Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2012, 12:34 PM   #1
vgtah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 604
Default Dead Pixel | what about finding a solution

Hello,

i wonder how kill a dead pixel on edius,

i try many things...but nothing good,

is anyone succeed in such thing (5d trouble, never on my gh2)

thanks to the gv community
vgtah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:37 PM   #2
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,902
Default

Maybe use an adjacent pixel to overlay the dead pixel?
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 01:19 PM   #3
vgtah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dpalomaki View Post
Maybe use an adjacent pixel to overlay the dead pixel?
I tried, it s very complicated and unsuccessful but ill try another time
i think it s the only good technic to do
vgtah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 02:19 PM   #4
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

It is very easy, takes only a few seconds to set up and it is realtime with Edius.
1. Duplicate your clip and put it right above.
2.On the top clip use the mask tool and draw as close as you can around the dead pixels and on the inside filter makes it 0% opacity, on the edge soften it a little
3. On the bottom clip, go into the layouter and change the position, click on the % to change to pixel value and move it a few pixel to the left or right and a few pixel to the top or bottom.
That is it.
__________________
I7-6900K, X99 Taichi, Geforce GTX 1070, Corsair RM850X, Corsair H100 IV2, Windows 10, Edius WG 9.30
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:10 AM   #5
THoff
Senior Member
 
THoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California, USA
Posts: 2,586
Default

Also, if all clips have the same defect, instead of applying Khoi's fix to each clip individually, you can do this using a nested sequence after you have edited your masterpiece. Just create a new sequence, and drop the sequence with your finished edit onto to two tracks in the new sequence.
THoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:51 AM   #6
Raja
Senior Member
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 625
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khoi Pham View Post
It is very easy, takes only a few seconds to set up and it is realtime with Edius.
1. Duplicate your clip and put it right above.
2.On the top clip use the mask tool and draw as close as you can around the dead pixels and on the inside filter makes it 0% opacity, on the edge soften it a little
3. On the bottom clip, go into the layouter and change the position, click on the % to change to pixel value and move it a few pixel to the left or right and a few pixel to the top or bottom.
That is it.
What a brilliant idea!
__________________
Raja Singh
Sadha Video
UK
1st:HDStorm+expansion bay,i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650,Lian Li PC-A7110B Tower Case,NEC 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
2nd:HDSpark, i7 3770K Ivy Bridge, Asus P8Z77-V,16Gb Corsair RAM,nvidia GT-650, Lian-Li case, Asus 24" Monitor,Win7 64bit,Vistitle 2.6,Edius 8.2
3rd:IntensityPro4K,i7 4790K,Asus Z97-K,16Gb Corsair RAM,Geforce GTX750Ti,Corsair case,Asus 24"Monitor, Win7 64bit,Vistitle2.6,Edius 8.2
Gigabit Ethernet
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:41 AM   #7
vgtah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khoi Pham View Post
It is very easy, takes only a few seconds to set up and it is realtime with Edius.
1. Duplicate your clip and put it right above.
2.On the top clip use the mask tool and draw as close as you can around the dead pixels and on the inside filter makes it 0% opacity, on the edge soften it a little
3. On the bottom clip, go into the layouter and change the position, click on the % to change to pixel value and move it a few pixel to the left or right and a few pixel to the top or bottom.
That is it.
sorry khoi but can you upload a video of what you did, this technic doesnt work in my case,

i duplicate the footage then masked the dead pixel (we can zoom until 10000 percent, crazy),
then softened the edge, then move the bottom original footage, still have something ugly...
vgtah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 02:21 PM   #8
Khoi Pham
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,071
Default

I don't have video capture program, make sure when you are in mask you click on the "inside" tab and change the opacity to 0%. I do this all the time and it does work.
__________________
I7-6900K, X99 Taichi, Geforce GTX 1070, Corsair RM850X, Corsair H100 IV2, Windows 10, Edius WG 9.30
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 03:38 PM   #9
vgtah
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khoi Pham View Post
I don't have video capture program, make sure when you are in mask you click on the "inside" tab and change the opacity to 0%. I do this all the time and it does work.
i did it...but this dead area then move
vgtah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 04:44 PM   #10
dpalomaki
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,902
Default

The method is to:
- put the original video on two layers.
- Make the dead pixel transparent on the top layer so the bottom layer shows through (at this point you should still see the dead pixel on the botton layer).
- shift The bottom layer slightly, by a pixel or two, as necessary so an adjacent good pixel shows through. In most cases this should be very close to what the bad pixel would have been, and be not noticeable to the typical viewer.
- Do not shift the top layer

Depending on the progarm material you may find that you need to cut and reshift the bottom layer occasionally to have a better match showing through the transparent point in the top layer.
dpalomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to fix a dead pixel/ hot pixel in edius Brookes Editing with EDIUS 17 07-04-2016 11:26 PM
Finding replaced dummy effects zvit Editing with EDIUS 1 12-06-2011 02:22 PM
Need recommendations on finding the right player/recorder rsol1981 EDIUS: Compatible Hardware and Accessories 6 02-04-2011 02:14 AM
Finding audio? skier-hughes Editing with EDIUS 8 03-29-2010 03:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.