Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2012, 11:39 AM   #1
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,383
Default Can I load HQ or HQX files to Final Cut timeline or other one?

Hi, I have just created some Canopus HQ and HQX files. Is it possible to load them to every editing software like Final Cut (Mac) or other one?
Thanks!
__________________
A lonely traveller looking for lost tribes: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwt...ChAIL3w/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 03:09 PM   #2
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,617
Default

FCP Not at this time.
The files will play in other Editing software on the Windows platform provided you install the decoding package on those machines. (not needed if EDIUS is installed on the same machine)
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support

Last edited by GrassValley_SL; 03-17-2012 at 03:55 PM.
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 04:01 PM   #3
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
FCP Not at this time.
The will play in other Editing software on the Windows platform provided you install the decoding package on those machines. (not needed if EDIUS is installed on the same machine)
Ok, thanks for your news! Therefore if I now have to store a file with international track for a possible sale to some TV newtorks in the next time, I think it is better saving it in AVCHD or mpeg2 or H.264 (with high bitrate). Is it so? My camera records AVCHD files.
__________________
A lonely traveller looking for lost tribes: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwt...ChAIL3w/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 04:09 PM   #4
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,617
Default

TV stations have their technical delivery requirements set in documents so I cannot say which format would be the best.
It depends on the requirements. Also check if AVCHD is allowed as aquisiton format.
(sometimes they purchase if the story is that good or well told ..... )

If you mean as a promo before sales H.264 may work.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 04:34 PM   #5
Ulisse
Senior Member
 
Ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Moroni
Posts: 1,383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_SL View Post
TV stations have their technical delivery requirements set in documents so I cannot say which format would be the best.
It depends on the requirements. Also check if AVCHD is allowed as aquisiton format.
A last question, please. In your opinion can I get the best video quality by AVCHD or mpeg2 file? I mean with high bitrate.
Thanks again one.
__________________
A lonely traveller looking for lost tribes: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwt...ChAIL3w/videos
CPU: Intel i9 7940X
MOTHERBOARD: Asus PRIME X299-DELUXE
VIDEOCARD: NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1080Ti
SSD Drive:
(C) 512GB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe (for Windows 10)
(D) 1TB Samsung 960 EVO PCIe M.2 NVMe
Ulisse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 05:40 PM   #6
GrassValley_PS
Moderator
 
GrassValley_PS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,675
Default

Without knowing the specific station requirements, MXF Mpeg2 is the broadcast format I have seen the most.
GrassValley_PS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 05:48 PM   #7
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,617
Default

I concur. Contrary to what some believe here on the forum. Most Tech notes ask for Mpeg2 for SD and for HD Mpeg 2 in MXF when going over FTP. At least the Networks I have dealt with.
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 06:39 PM   #8
Zorro
Senior Member
 
Zorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,089
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_PS View Post
Without knowing the specific station requirements, MXF Mpeg2 is the broadcast format I have seen the most.
In my part of the world nearly everyone uses XDCAM 422, even the Mac guys.
Zorro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 07:27 PM   #9
4Kover3D
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 271
Default

That's why "broadcast" quality these days has nothing to do with quality. 10x re-compressed XDCAM-HD- this is what quite often is feed to final online channel. If it would be at least smart rendering, but in 90% cases is not- it's 10 generation of MPEG2. Quite often these days home video is as good if not better than broadcast feeds. Well- it's all about bandwidth and how many another crap channels than can feed to customer :)
4Kover3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 07:47 PM   #10
GrassValley_SL
Moderator
 
GrassValley_SL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SA
Posts: 7,617
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorro View Post
In my part of the world nearly everyone uses XDCAM 422, even the Mac guys.
Which is MPEG-2 4:2:2P@HL
__________________
Steve


Please don't send me Private Messages for support. Contact Grass Valley support
GrassValley_SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compatibility with Final Cut Brrkee Editing with EDIUS 20 06-09-2010 05:53 PM
Final Cut Express newsguy24 Editing with EDIUS 10 05-05-2009 05:11 PM
Final Cut question kwshaw1 Editing with EDIUS 0 08-02-2007 03:29 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:41 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.