Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2010, 06:16 PM   #1
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,227
Default Split screen - how to?

Good morning,

We are shooting a video study for a chemical company, where two identical 1920x1080 cameras are trained on two chemical experiments. It is imperative that each camera maintain total and faithful definition in the final edit. I have been trying to do a "split screen" (left & right) between the two cameras in order to compare the minute differences in the experiement's reaction - without degrading either of the images. I tried using the EDIUS "PIP" - but that DOES degrade the resolution somewhat of one camera somewhat (because of the slight reduction in size) of even a "full screen" PIP.

If anyone has a method of splitting the screen without altering the definition or size of either part of the picture, I would greatly appreciate the tip. As well as I know EDIUS, I have so far been unable to attain this goal.

Many thanks,
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 06:23 PM   #2
GrassValley_CP
Grass Valley
 
GrassValley_CP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Jose
Posts: 358
Default

Did you try using the layout tool?

If you want to fit both clips side by side in the same frame, you're going to have to crop and resize--it will take some finessing, to be sure.
GrassValley_CP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 06:57 PM   #3
vortigern
Senior Member
 
vortigern's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: london
Posts: 620
Default

Broadcasters here in the UK do it and ignore the aspect ratio. The answer to fill the screen with two picture is I would have thought impossible. Playing about with the framing when shooting would be ideal but of course the framing would then be no good for single screen. But a combination of original framing and the layout tool which is brilliant in Edius should produce a satisfactory result.
__________________
E9 PRO ,Intensity Pro capture Nvidia 650 TI LG 3D Monitor HDMI Win 10 PRO 64 Bit.Vistitle 2.6, Robuskey. ASUS Z370 I7 8700 16 GB Hyper X black RAM 250GB 960 EVO. 2 ITB Disks
vortigern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 07:12 PM   #4
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Cropping in Layout will preserve the source resolution.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:10 PM   #5
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

Cropping and moving the pictures in Layout as needed will give your best result
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:11 PM   #6
Alter Ego
Senior Member
 
Alter Ego's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: North Wales, PA, USA
Posts: 412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrassValley_BH View Post
Cropping in Layout will preserve the source resolution.
Yes this is the way to go. You can move the crop without losing resolution, and zone right in the important part of the clip you want to feature.

I have been using the cropping function in the layout tool a lot lately. I love the layout tool. You can do a lot of cool things with it.
Alter Ego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 01:04 AM   #7
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,227
Default

Thanks all! Seems like it's unanimous - Layout tool it is!
Much appreciated.
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 07:34 PM   #8
ajcvideo
Senior Member
 
ajcvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Weymouth, MA
Posts: 597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJL14 View Post
Good morning,

We are shooting a video study for a chemical company, where two identical 1920x1080 cameras are trained on two chemical experiments. It is imperative that each camera maintain total and faithful definition in the final edit. I have been trying to do a "split screen" (left & right) between the two cameras in order to compare the minute differences in the experiement's reaction - without degrading either of the images. I tried using the EDIUS "PIP" - but that DOES degrade the resolution somewhat of one camera somewhat (because of the slight reduction in size) of even a "full screen" PIP.

If anyone has a method of splitting the screen without altering the definition or size of either part of the picture, I would greatly appreciate the tip. As well as I know EDIUS, I have so far been unable to attain this goal.

Many thanks,
Alan
Are you the same Alan Levi who directed Dr. Quinn from the early 90's?
__________________
Thanks,
Ara


Windows 10 Home 64 Bit, Edius 9.10.3086, Intel Z370X Motherboard, i7-8700K 4.7 GHz 6 core, 12 Thread LGA-1151 CPU, GTX-1080 8GB Graphics card, 500GB M.2 PCIe NVM SSD, 16 TB Raid 0 Media Drive, 32 GB DDR4 Memory, Intensity Pro 4K AV I/O, CS 5.51 Production Suite.
ajcvideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 07:53 PM   #9
pjsssss
Senior Member
 
pjsssss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 4,996
Default

One of his many accomplishments :-)
pjsssss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 08:22 PM   #10
AJL14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,227
Default

Yes, Ara, as Pat said - that'sa me! I was 12 years old at the time. (I wish!). Still at it - directing NCIS-Los Angeles, and still loving it. Thanks for the memories - and for remembering.
Cheers,
Alan
__________________
Alan J. Levi
Director

SYSTEM: ASUS P8Z77-VPro mobo, Intel 3770K CPU, 16 Gig Crucial 1866 RAM, Antec 1000W PS, EVGA nVidia 560Ti 1Gig Video, CoolerMaster CPU cooler, LG GGW-H20L BluRay DVD, SPARK card w/23" Samsung 1920x1080 Monitor, OCZ 240GB SSD boot in Swapable Tray & 3 WD Enterprise 1TB video RAID 5 HDD's. 4.5TB RAID 1 Outboard backups, Behringer2000 Audio Fader/Controller
AJL14 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split Screen with softedge? reelmoments Editing with EDIUS 5 03-12-2010 12:27 AM
Split the screen Kuba-XX Editing with EDIUS 3 12-07-2009 10:12 PM
Layout split screen not working for me k8_fan Editing with EDIUS 7 08-20-2009 07:45 AM
Step through split screen horse Editing with EDIUS 6 02-12-2008 08:27 PM
Best Method for Split Screen? Mike Truly Editing with EDIUS 5 08-23-2007 01:21 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Copyright 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.