu-ray Optical
Adbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 10:03 PM   #10
Mike Truly
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Crested Butte, CO USA
Posts: 619
Default

Thanks to all for the ideas!

For now, I went with the Storm Mobile only because I wanted it to be GV (to work well with Edius) and needed to get 2 new copies of Edius anyway (and my upgrade options were limited as I was a bit far back) and I didn't want to perturb my existing display/video setup, etc. (I am currently driving everything component ATM and didn't want to mess with cabling). I also figure that the UHD world will settle a bit and prices will drop in the future and most of my work currently doesn't go above HD.

So far, the Storm Mobile seems to work fine for my simple needs.

Thanks again.
__________________
Sincerely,

Mike Truly
----------------------------------------------------------------
Truly Media
970.349.5651
www.trulymedia.com

System1: Edius 7.41|Storm Mobile|Dual Xeon 3.1 (20 cores w HT OFF)|128GB RAM|Dual 512 SSDs|7TB RAID5|Dual Quadro5000s|Win7_64

System2: EdiusNX+Exp|Edius 6.03|Procoder3|XP32|Dual Xeon 3.6|4GB RAM|U320 RAID0 15K
Mike Truly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manual playout of clips techopsnocsupport GV Edge 1 08-05-2016 02:32 AM
EDIUS 7: always 1GB DVD playout! Nervosibert Editing with EDIUS 4 08-26-2013 03:54 AM
Cheap playout solution Aristotelis ADVC 8 01-23-2008 08:32 PM
Playout record Monitor Blank mtocon Editing with EDIUS 1 09-20-2007 09:27 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.