Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ProCoder

Old 04-17-2009, 01:58 AM   #1
relaxotan

Default jvc HDV 720/24p conversion

hi,

I'm a journalism student, and together with a fellow student and a camerawoman i made a big roadtrip trough Eastern Europe. The camerawoman filmed everything with her JVC camera ( http://pro.jvc.com/prof/attributes/f...&feature_id=01 ).

She loaded the tapes into her mac, and cut them into small chunks.

I got these files from her, it were like 3000 .mov files. When i tried to open them the first problem came. Quicktime didn't want to open the movies..

I found out i could buy a codec that could actualy play these files, so i bought a codec from callibrated xd, i payed 60 euro for it. This was my first stupid move, because i didn't try this codec in demo before i bought it. Quicktime did succesfully open the files, but my editing software did not.
When i tried to convert the files with QT and some QT based converters they all gave some strange error, 60 bucks and 2 days waiting for the codec lost..

I found out these .mov files actualy were mpg files, so after renaming them they played in windows media player without any problem.

I tried loading the files into my editing software (avid liquid). But liquid did not recognise the audio because it was in the sowt codec. then i found out i could transcode the audio with videolan mediaplayer to the mpg audio codec.

I transcoded one file, loaded it into liquid , and after a quick checkup i thought the files played fine after the audio transcoding. Only after transcoding the 3000 files (i tried writing a batch script, but it was a little buggy so i had to press the X button 3000 times), i imported my files into liquid, only to find out that the audio actualy was out of sync! (stupid me again, i should have checked it better).