Grass Valley Forums Facebook   Twitter   YouTube  

Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2010, 12:11 AM   #1
jerseydavis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Scotch Plains, NJ
Posts: 3
Default Edius ACADEMIC and Plug-ins

I have 5.5 Academic. I want to burn directly to DVD; but, under 'Exporting' options, the 'Burn Disk' option is ghosted (because there's no Corel plug-in). I now have the money to get MovieFactory Pro 7. I want to install it as a plug-in if possible. Can I? Anyone know how/where to get it? Prodad, for example, sells plug-in versions of its related software offerings. I can't find anything like that with Corel. Any help appreciated.
jerseydavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:50 AM   #2
Rusty
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,399
Default

Corel is not a "Plug-in" per se...
Burn to Disc may be unavailable if you are working in a non-compliant project, like Full HD or 24p
__________________
Rusty Rogers | Films
>TYAN S7025 - 32GB RAM, 2 x Xeon X5690's, 4 x 10k video HD's, Win10 x64, BM DecklinkHD, nVidia TITAN, 12TB DroboPro w/iSCISI connection
>RAZER BLADE - QHD+ - 16GB RAM, i7-6700HQ Quad, 512GB SSD, Win10 x64, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB

An inglorious peace is better than a dishonorable war.
Twain - "Glances at History" 1906
Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 09:16 PM   #3
jerseydavis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Scotch Plains, NJ
Posts: 3
Default Any other reasons then for no 'burn disk'?

OK. Thanks. So Corel works as a stand-alone (I'm guessing) and not a plug-in. Since I don't have the bundled 3-party stuff, well, I can't tell...
I'm not sure what 'compliant' is here, sorry. This is my very first project in Edius (my last, last year, was in an old Avid). It's 720P@60 in native AVCHD (from a Panasonic GH1). Why would 'burn disk' be ghosted at all? Couldn't I burn whatever I want to any disk that'll take it? At any rate, I'd like to be able to export the markers and such on my project to make it easier to construct the DVD, which is what I thought happened with the Corel/Edius connection.
jerseydavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 12:30 AM   #4
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default

what you will make
HD stream ... on a DVD ??
this is not conforming to standards .... some BD-player will it play well, someone will it not play well
with some DVD tool 's you can create this conforming DVD....not with Edius

for HD stream from Edius timeline with titles and chapters ... you need make a BD

DVD in low SD resolution ..... so it needs a SD Project in interlaced format

Edius "Disk Burner" is not a complette Authoring-Applikation like Encore
Edius "Disk Burner" is a quick and simple tool for DVD /BD with titles and chapters from timeline to disk
Edius "Disk Burner" as simple tool have some "limitation" .
one limitation is => DVD needs interlaced project ----like Rusty in above post tells

please, excuse my "fractal" english ... greetings from Central€urope

PS: this is in all Edius/Neo versions ... have nothing to do with your ACADEMIC-Version

@ not to jerseydavis ... but to all the "backdoors"
and why have we similar posts, ever and ever ??
why stand all this not in the manual??
__________________
CentralEurope aka Hans
voluntary / unpaid moderator from the german GV-forum ... Edius 4.61 up to Edius 9.xx
i9-7980XE 18cores/36threads - M.2 960PRO 512GB - M.2 970PRO 1TB - div. 2 or4TB disks - 32GB DDR4-3600 - GTX 1080 8GB - Win_10prof
[the AMD 1950X 16cores / 32 threads = go return because of massive problems, Not only I had these problems]
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 12:51 AM   #5
Bluetongue
Senior Member
 
Bluetongue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide South Australia
Posts: 2,197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerseydavis View Post
OK. Thanks. So Corel works as a stand-alone (I'm guessing) and not a plug-in. Since I don't have the bundled 3-party stuff, well, I can't tell...
I'm not sure what 'compliant' is here, sorry. This is my very first project in Edius (my last, last year, was in an old Avid). It's 720P@60 in native AVCHD (from a Panasonic GH1). Why would 'burn disk' be ghosted at all? Couldn't I burn whatever I want to any disk that'll take it? At any rate, I'd like to be able to export the markers and such on my project to make it easier to construct the DVD, which is what I thought happened with the Corel/Edius connection.
It seems you are working in "P" progressive format for your project
Edius will not burn a "P" DVD as it does not comply with the DVD specs although most players will handle it OK, usually turning it into interlaced for presentation to the TV depending on settings in the DVD player
Change your project to "Interlaced" and the Burn to DVD should appear
It dose not matter if you are working in HD or SD the "Burn to DVD" will appear when your project is "Interlaced"
Burning from the timeline your Markers will appear as chapters
With Corel this will not happen and you will have to set them up manually
If you were to use DVDLab then you could export the markers and import them as your chapters

Regards Barry
__________________
Win 10HP, EDIUS WG9.4, HD Spark, Boris RED 5, VMW6, Authorworks 6, Bluff Titler, VisTitler 2.8, NEAT 3/4, Mercalli 2/4, Vitascene, Izotope RX6 Plugin, NewBlue, Trend Micro AV
GB GA-X58A-UD3R MB, i7 990X@4G, 12G 1600mhz Mem, Samsung EVO-250G SSD, 3x2T RAID, GTX 970W OC, 2x24 inch LG Monitors
Canon XH-A1/ Canon HF-G30, GoPro Hero3 Black, Edit @1920 50p HQ preset

https://vimeo.com/user2157719/videos
Laptop ASUS G752VT-GC060T Win 10HP, Edius WG8.53 Samsung M2 SSD 256G+1Tb HD,
Bluetongue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 12:26 PM   #6
jerseydavis
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Scotch Plains, NJ
Posts: 3
Default very good stuff

and thanks to you all. I learned several things here. and yes, with AVCHD I (supposedly) can just lay it back down to disk and view it on my BD. This is what I'm learning. This is my first HD progressive project with AVCHD--and my first with Edius, so all this info is helpful. I'm just trying to find an efficient workstream with no transcoding (or little) if possible to keep things as pristine as Ii can. I googled and browsed these forums and the manual and couldn't find anything else. I'll check out DVDLab, too.
jerseydavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 05:45 PM   #7
CentralEurope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austria / Center from €urope
Posts: 1,688
Default

Quote:
I'm just trying to find an efficient workstream with no transcoding (or little)
If you make BD from timeline with chapters
There is no way for no (or little) transcoding, this end up always in a new full "rendergeneration"
Segmentencoding (smart rendering) is not aviable for AVCHD
Segmentencoding is only aviabel for HDV (or other mpeg)

I know only a unwritten "dirty trick" to burn a BD without any transcoding
and in cause to without transcoding, in only burn time. But this is limited to:
  • AVCHD files in full original lengt
  • each file is a (new) title
  • no chapter inside from a title
please, excuse my "fractal english.........greetings from Central€urope
__________________
CentralEurope aka Hans
voluntary / unpaid moderator from the german GV-forum ... Edius 4.61 up to Edius 9.xx
i9-7980XE 18cores/36threads - M.2 960PRO 512GB - M.2 970PRO 1TB - div. 2 or4TB disks - 32GB DDR4-3600 - GTX 1080 8GB - Win_10prof
[the AMD 1950X 16cores / 32 threads = go return because of massive problems, Not only I had these problems]
CentralEurope is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
 
Go Back   Grass Valley Forums > Editors > Editing with EDIUS
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More NewBlue Plug-ins Rusty EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 3 05-28-2009 04:11 AM
Collected information on plug-ins EDIUS 4.xx caminostereo EDIUS: Compatible Third Party Products 3 08-25-2008 01:28 AM
Prodad plug-ins for EDIUS 4.61 will they work in furture EDIUS releases? Imagine Video Editing with EDIUS 7 07-02-2008 05:33 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Copyright © 2014 Belden Inc. All rights reserved.