Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2009, 10:46 PM   #1
ksharma
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Default ADVC300 newbie help!

Hi -

I have just purchased this great product and captured a bit of VHS. As with most VHS, the quality isn't great and I was wondering if there is any way of enhancing the transferred recordings (please see attached grainy image e.g. you can tell it is VHS just by looking at this screen grab right ?). I must say that the transferred sound is absolutely fine and am pleasantly surprised !

Also, sometimes on VHS tapes you get some grey lines that occassionally appear across the screen - is there any way of editing these out ?

Finally, is there any way of activating the hardware as a standalone controller i.e. using windows display settings to direct all PC output via SVHS to a normal TV ?

Thanks

Chris
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture 1.jpg (11.0 KB, 23 views)

Last edited by ksharma; 02-06-2009 at 06:13 PM.
ksharma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 09:31 PM   #2
GrassValley_BH
Demystifier/Analogizer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 5,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksharma View Post
Finally, is there any way of activating the hardware as a standalone controller i.e. using windows display settings to direct all PC output via SVHS to a normal TV ?
For this you should get a video card with TV output, or a TwinPact100. The ADVC only decodes DV-compressed data sent to it.

Besides, unless you have a HDTV and hardware that can output HD (again, video card with HDTV output), you're probably not going to like the results. SD TV is effectively only 640x480 resolution, anything more than that will need to be scaled down and will generally by fuzzy, if not worse.
GrassValley_BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Converters > ADVC
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is ADVC300 suitable for my purpose? rhubear ADVC 3 04-19-2008 02:22 PM
Final Cut Pro & ADVC300 Set uo rick200017 ADVC 0 04-03-2008 01:11 AM
ADVC300: Best settings for capturing from perfect sources hysteriah ADVC 5 10-08-2007 07:35 PM
using ADVC300 or NX for component out to external monitor T-Bone ADVC 6 10-02-2007 08:18 PM
ADVC300 - video signal from ADVC300 is turned in black / white. MichielM ADVC 2 09-11-2007 12:06 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.